We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twin cities favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Calhoun

Lake Calhoun
West Lake St and Calhoun Parkway, Minneapolis, MN 55408
612 661 4800
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 87 Attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Twin cities favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lake Calhoun is thriving with an array of people. During the spring throughout summer and fall, this lake is packed with minnesota's finest. There is biking, skating and walking trails, as well as beaches, parks, sailing and fishing areas. It's connected to the hip uptown area and is somewhere the natives to minnesota would call the hottest area in minnesota. My personal favorite!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    70
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Walk or Jog or just relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lake Calhoun is a beautiful and well maintained lake.
I had a great time walking with my partner along the lake.
People can kayak, windsurf, jog, walk or just sit back and soak the sun.
If you have couple of hours to spend the afternoon, this is a great place to go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Lovely stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you have an hour, Lake Calhoun is a very relaxing lovely lake to stroll around. You can stop and get a bite to eat by the water or cut across to Yogurt Lab to get refreshed. Really nice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I live about 20-25 minutes or so from this lake but its worth the time and gas to go down to this lake for any number of reasons. I usually walk the dog around this lake (its 3+ miles around) and my dog and I both love the walk and people watching. If the weather is anything over 40 degrees, you can bet that you will have plenty of company. I also will go down here (it is part of the Chain of Lakes) to ride bike or do some inline skating. And the advantage to Lake Calhoun is that they have one trail for jogging and walking and another trail for higher speed to maximize safety. One can fish, cook out, play volleyball or whatever. They rent bikes, pontoons and canoes. Nearby is adequate shopping. Just a great place with friendly people.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel of Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We take a yearly trip to fish the city lakes and Calhoun has been the best year after year. It has a several different species that we fish for each year. You have to fight the over abundance of weeds but the results for both muskie and bass are worth the effort.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Calhoun also viewed

 

Been to Lake Calhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Calhoun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.