We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicollet Island Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minneapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nicollet Island Inn
Save
You added Nicollet Island Inn to your Saves list
95 Merriam Street, Nicollet Island, Minneapolis, MN 55401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Beloit, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A mid-week fall break for us was a trip to Minneapolis to walk and see several attractions. The Nicollet Island Inn is perfect for this plan-close to the Mill Museum. the Guthrie and river walks. We left our car in the lot for the entire time and even during a rainy time walked to our destinations. The staff at the Inn are cordial and fun, the room comfortable and historic area appealing. We had a great time and could picture this as a wedding site. We had one breakfast at the Inn--delicious and creative! We will return!

Room Tip: When you book the room, call the reservation desk and speak with the staff person about the choices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
51
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My bedside lamp didn’t seem to work and I couldn’t get closed caption TV and I was told you shouldn’t open the windows. But I didn’t care! I loved this Inn. From it’s charming setting and exterior, to the cozy, welcoming lobby and staff and the non-cookie cutter hotel room, there was nothing not to love. It’s like staying in the best possible bed and breakfast without dealing with over friendly hosts and talkative guests. Especially when you’re not in the mood to talk first thing in the morning.
And besides, my bedside lamp did work and the shower was the best I’ve ever had ANYWHERE and breakfast menu was most tempting and original..I just had toast, juice and coffee, but I was brought a different kind of toast each morning, each one delicious.
And it was extremely difficult to choose from all the tempting dishes on the dinner menu. I had Smoked Duck Seared Breast, Roasted Duck Hash, Red Beets, Gold Potatoes, and Creamed Arugula and it was delish!
We only live fifteen minutes away, but we had an opportunity to stay here for 4 nights. Would that it were in a city that we frequently visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My sister and I visited for a second time in 3 years and fell in love with the Inn all over again. The staff were courteous, friendly and unfailingly helpful. I live in a historic home and always prefer a well maintained older inn or B & B when I have a chance to stay in one. The hotel has all the charm and personality that comes with age and an interesting history. We had theater tickets at the Guthrie and it was a plus that we could walk there in just about 25 minutes, taking a leisurely stroll on the scenic route that crosses the river on the stone bridge. The free and ample parking was appreciated. We were sorry we didn't have time to sip a drink in the lovely bar area, but enjoyed that on our last trip. This won't be my last stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn last weekend while attending a wedding. We were greeted in a friendly, "glad you're here" manner and were treated courteously our entire stay. Anything that we needed assistance with was taken care of promptly and with a " we're here to make your stay enjoyable" attitude. The building is beautiful, the food was delicious and the setting perfect. The wedding we were attending was held at the Inn's pavilion and was a wonderful affair. We just returned and I have already recommended Nicollet Island Inn to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at the The Nicollet Island Inn for my wife's reunion in September. Situated on an Island in the middle of the Mississippi, it is a unique, historic hotel from the past,Hard to believe it is within walking distance of downtown Minneapolis. With great rooms, restaurant and bar.The rooms were large and not cookie cutter Holiday Inn type with period furniture and all the amenities. The entire stalff was friendly, extremely helpful and FUN!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Situated on an island in the middle of the Mississippi River, the Nicollet Island Inn provides a secluded getaway from the noise of the surrounding city. The rooms are larger and retain character, a throwback back to independent hoteliers rather than the corporate, one-size fits all mentality. Within easy walking distance are some of the finest restaurants in the city, like Alma, Bachelor Farmer, Borough, and many others. Surkyk's for wine, Kramarczuk's Deli, and Lunds supermarket are within 2-3 blocks. And then there is the wonderful river walk. Parking, which adds $20-$25/night at many hotels, is free as is the wi-fi. The staff is friendly and very helpful. It's a unfortunate that the hotel is not busier. But then, that makes it more exclusive. Don't expect a corporate, business hotel, discover a more intimate, European style experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Mississippi River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I had 4 marvelous days at Nicollet Island Inn [August 2013].

The place is exceptional:
fine breakfast and lunch,
quiet, spacious rooms,
staff who ENJOY being there.

Moreover,
this is the ONLY inn on an island in the Mississippi River.
The history--from Native Americans to being part of the first bridge across this river--is fascinating.
Read all about it from a book at the inn.

The location is exquisite:
a stroll to Saint Anthony Falls and the dramatic (walking) Stone Arch Bridge.
Then an easy walk to the terrific Mill Park Museum.

Why this Inn doesn't have stellar reviews is a mystery to me...

Room Tip: Decide if you want to have a room on the city side or river side (my recommendation). Unfortunately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nicollet Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicollet Island Inn

Address: 95 Merriam Street, Nicollet Island, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Nicollet Island Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicollet Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.