We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimborazo

Chimborazo
2851 Central Avenue NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418
612-788-1328
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,598 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Llapingachos & chaulafan are my absolute favorites, but I've not had anything that I didn't thoroughly enjoy. It's a bit off the beaten path & not a large place, but definitely worth a visit. Daily specials always a good choice & the wine list is fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I hate to review this place. It is my little secret. Every single item is fabulous. The staff is wonderful and the owner is fabulous. I live blocks away and go there too often. The place is very small. Expect a wait that is worth every moment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cozy place to get a taste of some South American flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Chimborazo is in/around northeast Mpls; close to Columbia Heights area. It is a small place with about 20 tables or so. They do accept reservations so a manageable line forms during peak times (dinner has been my experience). The staff does a great job to keep things running. So you will need some patience at hand. The food makes up for the shortcomings on the size of the place. They serve a decent broad menu to give you a hint of tastes from Peru, Ecuador, and the Andean region. Ok, maybe that is too broad, since each country in Central/South America is so diverse in native cultures/customs and therefore food.
The Patacones con Queso are great - if you never tried fried green plantains this dish/apetizer is a good beginner introduction. For me the "Saltados" did the trick...great flavours and decent price

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great food and great value. The place is charming and bustling. I have tried almost everything on the menu. The mango pancakes are the best breakfast and the Ecuatoriano Vegetariano is my favorite dinner. My husband loves the Shrimp Saltado. We have never, ever been disappointed with anything and the prices are excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome food! Great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you are going to Chimborazo, you are in for a treat! The 'Hornados con Papas" will make you want to kiss a Ecuadorian grandmother! The pork is the best in the city! If you are in NE Mpls, you should check this place out, get the purple drink (Chicha Morada), delicious! They also have a great date night option, as well. Be sure to get the Tres Leches.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimborazo also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Chimborazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimborazo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.