We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimborazo

Chimborazo
2851 Central Avenue NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418
612-788-1328
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,613 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wonderful family restaurant. Great food - PLATANO MADURO - fried plantain appetizer with chutney is so tasty. Love the HORNADO CON PAPAS - slow roast pork - so tender and juicy and really nice portions (we can never finish). Also SECO DE POLLO - spicy chicken is delicious. Everything we've tried is terrific - so you can't go wrong. Very friendly and helpful servers helped explain everything the first time we visited. But we've been back and it's always consistently outstanding. Prices are very reasonable and a great place for two or for a family. Happy hour drink pricing helps as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a wonderful hidden gem! I've got to say this is one of the best meals I have ever had! As an appetizer we had the CeviChe de Camarón (Shrimp cocktail with red onion, tomato, lime, and tostados), so fresh and delicous! For dinner I had the chicken saltado, it was amazing; for a moment I felt I had slipped away into a wonderful South American vacation! Make sure you finish your meal off with the wonderful homemade guava and passion fruit ice cream! This authentic Ecuadorian restaurant may be off the the beaten path, but it is so worth the drive!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ecuadorian Cuisine, Intimate Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was hands down one of the best meals I've had in the Twin Cities, and the reasonable prices are a plus. The service is extremely friendly, and the atmosphere inviting. Perfect for families, small groups of friends, or couples looking for something unique for dinner. The Llapingachos are a must, and the Cassava fries are unbelievable. If you live in the Cities, or are visiting from out of town, this restaurant is a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Different, quality and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Simple, well cooked food in a friendly atmosphere. A varied menu - it all looks good, so its hard to choose. Within my family we had four different meals - it was all excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are looking for great food, outstanding service, and reasonable prices Chimborazo is for you. Restaurant works well for families with small children and for couples on a date.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimborazo also viewed

 

Been to Chimborazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimborazo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.