We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimborazo

Chimborazo
2851 Central Avenue NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418
612-788-1328
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,429 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: South American, Ecuadorean
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a wonderful hidden gem! I've got to say this is one of the best meals I have ever had! As an appetizer we had the CeviChe de Camarón (Shrimp cocktail with red onion, tomato, lime, and tostados), so fresh and delicous! For dinner I had the chicken saltado, it was amazing; for a moment I felt I had slipped away into a wonderful South American vacation! Make sure you finish your meal off with the wonderful homemade guava and passion fruit ice cream! This authentic Ecuadorian restaurant may be off the the beaten path, but it is so worth the drive!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    24
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ecuadorian Cuisine, Intimate Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was hands down one of the best meals I've had in the Twin Cities, and the reasonable prices are a plus. The service is extremely friendly, and the atmosphere inviting. Perfect for families, small groups of friends, or couples looking for something unique for dinner. The Llapingachos are a must, and the Cassava fries are unbelievable. If you live in the Cities, or are visiting from out of town, this restaurant is a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Different, quality and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Simple, well cooked food in a friendly atmosphere. A varied menu - it all looks good, so its hard to choose. Within my family we had four different meals - it was all excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are looking for great food, outstanding service, and reasonable prices Chimborazo is for you. Restaurant works well for families with small children and for couples on a date.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent and a break from the ordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went to Chimborazo for lunch with my group of work friends. We all enjoyed our meals, which were chicken or beef entrees with lots of interesting spices and flavors. Good sides came with all of them too. The menu has all sorts of dishes that were new to me. Reminded me a little of Caribbean food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimborazo also viewed

 

Been to Chimborazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimborazo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.