We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was unusual, unique, and extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victory 44

Victory 44
2203 North 44th Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55412
(612) 588-2228
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 1,599 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Gastropub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Everything was unusual, unique, and extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Each item was presented beautifully, and each had a surprise. The squash croquettes had molten centers. You had to eat the whole one, no way to cut these and keep the presentation. The beets were multicolored, again presented so artistically we hated to eat them, with little dots of very creative sauces. The potato cheese soup - what could be more pedestrian, right? - was prepared at our table, the soup being poured over a soupcon of this, a gratin of that. The bread basket was just nice bread, with spreads to amaze. A duck fat composition, a spread made from pistacios and dates, a kind of miso made from dates, their home-churned butter, and more. Our scallops were perfect. Our companion raved about her bacon wrapped cod.
And the desserts! Visually glorious confections, one in chocolate, the other a wonderfully creative twist on...rice krispie bars! With coconut and peanut butter.
Other reviewers here complained of the tiny portions. Well, yes. But the prices are tiny for such gourmet and artistic food. And, yes, the service is slow - but the servers are the chefs, and you learn about your food as you order, as you receive it, and after, when the chef comes to inquire if you enjoyed it. Everyone is extremely enthusiastic about their creations, and very friendly. Yes, the tiny two room corner store is very loud, sound bouncing off the tin ceilings. And there is that oddity that some of the food comes in threes. Luckily, there were three of us.
The best way to summarize: As we got into the car to leave, each of us said, simply, "WOW!"

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excited to try, but ultimately disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Finally got around to trying Victory 44, which had been on my list for awhile. We went on a Saturday night and were greeted immediately when we entered. We had a short wait and the bartender helped us select some unique beers. All was good until we were seated and asked about a vegetarian option (1 person in our group of 4 was vegetarian). The waitress didn't seem to know what the options were, so she had to get back to us. Meanwhile, my husband and I had decided to go with the tasting menu, while the other couple was going to order plates ala cart. Interesting thing is we were informed by the waitress, we either had to ALL do the tasting menu or ALL individual plates. Odd- since the tasting menu is clearly for 2 people. We ultimately ordered plates to share. It was also very odd that many of the dishes had 3 distinct portions of food. We found it hard and awkward to share many of the dishes. The food (at least most of it) was fairly good- but nothing over the top delicious. One of the dishes still makes me cringe thinking about it (lard on top of the meat). The vegetarian in our group hated this place because of their lack of options and unwillingness to work with her to create more choices. Waitress didn't pay much attention to us and we had to remind her to bring our drinks. Wanted to love this place, but unfortunately, I'm not going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not What It Once Was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We love supporting local restaurants, and when we first discovered Victory 44 we were thrilled - it's close to us and specializes in chef-driven small plates. Sadly over the past year and a half it's gone consistently downhill.....while the food is still very innovative, the portions are considerably smaller even for light eaters such as ourselves while the 'garnishes' are much more prevalent. The Devils on Horseback are consistently good no matter how they change them up, as is their Perfect Burger, but the initial lustre has passed. Would love to see them return to more emphasis on the main food and not the garnishes (purees made of pine needles, meyers lemon crystals, beet jelly drops, etc.). Atmosphere is very loud (high ceilings) and would suggest they turn the music way down at all times - when the music is so loud people at the same table need to shout to be heard, you will lose clientele.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great local establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I like going to Victory 44 on Saturday's for a relaxed last breakfast or lunch. The staff is highly knowledgeable on the great beers that rotate through and they have excellent coffees available as well. Although the burger is quite good, I would recommend trying the baked ham and cheese sandwich as a decadent lunch treat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration - Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited Victory 44 last night for a birthday celebration for our son. It was Halloween so we expected it would be quiet and it was. We received wonderful attention and service. The four of us shared four starters and also shared four entrees. The starters were Devils on Horseback, Smoked Mussels, Chicken LIver Toasts and Bacon Fries. They were all good, but the mussels were probably my least favorite. They were served in an oyster tin and were served cold. We all gave that one a half-thumb up. The other three were at least one thumb up from every one, especially the bacon fries. For entrees we had pork tongue, chicken and egg, beef brisket and the scallops. We also shared a truffle risotto, which was excellent and probably my most favorite dish last night. We also shared two desserts which were apple pie and the roasted pear sorbet. Very good. Our server was very knowledgeable of his menu and how everything was prepared. We had a grand time and would recommend this place to friends and family. Perhaps because it was very quiet, the service may not have been typical. However, my husband and I have eaten there on two other occasions since they opened and have always had good service and a positive, memorable dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory 44 also viewed

 

Been to Victory 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victory 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.