We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, not the last for sure.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar La Grassa

Bar La Grassa
800 North Washington Avenue, Minneapolis, MN (Warehouse District)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,422 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Cross street: 8th St
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First time, not the last for sure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I decided we want to explore different restaurants in the Twin Cities that we have never been to before. We were both pleasantly surprised and quite satisfied with this choice. The service was excellent, even when the waitress accidently knocked over the wine bottle on me, and the food was quite superb. It is a part of town we would never think to go to for dinner, but we had a wonderful experience and will definitely be back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    68
    37
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Bar La Grassa lived up to the hype with this visit. We sampled a lot of different entrees among our party and everything was great! Would definitely go back again when I'm in Minneapolis.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great for Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 21st anniversary at this restaurant. We spent nearly 2 hours sharing a series of small plates. It was fun trying a multitude of different pastas. We just kept ordering two at a time and they would come out at the right time so the pacing was really good. We enjoyed a bottle of wine and shared a desert. All in, the meal was just over $100 which I was really surprised about. The wine was $30 by itself so having all the different plates we tried, I totally expected this to be closer to $200, particularly with the wine. All the food was great, pricing was fair and the ambience was exactly what we were looking for. I can't wait to go back with the whole family

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ambiance and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The service was so wonderful but I hate to say that perhaps our party of eight just were unlucky and had a chefs bad night. We ALL did not like our food. We are foodies travel extensively and have eaten at this restaurant many times but last night for sure was an off night.
So sorry to write a review that does not live up to the reputation of Bar La Grassa as it generally is excellent.
I did call the general manager who is a very gracious host and she said she was sorry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love it, and cant wait to go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I absolutely loved my Bar La Grassa experience. Apparently their hand made pasta is amazing, but I am just thrilled they offer all of their pasta dishes gluten free. I had the butternut squash dish and it was fantastic. Their broccoli rabe I polished off nearly by myself, and every dish on the table was equally fantastic. Love it, and cant wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar La Grassa also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Bar La Grassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar La Grassa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.