We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar La Grassa

Bar La Grassa
800 North Washington Avenue, Minneapolis, MN (Warehouse District)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,582 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Cross street: 8th St
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

though we couldn't get a table, we sat at the bar which I will say was an awesome experience. The Bartender and his team was so informative and helpful and always there to take care of us. The food was amazing from the complimentary apps to the entree. You won't go wrong.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    49
    30
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had been to this restaurant multiple times on business and had been happy, however I was quite disappointed when I went last weekend with my husband for our 10th wedding anniversary. I had mentioned when I made the reservation that it was a special occasion and she made an extra note of it when she confirmed the reservation the next day. Not sure what I expected, but it would have been nice if they would have acknowledged it when we showed up for dinner. Not a congratulations in sight! It was way too loud and we had to scream to hear each other across the table. I was not impressed with the service either: my appetizer (a marlin crudo where the lemon overwhelmed the fish taste) was served with the fork swimming in oil and the waitress did not even notice it. At the end of the meal the server literally threw a couple of (complimentary) almond brittle across the table for us to try. I noticed the other waiters would serve them nicely in a dish.
To be fair my husband liked the Arancini and the cavatelli with braised rabbit (hence the Average and not Poor review), however my Pasta Negra with sea urchin and mussels tasted bland and the mussels looked shriveled. I was disappointed to have such a poor dining experience on such an important night out. (Sadly) I will not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The bruschetta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was only there for drinks and appetizers so I can't speak to a full meal (and that's also the only reason I hesitate to give it 5 stars), but the lobster and egg bruschetta was DIVINE! It melts in your mouth - a must try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsford ny
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good fun joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It had a great vibe as soon as you walked in the door,place was packed on a thursday night,everybody having fun. Menu was good lots of interesting bruschettas and pastas great for sharing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited Bar La Grassa last night with friends - eager to experience what all the hype has been about. On a Tuesday night, the place was packed (and noisy to match). The place has a fun vibe and is great spot for people watching. We tried the infamous soft egg with lobster bruschetta, and it was incredibly yummy - though very rich. Our table of 4 split one order, and we were all happy with the taste, but grateful we didn't have more. The half orders of pasta are a wonderful option - esp if you are with a group of friends and want to try several varieties. At our table, we tried the crab ravioli (yummy, but rich), fusilli w/ lamb meatballs (fabulous), gnocchi w/ cauliflower and orange (terrific), and torchio with mint and peas (excellent). We were all very happy with our pasta choices. It is a great place - probably not in my top 5 around town, but certainly an enjoyable meal, and a fun place to try in the north loop.

I don't know if the full house was a surprise last night, but it seemed as though the waitstaff were under-staffed, as well as the dishwasher (had to wait for glasses, cutlery, etc.).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar La Grassa also viewed

 

Been to Bar La Grassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar La Grassa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.