We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bruschetta!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar La Grassa

Bar La Grassa
800 North Washington Avenue, Minneapolis, MN (Warehouse District)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,604 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Cross street: 8th St
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The bruschetta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was only there for drinks and appetizers so I can't speak to a full meal (and that's also the only reason I hesitate to give it 5 stars), but the lobster and egg bruschetta was DIVINE! It melts in your mouth - a must try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    58
    34
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsford ny
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good fun joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It had a great vibe as soon as you walked in the door,place was packed on a thursday night,everybody having fun. Menu was good lots of interesting bruschettas and pastas great for sharing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited Bar La Grassa last night with friends - eager to experience what all the hype has been about. On a Tuesday night, the place was packed (and noisy to match). The place has a fun vibe and is great spot for people watching. We tried the infamous soft egg with lobster bruschetta, and it was incredibly yummy - though very rich. Our table of 4 split one order, and we were all happy with the taste, but grateful we didn't have more. The half orders of pasta are a wonderful option - esp if you are with a group of friends and want to try several varieties. At our table, we tried the crab ravioli (yummy, but rich), fusilli w/ lamb meatballs (fabulous), gnocchi w/ cauliflower and orange (terrific), and torchio with mint and peas (excellent). We were all very happy with our pasta choices. It is a great place - probably not in my top 5 around town, but certainly an enjoyable meal, and a fun place to try in the north loop.

I don't know if the full house was a surprise last night, but it seemed as though the waitstaff were under-staffed, as well as the dishwasher (had to wait for glasses, cutlery, etc.).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Italian Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

So popular! It is one of the new trendy restaurants in the North End of Minneapolis. It attracts a young, hip foodie crowd and there is good reason. The food is excellent as are the drinks and the atmosphere. It is open late and feels like a party all the time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Busy, noisy, worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The menu is interesting with some unique offerings. Our wait was over an hour so make a reservation. And it's REALLY loud.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar La Grassa also viewed

 

Been to Bar La Grassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar La Grassa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.