We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenominal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar La Grassa

Bar La Grassa
800 North Washington Avenue, Minneapolis, MN (Warehouse District)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,430 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Cross street: 8th St
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
218 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Phenominal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great food and atmosphere. The two of us ordered two small dishes and one appetizer and that was more than enough for the two of us. We visited on a Sunday afternoon and was there shortly after it opened. It filled up pretty quickly. Service was pretty good too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    73
    37
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Neither A Bar, Nor Grass.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Love this place. Did not expect them to be pasta experts when I went the first time. Anything gnocchi is what you want to order. Come hungry and with a spirit of sharing. 112 Eatery (sister restaurant) is still my favorite, but these folks show you a good time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
243 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“BLG may be the best food in Mpls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

BLG is so delicious it's tough to say that another Italian restaurant is better. So many different options, with many different price points. The bruschetta options are so amazing. The lobster and soft cooked egg is so rich and creamy, outstanding. The charred onion and goat cheese is super tasty as well. The best dish in all of Minneapolis is the Gnocchi. Orange zest, shaved cauliflower, parm, and perfect little gnocchis. I order this every time, sometimes i wont share. But really everything on the menu is good. Great pastas. Cool atmosphere as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This was probably our sixth visit to Bar La Grassa. Each time we have had great servers who answered every question we had about the menu. Last Saturday four of us shared the chicken and spare rib entrees. They offer full and half servings of each pasta so everyone, so everyone was able to order a half order of the favorite pasta. Our favorite is the red wine spaghetti, but Saturday I had a smoked spaghetti with lobster which was fabulous. Excellent wine selection and a must have dessert-salted carmel crepe with a scoop of vanilla. Always an enjoyable experience would highly recommend it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“friends and family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

great food, good ambiance. I like the meatball dish so much i ordered more (: The portion are a bit small though

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar La Grassa also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Bar La Grassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar La Grassa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.