We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Fish and Chips

Anchor Fish and Chips
302 13th Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55413-1211
612-676-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 1,588 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Coming from a Brit, this is as close as you'll come to real F&S, absolutely amazing!!! Order a side of coleslaw!!'

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GREAT chipper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The fish-n-chips is the best in the Twin Cities! The homemade tartar is fabulous too. My son doesn't fish and he loves the hamburger here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A coworker and I were here on 07-25-13 for dinner. I had the fish and chips and he had the sheperd's pie. Both were very good! I liked that I could see they had a big bin of raw fish filets and they hand battered them right before frying. I highly recommend this place! The food was great, the price was reasonable and the service was very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The fish here was excellent with generous portions. The chips were soggy which if better would have made the experience much closer to perfect. The cola also could have used some improvement. It was pretty tasteless. I guess I should have had the beer! All in all if I lived in Minneapolis I would give it a second try. The fish was worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All that's missing is the sound of the sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

This is one place you must visit if you are missing England. The batter is crispy the fish flakey and the beer is on tap at a reasonable price.
If you are not into fish then enjoy a burger cooked the way you love it from fresh beef. Only question, what is with the vinegar?
Please please malt vinegar not White.
Great evening thanks

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.