We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Pub in MN!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Fish and Chips

Anchor Fish and Chips
302 13th Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55413-1211
612-676-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 1,595 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Irish Pub in MN!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Traveled to Ireland in November and wanted to find something around the state that would compare to the pubs across the pond. This place was the real deal. Small simple menu with a great atmosphere!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I had the Full Whack breakfast with a pint of Guinness. It was wonderful! My daughter enjoyed her fish and chips (especially the light tasty batter). Generous portions! Great friendly service! Great place!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food and Beer...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

It is a good place to have crispy fish and a tasty beer. The place is in a small building. The service was very good. They have an up beat vibe going on and you feel good about stopping in. To be honest... even though the serving sizes were very large, there was not much to the taste excitement. Oh everything we tried tasted very good. There were 4 of us and we all had different menu items. That was it. It was very good. But not great. It's a Fish & Chips place. Great for friends and or family.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that enjoys a good serving of homemade fish. Prices are very good. Serving are large, well worth the money. Service was great. They have a ggod selections of beer to pick from. I'll go back. You should try it.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best F&C in the Twin Cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

In a metropolitan area that really knows its fish, the Anchor stands out with the best traditional fish and chips. Given that its competiton includes Brit's Pub, the Local, and Sea Salt, that's high praise indeed! Visiters can also enjoy their bangers and chips, sheppard's pie, and grilled sandwiches. Definitely a must-visit spot!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This restaurant serves up the most authentic British food I've ha since my trip to England. 'm a big fan of the Bangers and Chips, but the fish is good to. You can dine in or take out, and the atmosphere s very cool in the place. the only downside is there can be a pretty long wait at times. If this happens I recommend putting you name on the list and grabbing a drink a few doors down at Erte while you wait.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.