We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, best tour of Minneapolis you could have” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magical History Tour

Magical History Tour
St. Anthony Main, 125 Main St. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414
952-888-9200
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mobile Entertainment LLC was the first Segway tour operator in the country when Segway launched in 2003. We’ve been evangelizing the fun of the Segway platform as an alternative form of transportation ever since! In spring of 2004 we opened up our retail store, “The Magical History Tour” at our 125 Main Street location in the historic district of downtown Minneapolis. We’ve traveled all over Minnesota and the United States with the largest fleet of Segways maintained in the country at any one location.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW, best tour of Minneapolis you could have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was the funnest thing we have ever done. My Husband and I were here for our 25th anniversary and decided to try the segway tour around the river area. WOW. It was soooo much fun. There were only 3 people on this tour(weekday off season), and we got lots of specialized attention. First they take you outside and teach you how to ride the segway(loads of fun), make sure you can get on and off(the most difficult part), and then take you up one side and accross a bridge to the other side of the river. The tour lasts about 2 hours and include a break with free cookie and drink at the mill museum. My husband is not adventurous, and I was a little surprised he was willing to try a segway, but once he got the hang of it he really liked it. Talked about it for the rest of our trip, and when we got home. We even received a fun "segway drivers license" at the end of the tour. Would definitely recommend this for anyone wanting a fun time. The segway does make your feet and ankles tired after 2 hours, but we were not sore or too uncomfortable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ALEXANDRIA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Terrific Tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were extremely happy with our Segway Tour--the Magical History Tour of the Minneapolis riverfront district. The tour operators did a great job sharing historical and current information as we went along, and the segways are just plain fun! We appreciated the stop for a cookie and beverage at the Mill City Museum, which is a neat spot all on its own. The tour includes a coupon for a free visit at this museum, which we did on another day--and that was really fun, too! We had a camera along, and the tour includes plenty of short stops at spots with gorgeous views. Staff is friendly, helpful, and ready to take your picture, too! We'd love to do this again!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent a weekend downtown and this was a highlight! So worth the money...great tour, interesting facts on the city, great sites....even a stop for cookies and a drink....and did I mention segways are awesome? I will do this every summer! Cozy area to grab a meal after! Do it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“We"ll be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our second time doing the Minneapolis historic tour of the mill area and river front. We love to take out of town visitors on this fantastically fun, unique, and interesting experience. The Segways are so much fun that it's hard to give them up at the end of the tour. The guides are wonderful in that they include just enough history and humor to keep it interesting for all ages. The route is beautifully planned so that the scenery is great with even a refreshment break included. The Magical History Tour is not to be missed. We can hardly wait for our next visitors to give us an excuse to go yet again!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Until now, I thought that Segway city tours were cheesy. (Segways have an image problem.) BUT this tour with the Magical History Tour folks in Minneapolis completely changed my mind. What a wonderful way to see the beautiful riverfront! Lots of fun, great tour guides, and just the right amount of history. Highly recommended -- even from a skeptic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magical History Tour also viewed

 

Been to Magical History Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magical History Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.