We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, quiet, and clean. Great service. Nice downtown location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, quiet, and clean. Great service. Nice downtown location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

I spent a week at this holiday inn and wil come back again very soon. The included breakfast bar is very nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable.. It's a basic hotel (2.5 stars) so there's not much to do on premisses other than sleep.. (no restaurant save for the breakfast buffet, no bar). But the downtown location means you can easily walk a block or two to a local pub if desired. I also ordered pizza from Pizza Luce and they delivered it directly to my room, you can even order from the web. Short story is I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
26
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hettinger, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

After reading the reviews, we expected clean and quiet. What we did NOT expect was lovely. Very reasonably priced. Our next stay in downtown Mpls will be here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

This hotel is old but very modern, rooms and beds were great. Upgraded in 2009 they did a great job. Parking was resonable and secured lot.
After reading a review about bugs we looked very hard and did not see anysign of anything, very clean.

Only complaint - the hot tub in the Pool area was not hot, it was luke warm. It was not very comfortable,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I was looking to check in at the Hilton (across the road) or the Hyatt. However, there were no reservations available there and had to check into this hotel. I wasn't hoping for much because it is an "Express" version of Holiday Inn. But it pleasantly surprised me. First of all, there was a Jacuzzi right in my room. The room was big. The staff were friendly and responsive. The breakfast was complimentary - standard fare - but still good food and a decent spread. Location was in downtown Minneapolis and pretty near a Skyway entrance - also 2 blocks away from Nicollette Mall with all sorts of restaurants there. You can order Pizza in the room and other things, as the hotel does not have a restaurant.
Clean and well maintained too. Oh! How could I forget? There was a fireplace too, which made it very cozy when there was a thunderstorm outside! So, all in all it was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was one of the most positive hotel stays we have ever had. The staff, especially Mike and Stosh but others as well, were helpful and accommodating making us welcome no matter what we needed. It is a small place, especially compared to the grand hotels in the neighborhood, but this may have resulted in better interaction with the front desk staff. We chose this hotel in order to spend time exploring the downtown area. We felt as if we were on the edge of the center but we were only 3 blocks from Nicollette Mall and we were right across the street from the Convention Center. We were within walking distance of major downtown sites - the Walker Art Museum, the theater district, Nicollette Mall, the Old Mill Park on the Mississippi. Plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood. For those who prefer to get to local sites on wheels, there were several handily placed Bike Share stations in the neighborhood and lots of buses.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Hotel is located perfectly for short walk to convention center or anywhere else in the downtown area, had no complaints, breakfast was good and varied daily with hot items.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed in a "suite" with a pullout couch, plus mini-fridge and microwave. The room was very comfy and clean. Pretty quiet too. Didn't hear much hall noise, but could hear some street noise. It didn't stop us from sleeping, though.
The staff was very helpful, with restaurant recommendations, directions, etc.
The breakfast selection was good.
There's a small pool area with hot tub, which was nice.
The location is kinda on the edge of downtown, but only 3 blocks from Nicollet Mall, and 6 blocks from a light rail station.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Address: 225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke-Free Hotel that was renovated Fall 2009! Great value! Free full breakfast, internet and WiFi! Credit card and ID are required at the time of check in. Funds must be open on the credit card. No checks are accepted. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis, the closest hotel to the Minneapolis Convention Center and only footsteps from Nicollet Mall, featuring shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. We are also near the city's major attractions, including: Target Center, Orpheum and State Theater, Metrodome Stadium, New Twin’s Stadium, Walker Art Center, Guthrie Theater, Minneapolis Art Institute and the University of Minnesota, and our hotel is easily accessible from the freeway. Near Target Headquarters, Ameriprise Headquarters, Valspar, Graco, Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Hennepin County Medical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.