We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

great hotel. perfect location. close to down town and was worth the money. didn't enjoy the high parking charges though. rooms are basic and worth if u want a place to crash for a few days on business. breakfast was ok not so great

Room Tip: any room is a good room i guess
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha F, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are pleased that you had a generally nice stay at our property. Unfortunately, parking fees do accompany properties such as ours that are located so conveniently to all that downtown Minneapolis has to offer. Our rates are very typical for our surrounding area, but we do apologize that this came as an unpleasant surprise to you. We agree that our express location is a great, easy option for business travelers, and we hope to have you back soon!

Natasha F.
Public Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Downtown Minneapolis Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    63
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
27
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel, we have stayed at various other hotels in the downtown area. It is obvious from the exterior that this is an old building, but it has been maintained. Parking next to the hotel is extremely limited, but the ramp directly across the street is convenient and actually cheaper than the hotel parking lot! Our room (king) was spacious, if a bit dated. The room appeared clean at first glance, but behind or under furniture was very neglected and dirty. The same was true for the edges and corners of the counters and fixtures. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the climate controls were easy to use. Most hotels in the downtown area do not have a continental breakfast so the fact one was available was nice, even if it was not great. The hotel is extremely close to the convention center, only about a block away. (It is an outside walk, not through the skyway.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha F, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. You are correct, we certainly located conveniently close to the Minneapolis Convention Center! We are glad that you were able to enjoy our comfortable beds and pillows. We sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your room did not meet your expectations, and your comments will be passed along to our Housekeeping Manager. If you choose to stay with us again in the future, as we hope you will, please feel welcome to make our staff aware of issues such as this so we can find a solution that will make your stay more enjoyable!

Natasha F.
Public Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Downtown Minneapolis Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed one night in August 2013. We were picking up a friend from Seattle at the airport and showing with downtown Minneapolis before heading out to the Boundry waters for a kayak expedition. Loved the location and the rates! The front desk was awesome helping us plan a night downtown and giving us ideas for dinner and drinks! The breakfast buffet was a nice surprise in the morning. I was impressed by how clean they kept the buffet between guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha F, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us such a pleasant review! Our front desk staff always has fun making dining and entertainment recommendations for our guests. We are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of their knowledge of the downtown area! Your compliments about the breakfast bar will be passed along to our attendant. We are so glad that you had an overall nice stay, and we hope will stay with us again the next time your adventures bring you to Minneapolis!

Natasha F.
Public Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Downtown Minneapolis Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to the conference center, but I'm not sure I would do so again. I visited some of my colleagues in other hotels (Hyatt, Millennium and Ivy); these were all nicer, though probably more expensive.

Rooms are very big, but dated. My room smelt a bit musty when I arrived, although opening some windows quickly helped with that (housekeeping should do this before new arrivals).

The free breakfast is quite good most days, but a big negative is that it's run by a very impolite, bossy man, who is continuously peering over the kitchen doors to see if guests are doing something wrong (like, not using the tongs correctly, or failing to open the little door of the hot food box all the way), and then corrects them in a very intimidating way. I definitely did not feel at ease during breakfast.

There are also a lot of good things about this place; the other staff is great, tough, wifi is free and fast, housekeeping is good, and ample toiletries are provided. However, for the price, I expected more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha F, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us a thorough review! We do differ greatly from some of the hotels that you listed as we are an express property rather than a luxury hotel. We still do however, pride ourselves in providing great service. We apologize about the staleness of your room upon arrival, and will certainly pass your suggestion along to our housekeeping manager. It is very important to us to abide by city health codes in our breakfast bar, but we sincerely apologize if this made you feel uneasy. It is so nice to hear that you were able to find many positive aspects to your stay. We hope you will consider staying with us again sometime in the future, and that the next time around you will find us to be improved, and more than okay!

Natasha F.
Public Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Downtown Minneapolis Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great Hotel! We were in town for my brothers wedding. Close to everywhere we needed to be! The rooms was clean and the bed was very comfortable! Also loved that the pillows were labeled firm and soft! Breakfast was good and the pool and hot tub were great to relax in at the end of some long days! I was a little concerned with other reviews about the parking but the parking lot is directly across the street and very convenient. I assume if I am staying at a hotel downtown where parking is limited that I will be paying. There is an area for dropping off luggage right in front of the hotel.
Overall a great hotel for a good price! Thanks to all the staff. You were very helpful with everything we needed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPR, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay. It sounds like everything went well for you all around. Thank you for all of the compliments!

We hope to have you back with us soon,

Natasha F.
Public Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Downtown Minneapolis Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed here before on a college visit. This time we were dropping off the college student. The room was clean. The breakfast was good. The location is wonderful. A short walk to just about everything downtown. We had to park in the lot across the street this time due to full hotel lot but that did not stop us. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPR, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We enjoy being within walking, or short driving distance to many of the local colleges. We also have special discounted rates with many of them! It is so nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Please come back any time,

Natasha F.
Public Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Downtown Minneapolis Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is close to the convention center and major transit in Minneapolis. Good for kids and family. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The pool needs to be warmer....but other than that it is well worth the money.

Room Tip: Bus no. 10 will take you from the the hotel to the train and that will get you to Mall of America...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPR, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you found our location and rooms to be to your liking. We will definitely double check our pool temperature to make sure it is staying nice and warm for our guests.

We hope to have you back soon,

Natasha F.
Public Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Downtown Minneapolis Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Address: 225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke-Free Hotel that was renovated Fall 2009! Great value! Free full breakfast, internet and WiFi! Credit card and ID are required at the time of check in. Funds must be open on the credit card. No checks are accepted. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis, the closest hotel to the Minneapolis Convention Center and only footsteps from Nicollet Mall, featuring shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. We are also near the city's major attractions, including: Target Center, Orpheum and State Theater, Metrodome Stadium, New Twin’s Stadium, Walker Art Center, Guthrie Theater, Minneapolis Art Institute and the University of Minnesota, and our hotel is easily accessible from the freeway. Near Target Headquarters, Ameriprise Headquarters, Valspar, Graco, Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Hennepin County Medical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.