We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Personnel Needs Training” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Front Desk Personnel Needs Training”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently stayed at Holiday Inn Express during a Volleyball Tournament, selected this property because of location. Hotel rooms were clean and well kept up, but front desk personnel was unpleasant and not very knowledgeable about restaurants in area, or easiest way to convention center ETC. Possibly didn't know, but more like they didn't want to be bothered.
It's to bad because they have a great location but would not recommend .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear holland_8,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments regarding the front desk personnel are very much appreciated. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    78
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
30
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Disappointed

I travel quite a bit for work and usually try and stay at a Holiday Inn or Marriott. I made this reservation with the option for a late check in. I arrived after a long drive and the lot was full, I would of appreciated knowing the parking situation when I made my reservation as it would of encouraged me to assess other options in the area. Upon arrival the workout area was closed and the lobby did not have any hot water/tea available, (most other Holiday Inn, I travel too permit a late workout and have hot water/ tea and coffee in the lobby area). The bed is very lumpy and the hospitality is basic at best. I will be traveling regularly to MN and will be checking out other options in the area for my next visit.

Room Tip: Location is good but room facing 11th street is noisy and this bed is lumpy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear luvzshore,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was attending a volleyball tournament at the Minneapolis Convention center last week. Our team stayed right across the street at the Holiday Inn Express. We had a block of 12 rooms. This was an excellent location for attending events at the convention center. However, there is no skywalk connection.
I will start by saying that this was a very clean and nice budget hotel. It was clear that it has been updated with nice amenities. There are flat screen tvs, granite in the bathroom, nice counter space in the bathroom, the room size was generous, the lobby was nice, free newspapers were available everyday and there was a nice continental breakfast with a changing menu daily. They actually offered free room service for breakfast. The workout room was small but had an elliptical and two treadmills. But it was very hot in there. The pool area was nice and there was a small hot tub.

There were, however, several things that cannot be overlooked. The front desk service was some of the rudest and most unfriendly, inhospitable that I have ever encountered.
I arrived during a snow storm after spending 9 hours in the car driving there. There was no covered drop off area. The parking lot next to the building did not have open access to the hotel. Instead, you had to take a cart from the lobby, walk around the building and go back again. Consequently all our luggage was soaking wet and it was very difficult to manage the luggage cart in the snow. The front desk worker just grunted when I asked if there was another way to get our luggage in the hotel without getting wet. I called ahead for a refrigerator but was told there was not one available. It turned out that out of our 12 rooms, those who requested refrigerators did not get them, but those who did not request them, got them. Teammates who checked in after me who did not even want a fridge got one. Just doesn't make sense.
When I checked in, the front desk worker did not greet me, did not talk to me, and did not explain any of the hotel amenities. When I asked where the pool and breakfast area were, he just pointed and grunted. It was really unbelievable.
This could be a nice but get hotel , but it was very family unfriendly. Only one female desk worker was nice when I asked for directions. If they get rid of several of the workers, this might be a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room, which will be much quieter. Also ask for a room with a refrigerator which al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear larosaWisconsin,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to read our location was convenient for your activities. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor level of service from our staff and for the issues you encountered with the parking layout. We will address these points. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The room was comfy and had nice features such as fridge and microwave. The fitness room is very small with only 4 cardio machines. Breakfast is ok but again that room is too small for the size of the hotel and it was always full. Staff was friendly. Not the nicest hotel in the area but decent value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear JaniceHfx,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to know that you found our rooms and amenities to be nice and comfortable. I am also glad that you found our staff to be friendly.

Please accept my apologies for some of our amenities didn't meet your expectations. We always strive to provide the best guest experience, for this reason, comments such as yours are taken very seriously.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to have the honor of serving you again

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We planned a weekend in Minneapolis. The Guthrie, visiting relatives, and eating. The Holiday Inn Express has always been our hotel of choice. We enjoyed staying a whirlpool room complete with a comfortable bed and HGTV :-). Breakfast was good. We had the option of breakfast being delivered to our room. We felt safe and well cared-for. The employees made us feel welcome and answered our questions. We will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We accidentally booked this property instead of the one in downtown St. Paul. The staff was very helpful and we ended up staying here after all. It is very easy to get to. We had to park across the street, but that's easy too. Overnight cost to park was only $14. Breakfast was great. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have business in Minneapolis every few months, and often last minutes, so it's not always easy for me to get a room downtown and often stay near the airport. But this time, I was able to work it out to stay downtown, and I decided I would pay full price at this property versus my company's corporate rate at Hyatt so I could have the Priority Club points because there is a Holiday Inn I like to spend my points on in Portland.

If I EVER decide to do this again, I will be staying at the Crowne Plaza or not getting the points and staying at Hyatt for a lot less money.
The night I was there, there were kids running up and down the halls everywhere. This is completely unacceptable. Round them up and haul them to foster homes if the parents act like that! My kids have NEVER had to be yelled at to quiet down or stop running in public! Then the bars closed and the night clerk (who was VERY nice and apologetic to me when I called down) was very busy trying to make these adults behave as such. No security guard! I know from the time I was mugged that the police in Minneapolis are terrible and don't answer their calls, but if I had known there wasn't a security guard, for what I paid, there is no way I'd have stayed there. The whole place is full of kids and adults that are partying and I swear to ch*ist the only other sober adult was the night clerk!

I spoke to the front office manager the next day and she blew off my comments (including the compliments about her stellar employee!) like I was bucking for a free night, which isn't the case. I'm not interested in charity. I just expect an expensive downtown hotel to have, at minimum ONE SECURITY GUARD and maybe limit how many drunks they let in the door.

My only other complaint was the butter I had at breakfast was rancid and the middle aged black gentleman told me it wasn't. Excuse me? I didn't even believe it was his fault. Sometimes food comes spoiled from the suppliers. I just walked away.
The people that run this place should go to the Crowne Plaza on Appletree and learn a thing or two.
Also, there aren't very many parking spaces available but I saw people in Holiday Inn uniforms getting in and out of cars there. I didn't drive this trip, but that would really anger me to see employees parked there and then if I was told they were out of parking.

Room Tip: There are great rooms at the Hyatt Regency and also the Crowne Plaza near the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear slutcakes,

As a Priority Club Rewards Platinum member you are one of our most important guests, and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to these identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#22 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Address: 225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#29 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart in the heart of Downtown Minneapolis! This hotel is easily accessible from the freeway, and within easy walking distance of Nicollet Mall and all that Minneapolis has to offer. Conveniently stay just one block from the Minneapolis Convention Center. Enjoy the incredible value that is included with every reservation: -Free Wifi -Free Full American Breakfast -Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub -Fitness Room -All Non Smoking Rooms *This hotel is credit card only at check in. Parking near the hotel is available for an additional fee. Call hotel directly for additional information and details.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.