We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked the wrong hotel, but it worked out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Moline, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Booked the wrong hotel, but it worked out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We accidentally booked this property instead of the one in downtown St. Paul. The staff was very helpful and we ended up staying here after all. It is very easy to get to. We had to park across the street, but that's easy too. Overnight cost to park was only $14. Breakfast was great. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
27
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have business in Minneapolis every few months, and often last minutes, so it's not always easy for me to get a room downtown and often stay near the airport. But this time, I was able to work it out to stay downtown, and I decided I would pay full price at this property versus my company's corporate rate at Hyatt so I could have the Priority Club points because there is a Holiday Inn I like to spend my points on in Portland.

If I EVER decide to do this again, I will be staying at the Crowne Plaza or not getting the points and staying at Hyatt for a lot less money.
The night I was there, there were kids running up and down the halls everywhere. This is completely unacceptable. Round them up and haul them to foster homes if the parents act like that! My kids have NEVER had to be yelled at to quiet down or stop running in public! Then the bars closed and the night clerk (who was VERY nice and apologetic to me when I called down) was very busy trying to make these adults behave as such. No security guard! I know from the time I was mugged that the police in Minneapolis are terrible and don't answer their calls, but if I had known there wasn't a security guard, for what I paid, there is no way I'd have stayed there. The whole place is full of kids and adults that are partying and I swear to ch*ist the only other sober adult was the night clerk!

I spoke to the front office manager the next day and she blew off my comments (including the compliments about her stellar employee!) like I was bucking for a free night, which isn't the case. I'm not interested in charity. I just expect an expensive downtown hotel to have, at minimum ONE SECURITY GUARD and maybe limit how many drunks they let in the door.

My only other complaint was the butter I had at breakfast was rancid and the middle aged black gentleman told me it wasn't. Excuse me? I didn't even believe it was his fault. Sometimes food comes spoiled from the suppliers. I just walked away.
The people that run this place should go to the Crowne Plaza on Appletree and learn a thing or two.
Also, there aren't very many parking spaces available but I saw people in Holiday Inn uniforms getting in and out of cars there. I didn't drive this trip, but that would really anger me to see employees parked there and then if I was told they were out of parking.

Room Tip: There are great rooms at the Hyatt Regency and also the Crowne Plaza near the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear slutcakes,

As a Priority Club Rewards Platinum member you are one of our most important guests, and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to these identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Nice place that it is by the convention center. The only thing that i dont like is that the parking, but there is a lot accross the street. So not bad close to downtown so walking is great too. We go to the motorcycle show that is one block away so it is nice for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My stay at the hotel was a most pleasurable one: the sheets and encased coverlet were immaculate, as were the towels. The room was fully equipped with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, television, alarm, etc. The room was quiet. The staff was uniformly friendly and eager to be of assistance. I felt very well taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff was great. Many restaurants were closed for the holiday but the staff helped us find great choices. They printed directions and information on the restaurants and made reservations for us. We felt like we were at an expensive boutique hotel.

Parking was additional but convenient and breakfast was great. Staff at breakfast again were in the excellent category.

We had some family members stop by and we really enjoyed the seating area in the lobby. It felt like our own living room.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and really didn't hear a thing from any other travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On a recent trip to the cities for a convention, I found this hotel and after a quick read through Tripadvisor, decided to side with the positive reviews and the reasonable price.

The Hotel was quiet and pleasant. Well within easy walking of the convention center and any food amenities you might need. In winter, you would need to take a short walk outside in order to reach the transit walkways that connect many of the downtown buildings and allow for coat-free travel.

Parking is not a problem. My suggestion however would be to not bother with the hotel parking. The lot is tiny and access will be hit and miss; there is a large municipal parking ramp right across the street. Parking might even be cheaper on the public ramp.

Took us a bit of driving around to find the place. If you are not familiar with the area, your attention might be distracted by the immediate traffic navigation needs of the wide street and the hotel is easy to miss. It is almost immediately after you get on 11th street on the left hand side. GPS was not a big help in pinpointing the spot!

Breakfast was a notch above what many business hotels offer as far as variety and quality.

All in all, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The downtown Minneapolis area gets very quiet at night so room selection should not be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Convenient location for the convention center. Not worth $180 that we were charged as a convention attendee. There regular rate when there isn't a conference is more acceptable at about $90. Room was clean and the wifi worked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Address: 225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke-Free Hotel that was renovated Fall 2009! Great value! Free full breakfast, internet and WiFi! Credit card and ID are required at the time of check in. Funds must be open on the credit card. No checks are accepted. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis, the closest hotel to the Minneapolis Convention Center and only footsteps from Nicollet Mall, featuring shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. We are also near the city's major attractions, including: Target Center, Orpheum and State Theater, Metrodome Stadium, New Twin’s Stadium, Walker Art Center, Guthrie Theater, Minneapolis Art Institute and the University of Minnesota, and our hotel is easily accessible from the freeway. Near Target Headquarters, Ameriprise Headquarters, Valspar, Graco, Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Hennepin County Medical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.