We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Kingston New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were there for the weekend and found this Holiday Inn Express to be really nice. (I have stayed at other ones around the country that weren't quite so nice). The rooms were modern and comfortable...although I could have used a chair there...we had two queens.
There was a little kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and small sink and cabinet above the sink. The breakfast room had some good food (for a free continental breakfast); they had waffles, muffins, bananas, great bisquits, eggs (scrambled are better than the so-called omelettes), bacon...and juices and coffee/tea/milk. The staff there were really very helpful and kind..always with a smile. It was also nice to have free Internet. Parking is an issue in that it is expensive...but most hotels these days charge a fee for parking. It is centrally located and, if the price was right, I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
25
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Spent three nights here for a family graduation and visit. Hotel is clean, staff very helpful, free internet in the lobby, clean, quiet, nice pool, location is within walking distance to nice restaurants. Location, right off the highway made it easy for relatives to pick us up and there is a spot in front of the hotel for unloading & loading. Although the Convention Center was not on our schedule, this hotel is very convenient to it. The breakfast was better than one usually gets in a budget hotel. One morning there was pre-made ommletts and bacon and the next scrambled eggs and ham. Both mornings there were wonderful cinnamon rolls, pancakes and biscuits and gravey. However, a real nice surprise is that you can have continental breakfast delivered right to your room at no extra charge! We did that once for coffee, muffins, cinnamon rolls and juice.
Overall, I recommend this hotel for a budget stay in downtown Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Note that restaurant is only for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I visit Minneapolis at least once a year to take in a few ball games and do some bike riding on the fantastic bicycle trails found in the area. We've stayed at several different places over the years, but keep coming back to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown because everything about this place works for us. We've probably stayed there on 7 or 8 diffent occaisions, including just last week when we stayed for 3 nights. It's nothing fancy, but we love the location, it's always clean, it's quiet, good size rooms, comfortable bed, affordable, friendly staff, great service, free hot breakfast, decent pool & exercise room, and overall value is very good! Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The establishment clearly went out of their way to provide extra services required for the purpose of this conference. We only had to ask one time and our request was quickly received. The front desk personnel were extremely courteous and knowledgeable. All in all I certainly would use this facility again.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are quieter and seem to be more roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Nice place to stay in downtown.The room is clean, decor is up to date & the beds are comfortable.We liked the pool & it's just us using it every time on a spring break...weird in a good way:) The breakfasts are the kids favorite...bacon,sausage,pancakes & yogurt.The only bad experience we had is that it took a long time for the front desk to open the gate( we waited patiently for 5 mins)until my husband went to the front desk to let us out from the parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Was visiting Minneapolis for a Dental student convention. Picked this hotel because of the location (close to the convention) and the price. Among the downtown hotels, this place was quite affordable and had all the amenities you could need. They have a pool, hot tub, small business center, and a great continental breakfast. The rooms were just average, but overall the experience was great, so I'm giving it 4 stars.

The rooms are nothing too fancy. Decently comfy beds with nice clean sheets. This place did have HBO which is a plus when you're stuck in the room and bored. Bathroom was nice and had everything stocked double for some reason (which is good). Lots of towels and the service was great every day. We stayed for four nights and every day, the service did an awesome job cleaning and stocking up the room.

I will probably consider staying here again, but it's nothing too fancy. Just a great place to stay if you are looking for simple hotel with affordable prices in downtown Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room not so close to the vending machine or elevators because it can get loud. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I can't say one thing bad about his hotel. Will stay there again and again. Very accommodating. Close enough to walk to Convention Center.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Address: 225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke-Free Hotel that was renovated Fall 2009! Great value! Free full breakfast, internet and WiFi! Credit card and ID are required at the time of check in. Funds must be open on the credit card. No checks are accepted. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis, the closest hotel to the Minneapolis Convention Center and only footsteps from Nicollet Mall, featuring shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. We are also near the city's major attractions, including: Target Center, Orpheum and State Theater, Metrodome Stadium, New Twin’s Stadium, Walker Art Center, Guthrie Theater, Minneapolis Art Institute and the University of Minnesota, and our hotel is easily accessible from the freeway. Near Target Headquarters, Ameriprise Headquarters, Valspar, Graco, Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Hennepin County Medical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.