We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed here to take in Twins and Vikings games, and it was close enough to both. Staff was courteous and responsive. It's a basic hotel room, which was all I was looking for. They will bring the complimentary breakfast up to your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    72
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
29
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was attending a convention in downtown Minneapolis. The host hotel was booked so I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were updated with new furniture and bedding, flat panel TV and all the ammenities one would expect. It was even closer to the convention center than the host hotel and it was quiet and comfortable. It was also much more reasonably priced than the surrounding hotels. The staff was friendly and it was the perfect property for a short business trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to downtown Minneapolis for business, especially if they need to be close to the convention center.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The location of this hotel is absolutely amazing. You're in walking distance of practically everything downtown MInneapolis. Parking was seven bucks a day and it was reserved and gated for your safety and parking spot guarantee. If you miss out on the chance to park at the actual hotel---luckily there's a parking structure for the Target Field right next to it. But I didn't have a problem at all.

The room is quite large, think of it as a one bedroom apartment with everything you need. a free breakfast at the breakfast bar (which was small) but not worry, you can order your breakfast and they'll bring it up to your room for no extra charge.

I rolled into this hotel at about two thirty in the afternoom (a little before check in time). The room wasn't ready and took nearly an hour for it to BE ready. But other than that. This place was a true joy. Stayed a whole week. Walked over to unique restaurants, great shops (big old Target a couple of blocks away) and took in the scenary. I love structures, buildings, and to be right in the middle of downtown. TOO SWEET. I drove to the Mall of America, which is about six or seven miles away (awesome right?) but mostly walked around and took in the huge obsession with Target related stuff all over the place.

The staff was great, the room was clean and VERY WELL maintained. It was great staying here and I really do recommend it to anyone who might be visiting. It's just an amazing location and a great price. You really can't go wrong with this one.

Room Tip: Don't arrive too early, but earlier guarantees parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great value for the $$. Was my first time to Minneapolis, was on a business trip. Looked at reviews of the conference hotel and decided I'd rather save some $$ - plus the conference hotel sounded AWFUL! I was right, this hotel was a great bargain. No-frills but clean with friendly staff. Location is a few blocks off the beaten path yet still walkable to everything. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Falmouth, MA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I spent two nights here and was very impressed with the staff. Even though I arrived 4 hours before check-in I was given a room. Each and every person working there was friendly and helpful. From recommending places to visit, to eat to, out door free events, they kept me busy and happy. They helped me navigate the light rail and called taxis for me with smiles on their faces. The free breakfast was the best I ever had. The room was spacious, clean, and up to datw."

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

About a mile from Target Field. A couple of blocks from Nicollet Mall and only a few blocks to Convention Center. 6 block walk from Government Plaza Light Rail.Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Booked directly on Holiday Inn site and got best rate. Must pay in advance and can not cancel so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We're from a city significantly smaller than Minneapolis and don't often travel to large downtown metro areas. Finding the place was easy enough, though a spot to park is a rare commodity. There's a lot we used behind the Holiday Inn temporarily to check-in, and we opted to fork out $12 for a nightly spot in their semi-gated lot next to the building.

The inside is nice and it's easy to navigate. Front desk staff was effective and helpful as needed. We even got a semi-complimentary upgrade from the 1 bed we thought we'd have to 2 beds as we booked a room type through an online service that doesn't actually exist at the hotel. The breakfast room was relatively large but limited on options. There were a lot of people early on which made it pretty cramped.

The room itself was nice for the price we paid. A bunch of bathroom freebies were already stocked, the A/C unit was powerful, the TV was pretty nice, and the shower head was awesome. Wireless internet was going pretty slow but there was a hard line ethernet cable ready for use in our room which was significantly faster.

A few minor flaws could be picked out such as narrow hallways to the rooms that housekeeper carts block more than half of, elevators that had some vandalism on the inside, and of course the narrow parking spots at a premium price. Where we're from, hotels typically provide a large, open parking lot. In Minneapolis that may not be feasible but is something to consider if you're used to something a little more welcoming. Alternate parking was available but we didn't want to mess around with any parking garages or lots overnight.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Address: 225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke-Free Hotel that was renovated Fall 2009! Great value! Free full breakfast, internet and WiFi! Credit card and ID are required at the time of check in. Funds must be open on the credit card. No checks are accepted. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis, the closest hotel to the Minneapolis Convention Center and only footsteps from Nicollet Mall, featuring shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. We are also near the city's major attractions, including: Target Center, Orpheum and State Theater, Metrodome Stadium, New Twin’s Stadium, Walker Art Center, Guthrie Theater, Minneapolis Art Institute and the University of Minnesota, and our hotel is easily accessible from the freeway. Near Target Headquarters, Ameriprise Headquarters, Valspar, Graco, Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Hennepin County Medical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.