We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People make the difference!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza

Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza
600 Washington Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1249 (Warehouse District)
612-342-2625
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,582 restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“People make the difference!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Only having one pie in MSP, BSP will be my go to place when in town. Jan was awesome!!! Stopped in late on Sunday night, she immediately started talking to our toddler. Brought him a kids book and some bread to munch. The chopped salad was good and the pie was good also. Pizza had the slightly chewy, but crunchy crust from the coal oven. The toppings were plentiful and of high quality. Later in the meal, another staff member gave our son a high five and was talking to him. All and all, pizza would be reason to return. However, the people made it so we'd never go anywhere else in MSP!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    66
    32
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Best Pizza outside of NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We LOVE BSP! We lived 10 years outside of NYC and loved the thin crust NY style pizza's. It doesn't get any better than BSP! Coal fired oven is what makes this awesome. We started with the Farmer's Market Salad and a 1/4 of Sicilian Pizza. Sicilian is like no other! Have to order it, very different from the pies. Selection of beers both permanent and guest was great. We love local craft beers so we were very happy! Owners, Jordan and Maureen, make you feel welcomed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great pizza and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My last visit to Black Sheep pizza was fantastic. Ever since I discovered them they have been one of my favorite pizza places in the Twin Cities. The pizza there is spectacular as well as the selection of Surly beers. The service was very prompt and friendly as well. The only thing that was mediocre was the bread and marinara that we ordered but I've had many great sides there in the past so it may just be a one-time thing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have had lunch here many times when I worked downtown and always picked the same 2 things: their chop salad (one portion is enough for 2 people as appetizer) and pizza number 7: fennel sausage, salami, onion and green olives. Always good and the service is good and quick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A new favorite!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were here on a Sunday for lunch. The server was knowledgeable about the beers which vary and are locally brewed. The menu has choices for everyone-the adventurous and the plain pizza lovers. We loved the thin crust, the pizza was perfectly done and promptly served even though the place was quite busy. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.