We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is nothing less than fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal!
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is nothing less than fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed at this Garden Inn for two nights in a corner Evolution room, and I will come back here anytime. The hotel is located sort of at the "edge" of Downtown Minneapolis, but not further away than everything is within a short walking distance.

I got a courtesy pick-up at the light rail station, very convenient coming in from the airport, and you don't have to pay the 24 Dollars/night for Valet Parking.

A perfect hotel stay starts with the friendliness from the people at the front desk, and I wasn't disappointed. I felt very welcome all the way from entering the lobby through check-out two days later, and it is not often you get a hand-shake from the staff on departure. (I think his name is Ibaan, my apologies if name is misspelled). And I'm not anyone close to a VIP!

I have to talk about the Evolution corner room and my King bed. The room and bathroom very clean, quiet, and I don't think I have slept so well in ages. The marketing people at Hilton Garden Inn are not joking around when they talk about the "Garden Sleep System" - it works!

And on top of things, the hotel is very reasonably priced to be in Downtown Minneapolis. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    160
    45
    12
    3
See reviews for
112
103
56
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

From the second we stepped foot into this hotel until the moment we left the hotel staff went above and beyond all our expectations. The professionalism of the entire staff was greatly appreciated. They made us look good to our client and customers. Every need was met and every detail followed through on. The hotel is brand new and has modern designs and details. The rooms were a comfortable size and even came with a refrigerator and microwave station that had coffee & a coffee maker. The beds were very comfortable which was a nice treat after a long day at work. I was surprised at how tasty the food was at the hotel. There were several meals we had to eat at the hotel and I don't believe I heard one single complaint. The location of this hotel is very convenient and safe. The valet staff were very attentive to the details. If you called valet before leaving your room they had your vehicle waiting on you. I cannot express how impressed I was with this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel for personal and business. I plan to return to Minneapolis on my personal time and will definitely stay at this hotel. Thank you Andrea, Chris, Ryan and the entire staff for making our event a successful one. We couldn't have done it without you all!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

About ME: I average 250 room nights/yr for the last 5 yrs. 34/M/Hipster

This is your run-of-the-mill overpriced convention center-type hotel.

CONS: No parking onsite (valet=$24/dy); no bus service within 6 blocks; 12+ blocks to the light rail (Government Station); no restaurants for 6+ blocks (Hell's Kitchen {not related to TV] is the closest with Hennepin Ave being second closest (cab); onsite EXPENSIVE dining; no convenience stores for about 11 blocks (CVS); closest shopping for limited groceries (in-room fridge) is Target on Hennepin; average rooms - the beds aren't even close to others (W-owned have the BEST IMO); good pillows; change sheets everyday even if you ask them not to; poor recycling; minimal use of enviro-friendly building/design materials.

PROS: Free wi-fi on all floors; nice biz center w/free printing and a flight check-in kiosk; VERY nice staff; good shuttle service if you don't use it more that one/two times a day (tip well if you want them to pick you up in a timely manner); cute hostess at the restaurant :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The room was big, the bed was comfortable, and the desk was a nice size to do some work. I had a beer and a sandwich at the bar in the hotel and the service was excellent. The breakfast was good, too. The next time I'm in town, I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I have never been more impressed with a hotel in all of my life. From Liiban who checked me in with such energy & professionalism, called me by name the entire week to Nicole who is a mind reader & called Liiban right after I asked him about obtaining more hangars, he needed her to find out how. Edgar the Engineer who came out right in time to not only help me up with my bags, move rooms & but also helped me to get those extra hangars I needed. Eric the outgoing and charismatic bartender made each evening meal or beverage an entertaining affair. The made to order breakfast is quick and very tasty with an equally as energetic and helpful crew. The Valet Team is just as vivacious & on the ball...You need your car? Just call their number & it's "5-10 minutes" there waiting for you with a smile and a hand to help you load your bags. Lastly Andrea who explained to me that the reason this hotel is such a diamond is because everyone really enjoys their job & it shows! There are couches right outside if you'd like to surf the web under the sun, the Nicolette Street Mall right down the street, the freeway is around the corner & TVs at each table if you'd like to watch your own show while you eat. If you miss dinner ask the hotel front desk about the delivery... They'll give you a menu for American Pie who can deliver anything on that menu, or if you'd rather have Pizza, they make and deliver that too. Whether you want Ethernet or Wireless, Dine in or Dine out made to order breakfast or HHonors points. Ask about the Think Green trial which allows you to receive points if you choose not to have housekeeping service. This hotel has it all and more than you ever would expect. Next time you're planning to visit Minneapolis or just want to be delighted at every turn, this is the hotel you should make your reservation at. Thank you Downtown Hilton Garden Team for making my stay & your other guests' such a wonderfully WOW experience!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

The pros: convenient to the convention center and area restaurants. Room had nice amenities, good layout and size. Clean.
The cons: service, comfort. Although the hotel was completely booked during our convention, they were not staffed and could not handle the crowd. An hour and a half after ordering dinner on Thursday evening, we were told there was only one guy in the kitchen and he hadn't started on our meals. The front desk was occasionally unstaffed. Valet had no info/help regarding the hotel shuttle and never offered to help with transportation/cab/etc. Many of us found the air conditioning in the room to be unreliable, leading to waking us up when the room warmed up through the night.
Overall, my stay was uncomfortable and negatively impacted my business travel with poor sleep due to the room temp and inconvenience by having to go out for dinner and finding a cab restaurant on my own.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel three times now for business and will keep going back. Here are my thoughts:

Location: Nice- 7 minute walk to the center of the city/restaraunts/bars, etc

Staff-Was quick to answer any questions I had and help where they could. Great Service.

Hotel-VERY clean, modern feel, nice little restaraunt. Nice workout facility on site.

Rooms: All Hilton Gardens are about the same, which is why I stay at them for business travel as I always know what to expect. The rooms are standard rooms, but are VERY clean and well kept. The bathrooms are roomy and of course the best part, they have the sleep number type beds, which are awesome!! During the week when I stay, its very quiet in the rooms.

Food: I had their room service and the food was good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.