We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Savings
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We made a last minute reservation and wanted to stay close to downtown Minneapolis. This was a great location and very good value for being downtown. The valet parking was friendly and fast. The room was very nice. We got in late and tired. The TV Chanel choice gave us plenty to watch as we crashed for the night. Th beds were very firm and seemed to have a memory foam of some kind. Made the sleeping much better. The rooms were not large but was not small either. We had a Keurig for coffee which we had never seen before. Made great coffee. The staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We appreciate your comments about our hotel! It sounds like you enjoyed your experience with us and we very much appreciate your business and that we were your choice for hospitality in Minnesota. We strive for perfection, so I would love to have another opportunity to earn a 5 star rating with you on a future stay. If there is anything less than perfect, I want to hear about it. Thank you and we can't wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    180
    47
    14
    4
See reviews for
128
114
59
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Came to the city for a week on business and enjoyed coming back from work to this property. Close to great places to eat and the wife loved the shopping close by. The city of Minneapolis is right outside your door step.

Green Features: People at front desk appear to be robotic with lack of smile - but no need as they service their purpose
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for experiencing the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your business and are very glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thanks for giving others your feedback. Come back and see us soon and your wife can shop 'til she drops!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Not only are you in the middle of the great city of Minneapolis, the service and amenities at this hotel are first class!

It's a very busy hotel (a lot of conference room facilities, access to city through skywalk system) but you would never know it! My room was quiet and very sound proof.

The entire hotel from lobby to vending machines is kept immaculate! Housekeeping service was amazing and timely.

Restaurant provides FAST wonderful meals - don't miss the breakfast buffett!!

You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us an awesome review. We really enjoyed having you as our guest and are very thankful for your honest feedback about our staff, service, and accommodations. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time with us and that is what we live for! We can't wait to have you back again to continue the great trends. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The parking lot is frequently crowded by taxis and town cars. Entering the lot can be hazardous due to the town cars parked far from the curb. There is no self parking and all of the on street parking is 4 hour metered, so valet is the only option. Valets are not always at their stations and it can take up to 30 minutes to get your vehicle. They really push the town cars...wonder why???

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your response. We sincerely appreciate your review as we truly use our guest's valued feedback to try to make things better for the future. Our lot does get a little convoluted at times, but usually the valet do a good job of controlling the action. I am sorry you were subjected to less than stellar situations. I can certainly understand your frustration and apologize that for the hardship. I hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us again. Valet is supposed to be an easy and fun experience, as we get to connect with our guests more often and try to make the experience more hassle free. Obviously it was an inconvenience for you and that certainly isn't our intention. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 2 nights in March 2014. The hotel was immaculate; our room was clean, quiet and had amenities such as a Keurig coffee maker, microwave and small refrigerator. Alona and the other staff members were very friendly and helpful to us. We ate breakfast and one dinner at the hotel's restaurant; the food was excellent, and kudos to all of the servers, especially Mike. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Nicollet Mall, a series of buildings, most of which are connected by a sky walk. We ate several meals at restaurants within the Nicollet Mall, which also has shopping opportunities, including a Target store. We rode the Light Rail ($5.25 for three one-way fares) from the Minneapolis Airport to Government Station, where we were picked up by the hotel's shuttle. We would recommend the Hilton Garden Inn to visitors of Minneapolis.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We appreciate your review and your business very much and had a fantastic time playing host to your hospitality experience. Thank you for recognizing our efforts and the staff for the job that they do. We aren't perfect, but we try very hard to be sincere and genuine with our approach and to have fun with our guests each and every time. I am glad that you had a great experience with us. It is very rewarding to hear that we connected with you and your family and that you will come back to be part of our family in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The customer service provided at this hotel is excellent. The room was clean and comfortable with Keurig machine and fridge. The restaurant food was great, we ate our first meal there only because of the convenience. We were pleasantly impressed and ate several other meals, as our choice. The Asst Manager John K, is an unbelievable servant leader! It was a challenge understanding the one way traffic flow to get to the hotel. watch for the local traffic sign when only one block away. I travel a fair amount for my work. This experience was excellent. A few days before the trip, I broke a bone in my foot. So, wheelchair and crutches were my mobility. John K got us moved to a handicap/mobility access room. The next morning, he saw us at the breakfast buffet. He took an order and put it in for us and brought us our beverages and prepard food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Excellent to hear that our very own John K. led by example! John is a great manager and has an innate passion for serving others and helping everyone he interacts with. He is a great ambassador for the hotel and I appreciate that you recoginized his efforts. However, this is what we live for! We all strive to be able to create connections like this every day. We appreciate your loyalty so much and hope that you come back time and time again. Take good care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here for business just for one night back in January. The hotel staff was very friendly. I was greeted by an extremely friendly front desk agent who informed me of he hotel's amenities and offerings (Unfortunately, I can't remember the person's name now). The room was very comfortable and standard for the brand. All the staff I came across were so friendly and welcoming and made me feel special. Only complaint I have: My A/C was a little noisy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Alice Y,

Thank you so much for reviewing the Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis! While we strive for a perfect rating, it appears you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry about the noisy A/C unit. I realize how frustrating that can be and how valuable your sleep is. We learn from our mistakes well and hope that you give us another chance in the future to show you a perfect hospitality experience. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.