We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel! Convenient!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Savings
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rock Hill, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel! Convenient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Minneapolis is everything a traveler could want. It is very convenient to downtown and the Convention Center. While it is not connected to the Skyway, the walk to the Convention Center is shorter than to hotels via Skyway. The staff is just the best!! The light rail is a very convenient and inexpensive way to travel to and from the airport. Call in advance to ask the shuttle to pick you up at the light rail station. This was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Rebecca L,
Thank you for such a glowing review of our property! At times we wish we were attached to the skyway but you are correct, it is a very short walk and it never hurts to get a bit of fresh air. We are thrilled to hear you were able to travel on the light rail while in Minneapolis; it is such a quick, easy and eco friendly way to get around. We also want to thank you for commenting on our staff. They do a fantastic job and it is always a pleasure to hear it from an outside source.
We welcome you back to our property anytime and hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Happy Holidays,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    180
    47
    14
    4
See reviews for
128
114
59
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Pros: Very Pleasant / Helpful Front Desk & Lobby Assistants
Small, but clean/warm indoor Pool
Large/comfortable King Bed Corner Room

Cons: Limited Restaurant Menu & Long Wait for Food - But Servers were always pleasant
Need to take a cab just about everywhere - Not even near the Skywalk
Breakfast not included with room. Was charged $10 for the buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Corner room on a higher floor. Was on 2nd floor, besides the Conv Ctr & highway, couldn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review mckennly. We love to read the pros one takes away from our property and enjoy offering tips to turn the cons around. The closest Skywalk entrance is 1 1/2 blocks away, but if you're walking to the convention center, or to a corporate office in the downtown area, our complimentary corporate shuttle is more than happy to take any one of our guests to their location. A long wait for food is not typical of our reastaurant, but friendly service is always available. Especially in the morning for the breakfast buffet, which can be inclusive in the rate if booking one of our breakfast packages. I hope the next time you are in Minneapolis you can take advantage of some of the above mentioned and hopefully the pro list will keep growing! Thank you for your time and we hope to have you as our guest again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel that treats its customers extremely well. They were very nice and accommodating to all of my needs. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Minneapolis area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Short and sweet frenchagogo, we like your style. Please come back and be our guest again anytime. We promise you the same exceptional service and experience.
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for business. It is very convenient to the Convention Center about a 2 – 3 minute walk. Lovely large lobby with a restaurant, bar, convenience shop and coffee bar. The room was comfortable and spacious. I did not eat in the restaurants as the convention provided all the meals, however one night the hotel was the location for an event and the food stations were delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Ramseytraveller, we are so thrilled to see that such a seasoned traveler as yourself enjoyed your experience so much. Reviews in 30 cities, 25 hotels, you definitely know what a good property should look and feel like. We are happy to be one of them. Please come back and be our guest again anytime, whether convention related or for your own leisure activites. Minneapolis is a fabulous city and we are lucky to be in the heart of it.
Thanks again.
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff was was so helpful and friendly. The rooms were very nice. The restaurant was delightful. The wait staff was knowledgeable. Try the wild rice soup!
The front desk personnel were wonderful!
A great stay if is not winter time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Sljtba,
Thank you for your 5 star review. Not being on the skyway is a down fall to our property, but with other options available, it definitely doesn't break us. Town cars are only $8.00 to travel anywhere in the downtown area, and we do offer a complimentary corporate and/or light rail shuttle, 24 hours a day. Thank you for recognizing the efforts our team puts forth day in and day out, your kind words are greatly appreciated.
Please come back and be our guest again anytime!
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Under regular circumstances, I probably wouldn't have stayed here--my company usually books us at the Crowne Plaza a few blocks away, which is much closer to our office. However, I arrived in MSP the same night as a home Vikings game against the Packers, and the Crowne was booked. With that said, I really enjoyed my stay here, even though it did require a daily 7-block walk to and from the office. My room was spotless, the king-size bed was very comfortable, and the staff was outstanding. They were all very friendly, and from a maintenance standpoint, I ended up in an elevator with two maintenance men handing off outstanding items during a shift change--the point being issues are being attended to quickly. Room service was expedient, and the prices weren't unreasonable. The food in general exceeded my expectations. While I didn't utilize the fitness center or pool personally, when I stopped in for a look, both facilities looked to be in great shape. For anyone who isn't using their smartphone for an airline boarding pass, there's an ATM-like station on site by the business center for you to print out your passes. The business center itself looked to be in good working order. The restaurant was relaxing, and just outside there's an outside lounge with fire pit. The only caveat I might have is that, depending on the season and weather, lack of direct connectivity to the Minneapolis Skyway system might make things difficult for some--the closest access point is about 2 blocks away. For my stay, the weather was reasonable, and for anyone staying here specifically for convention center events, the location is hard to beat. I can't speak for parking, but the walk to the closest light-rail stop is pretty easy, taking no more than 15-20 minutes. Even with the longer walk, I'd be more than happy to stay here again on any subsequent trips to Minneapolis, and enthusiastically recommend it to anyone else considering it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Wow. Thank you for the fabulous review Christopher B. We hope that such a fabulous experience converts you to a Hilton Garden Inn regular! Our team does their best to ensure our guests have the same great experience you had, every time. If you do return to our property again, please look in to the corporate complimentary shuttle we offer, which will save you from the 7 block walk. It will definitely be worth it now that we are rolling in to the winter months. Thank you for your time and we hope to see you again.
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great experience, wonderful staff that made my family and I feel at home! I wish every experience was this pleasant! We drove all the way to Minnesota from Rapid City for a concert and found out it was cancelled when we checked in, so the hotel staff felt bad and went out of their way to find things for my kids and I to do. Cant say a lot of people would do that. We utilized the transportation service which was very inexpensive and helpful, he told us to call us whenever we needed him and gave us his cell phone number. The valet was great. The restaurant had great food and great staff. The pool was a perfect temperature and clean, private. Great experience I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for using the word 'experience'! We hope for all of our guests to not only 'stay' at our property, but to 'experience' all our property and our city has to offer. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time, especially during what could have been a very negative experience. We hope you are able to come back for the concert in January and we promise you will have an even better experience!
Thank you for your review Andrea A.
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.