We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel to Stay At For Your Convention Center Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal!
Ranked #1 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel to Stay At For Your Convention Center Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed here three times over the past four years and have never been disappointed. The staff is friendly and professional. Hotel is very clean and super quiet. The restaurant is good, not outstanding, just good (typical hotel food). If you are attending an event at the Convention Center, this is a perfect place to stay. Literally a 2 minute walk outside and you are there. Also, if you are coming in from the airport, take the light rail and they will pick you up at the Governor Plaza stop.

Room Tip: The corner king suites 7-10th floors, facing the city, give you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear BB,

Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review! We are thankful that, once again, you have had a wonderful experience while staying with us. You pointed out some great tips for other's traveling to our hotel. We are in fact located a stones throw from the convention center, and the government plaza shuttle stop is ideal for guests who don't want to go through the hassle of renting a car or prefer commuting via light rail. We are glad you were able to enjoy a corner king! The double windows provide travelers with an impeccable view of our city. We would love the opportunity to accommodate you and your colleagues again on future travel you may have to our city!
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    140
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
99
93
50
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

First off, let me just say, I was blown away by the friendly helpful staff we encountered at the front desk, housekeeping and restaurant/bar. This property obviously puts a heavy emphasis on hiring quality, people-oriented personnel and spends time training them on customer service.

Arriving by shuttle from the airport we walked into a very welcoming lobby. The fresh-baked cookies were just out of the oven and set on the 24-hour beverage station which also included coffee, teas, hot chocolate and my favorite, a large dispenser with lemon-ice water. A note about the cookies though, if you weren't in the lobby RIGHT when the cookies were put out, you didn't get any. We only saw crumbs the rest of our 3 night stay. We also enjoyed the complimentary USA Today and Minneapolis Star Tribunes with our coffee by the fireplace in the mornings.

Our accomodations were a typical clean, modern and comfortable Garden Inn room. They touted the adjustable beds but we were never able to determine a difference in any of the settings. The heating/air conditioner was extremely quiet but the touch-electronics to operate it were frustratingly non-responsive most of the time. Loved the spacious walk-in shower in the bathroom. Our first morning, the seal on the door had failed and flooded the bathroom floor. One mention to the front desk and it was fixed immediately and followed up with a nice note and chocolate from the maintenance engineer.

The location of the property was just okay for us as tourists and not convention attendees. We did not have a car and so relied on public transportation and foot-power to see the city. It was only about 2 blocks to the massive skywalk system and about 4 blocks to Nicollete Ave. where you can catch the free transportation up and down this area. Unless you wanted to take the buses, you had quite a hike to some of the sights, but it certainly can be done if you are at all mobile.I would have liked a few more restaurant choices closer in for dinner. We did have dinner at the hotel the first night and it was just fine but not memorable. We opted out of breakfast because we are light morning eaters and the only option was a $12.95 buffet.

All things considered, we really did enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear CouleeCat,

Thank you so much for taking time to write this exquisite review of our property. Being a top contributor on TripAdvisor says a lot about an individual. It obviously shows that they do extensive traveling annually, but it also shows that they know the signs of a good hotel and the dedication that goes into running a successful operation on a day to day basis. You are spot on with your comment about our training, we have a great team of leaders who instill in our staff the core values of customer service and with that being noted, we are thrilled that you were able to experience it firsthand. Our lobby was recently renovated to provide guests with more areas to relax at night or get your day started right in the morning. I would like to apologize that you experienced an incident with your shower but it is refreshing to hear that the situation was resolved by our team member. For your future convenience, we do offer an Ala Carte option at breakfast for light eaters such as yourself, meaning you can buy individual items from the buffet. Our team would love to accommodate you again on any future trips to Minneapolis that you may have!
Thanks again!
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was checked in as someone else despite handing them my ID and Credit Card. Then I didn't get my B and B rate. The last straw was being given someone else's receipt under my door and then being expected to check out 2 days early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to hear though that it was not a positive one. I want to personally apologize for the mistake at check in that ultimately led to you not getting the B&B package as you had booked as well as us thinking you were checking out after just one night. This is a mistake that the entire staff was aware right away the next morning and I can assure you that this is not the norm here. Thank you again for your comments as they will help us to better our property for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town!

Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice hotel with everything you need for a few nights. Small OK gym. Good breakfast and reasonable. $24 per night parking (no self park) is unreasonable in my opinion...plan for the extra if you have a car. Don't pay the extra for a corner room.....room is smaller and all you get is an extra window. All the hotel staff were EXCELLENT! Comfortable bed. Fridge, microwave and coffee in room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for recognizing our staff and the excellent job they do George E S. Recognition is the best motivator for our team, so your kind words have been shared at our daily huddles. We would like to extend a tip for your next visit to Minneapolis, and hopefully our property, look in to booking a parking package. It is inclusive of one vehicle each night of your experience, with no additional charge. We would like to apologize that you were unhappy with your corner king accommodations, and if you're looking for a bigger room next time, our executive kings, offer a larger room, with an extra seating area. Thank you for your review George, we hope to have you as our guest again in the future.
Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ord, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at hotel for a football game weekend. Hotel is a little bit of a walk to most downtown locations but the walk seemed safe with all the people downtown moving around. Also helped to have a large group walking. Cost of Breakfast is a little high for what you get but you are a Hilton. The only other disappointment was not having a hot tube. However it was a great stay for us in Downtown Minneapolis. The Hotel staff was very friendly and willing to give you tips on where to eat, drink etc. They even provide a map to help you out if you need it. I would stay here again next time I come to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property chants007. Football weekends are our favorite! It is unfortunate that we do not have a hot tub, but if you're looking for a soak while you're here, next time look in to booking one of our whirlpool rooms.
Our staff thanks you for recognizing their knowledge on local eateries and watering holes; we are always willing to help any individual or group find something that they will enjoy.
We welcome you back the next time your team is in town and hope your team comes out victorious.
Thanks again,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Jessica and the staff at the Hilton Garden Inn made the wedding party and our guests feel so welcomed for our daughters wedding at the Profile Event Center. The customer service was exceptional with shuttles to the venue working very well for our very large group. They juggled this with a very busy weekend that included Saturday and Sunday football games.

The customer service was exceptional from Managers, check in staff, valet attendants, maid service and servers. Priority for the wedding was very important to them. They even found a way to hang the wedding dress and help store a few flowers.

Rooms were very comfortable and clean. I would highly recommend staying here if attention to detail for a big event is important to you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks Judy!
We were happy to be apart of the big day! We are even more happy to see that you all enjoyed your experience with us so much. Please come back and visit anytime, whether a big event or just to relax in a whirlpool room.
It was a pleasure to meet you and we wish the newlyweds all the best in their future together.
Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good amenities. Good lounge. Great customer service.
But be prepared to pay $24 for valet parking. Your option is to walk two blocks. Not a good idea if carrying a laptop bag at night. I was confronted by a panhandler on the way to my car. There are three "15 minutes parking only", spots in front of the hotel. One is for handicapped. The hotel posts the phone number of the towing company that will take your car. They obviously have no problem having your car towed.
Care for a late night hot dish? You are out of luck. There is nothing within walking distance. There is a Target nearby, so buy some food that you can nuke later.
On my next trip to MSP, I will stay closer to the suburbs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property Joe M. We are saddened to see that you didn't enjoy some of your experience and would like to offer some options for next time. Instead of the additional $24.00 a night charge, look in to one of our parking packages. The package will be slightly higher than the normal rate, due to parking built right in to the one time rate, but it is a much better deal. Then you can have one car on site and not have to park at a public ramp.
In regards to late night food, if the 4 block walk to Nicollet is unappealing, our front desk has insight to a lot of delivery options, which will deliver right to your guest room. If you want to go out and not walk, our town cars will bring our guests anywhere downtown for $8.00, per car; so if you have 5 in your party, it is still only $8.00.
We hope this information clears up a few of the issues you had when you were here and we want to invite you back anytime.
Thanks again,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.