We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with others that this is number one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Savings
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Agree with others that this is number one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here, and had an excellent experience. Price was great for a Friday night downtown! Great location, albeit a little difficult to get to if you're not familiar with the area.
Nice, clean, modern rooms.
Friendly staff.
Nice, efficient valet.
Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review Kalephrrr. Just think, on your second trip to our property, you shouldn't have any trouble finding us! We are happy you enjoyed our rooms, staff, valet service and to top it off, value. We look forward to your return to Minneapolis.
Thanks again,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    170
    47
    13
    4
See reviews for
121
110
58
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just across the way from the Convention Ctr. They gave me a handy ride in the hotel van to/from the light rail. I slept well in the comfy beds. It was an easy walk to Nicolette Mall. A good place to stay in Minneapolis downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Location. Amenities. Beds. Thanks for touching on a few of the fabulous features of our property Bonnie. We always love to see that our guests enjoy their time with us as much as we hope they will. We welcome you back anytime you are in the Minneapolis area.
Thanks again Bonnie.
Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very good. Overall good experience. Very clean. The price is very good with the quality. I have come to this Hotel twice this year for business trip and like it very much. Looking forward to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Antipas C,
Thank you for such a terrific review of our property. We love hearing our guests enjoy our services so much, that they are willing to return, even with all the competition in the downtown area. We look forward to your next trip Anitpas and we guarantee you will have the same great experience!
Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here and had a great time! The service was awesome! Everyone was really nice. All smiles and very informative. The rooms are affordable and spacious. If we pass through Minneapolis again we will be staying here. Thanks guys for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review Clayton H! We are thrilled to hear you and your girlfriend had such a great time at our property. We look forward to your return, next time you are in from San Fran.
Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having never stayed at the "Garden Inn" chain of Hilton, I must admit that I am not very impressed. On the surface the facility was nothing extraordinary, tucked in an obscure corner of downtown; one positive is the facility is very close to the convention center.

Staying four days/nights, my room was clean and the facility had a nice decor. Issues I had with the hotel included: No room safe; traveling with expensive computers, etc., it would be nice to have the option to secure my valuables as I've I've had items pilfered in the past. A fridge and microwave are in the room, but there are no plates/bowls or utensils in the event you did want to eat your leftovers from the day before? With a full-service restaurant on-site, you would think that providing cutlery and 'real' glasses shouldn't be such an issue since they're washing dishes anyway; having a cocktail in your room out of a paper cup is rather unappealing. I did eat breakfast in the restaurant which is presented as a "buffet"; it is necessary to order anything that has to be cooked (eggs, bacon, etc.) and the remainder is put out for folks to help themselves.

Another issue I found annoying was the lack of taxi service. Located in an out-of-the-way corner, all of the taxi traffic flow bypasses the hotel. They do offer a limo service which I used to the airport, but even at the $45 flat fee is more expensive than a regular taxi ride (I payed less for my cab fare from the airport to the hotel)!

I would recommend this hotel if you need to be near the convention center and all of the other hotels in the area are booked. Travelers will probably find the other variety of hotels in the area more convenient to restaurants and other attractions in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Patrick S, we regret to see that your first experience at a Hilton Garden Inn did not meet your expectations. The Hilton Garden Inn brand does strive to accommodate any requests one may have; whether it be dinner ware, a phone call to a taxi service, or any other needs one may encounter. One of our sister properties, the Hilton, which is located on Marquette has a much more elegant, upscale decor compared to our newly renovated lobby that moved us towards a more comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. We feel that the Hilton brand might cater more towards your preferences. We thank you for giving our property a chance and wish you more enjoyable experiences in your future returns to Minneapolis.
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagner, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I visited this location for a business trip. The staff was very friendly and willing to go out of their way to meet my needs. My room was very clean and the driver for the shuttle service was timely and very polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Stacy M! You have mentioned a few of things that we really enjoy about our property. For one, our staff, we couldn't ask for a better group of people to be working with. Second is cleanliness, nothing makes for a more comfortable experience than a clean room. Lastly, our shuttle service, it is such a convenient amenity for our guests to be able to have a free ride to the light rail station or corporate office downtown. We are grateful you were able to enjoy all of them.
We look forward to your return whether business or leisure.
Thanks again,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Convenient to the convention center, but in a somewhat dead corner of downtown, although you can get to livelier areas in about 10 minutes' walking.

The rooms are nice. I have stayed in a number of Hilton Garden Inns, and they are typically good, and this one is on the better side of spectrum.

Staff were very friendly. I found the touchscreen thermostat a bit hard to use at first, but that was the closest thing to a problem I encountered.

I'm not sure this is really the best hotel in Minneapolis, but I liked it and would stay again if I had business nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for your review Xman_7. You are correct, we are somewhat on our own little island, which is nice for noise level, convention location, and highway access. The 4 block walk to Nicollet can be a little chilly in the fall/winter months but our town cars will take you anywhere downtown for a flat rate of $8.00.
We recognize that our touch screen thermostats can be a bit touchy, which is why we are in the process of removing them and replacing them with a much simpler model for our guests use.
We look forward to your return to our property, if any of your future ventures bring you to our area.
Thank you for your review,
Hilton Garden Inn Manangement Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.