We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal!
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent two nights here recently while visiting for the Vikings vs Browns. It is a good place to stay. I did not like the $24 per night valet parking...but it is what it is I guess. The hotel is within walking distance of the Metrodome, and all of the food joints in town. I already have them booked for my next game. The rooms are nice. I did not really enjoy the beds...but I still slept. No free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for the stellar feedback Jgallen33. Football season is one of our favorites and we're happy you are able to share it with us! As you have stated you already have your next night booked with us, I hope you were able to take advantage of one of our parking packages, which is inclusive of one vehicle per night of your stay, with no additional $24 a night charge. Also, our beds are adjustable! If you don't like how firm or soft the bed is upon your arrival, please adjust it to your liking.
We are excited for your return! GO Vikings!
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    162
    45
    12
    3
See reviews for
113
103
57
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I spent 3 nights here and it was an ok stay with a few complaints. Upon check-in I was upgraded from a room with two beds to a corner King room on the 9th floor. I appreciated the corner room because of the windows on two walls which overlooked the city. The front desk associates were friendly. My room, although nice in appearance, had a strong air freshener smell. There was a nice work space, comfortable bed, mini bar with microwave and mini fridge, and coffee maker, and the bathroom had a walk in shower. The room was clean and the decor was nice. The breakfast was very good with lots of fresh fruit and better than the average breads for toast. The cooked to order items were also very good, i.e. eggs, french toast, etc. There was a 24 hour mini mart next to the front desk with lots of healthy snack options, protien bars, ice cream, drinks, etc. which was very convenient. I left the privacy sign on my door the first day and declined housekeeping. On day two, I removed the sign so that I would receive housekeeping. Upon arrival back to my room at 4:15pm, housekeeping had not serviced my room. I called the front desk and they said that "housekeeping is extrememly busy today with a large amount of check outs"...4:15pm is too late in the day for a guest staying at the hotel to not receive housekeeping service and I was upset because I needed to get ready to go out and had no clean towels. I blame the hotel management not the housekeeping staff for the issue. Management should staff according to the capacity of the hotel and when rooms are still not cleaned at 4:15pm, something is wrong with the staffing. I ended up walking down the hall and dropping off my dirty towels to the housekeeping cart and picking up some clean towels. The hotel said they were giving me 2000 bonus HH Points for the inconvenience. If I came back to the area I would try the Marriott nearby instead or the Hilton. The hotel was in walking distance to several restaurants, bars, and shopping which was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your most recent experience at our property. We want to start by apologizing for the delay in our housekeeping services on the second day of your stay with us. We understand that it caused you an inconvenience and wish that it would not have been the case. 4:15pm is too late in the day to not have received service; we're a business and busy is what we should strive on and not use as an excuse. We have and will continue to make sure this is not something that will happen again in the future, by keeping a closer eye on occupancy and scheduling.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention and please don't hesitate to book with us again.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetrista, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Top notch hotel including service & hospitality. Needed a ride to wedding near by, hotel provided a Town Car for a very small fee. Driver left his car if I needed a ride back to hotel from wedding which I did. Very handy, speedy, safe and friendly. Hotel was clean quite and staff extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Didn't use convention center next to hotel but it's location would be very handy if attending a conference. Mike T

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Michael T,
Thank you for such a fantastic review of our property. We are thrilled to know you had such a pleasant experience with us and we hope you had an even better time at the wedding you attended.
Thank you for being our guest and we hope to have the pleasure again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel was clean, and the staff was very nice. The hotel, indeed the whole city, was quiet. (Where are these people and what do they do??? No cars on the streets after 10 or so.)
Our room was your standard 2 queen beds, etc. Nothing special, nothing horrible. The beds were odd though. One side was like sinking into a hole and the other was incredibly firm. I get that they advertise choose your own softness, but honestly the lever on the side of the mattress did absolutely nothing.
Yes, there is free cucumber water and coffee in the lobby, but I was put off by the $24 a night valet charge. Since parking is limited in the area they really have you over a barrel. There is a garage across one of the main streets and they charge in-out fees so it's a lose-lose.
Breakfast at $12.95 per person is actually a good value given the range of choices including to-order omelets. We thought it was overpriced and walked to a recommended cafe the first morning and ended up paying pretty much the same thing.
Would I stay again? I supposed if forced to return to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
welcomehomeworld,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your experience at our property. We really wish you would have enjoyed our property and the city more, so we send our appologies that it/we did not live up to our greatness.
Did you let any of our team members know that your bed was not working properly? Our staff is great at making sure any issues are resolved in a timely manner and our guests are as happy as we can make them.
If you ever do return to Minneapolis and book with us again, look in to booking one of our parking packages; the price is included in the rate, so there is no additional $24 a night charge. It really is a great deal.
Thank you again for your feedback and again, if you're ever in Minneapolis, please ask one of our Guest Service Agents or Valet Attendants for some outing options and I promise you will have a much better time.
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn provided excellent accommodations. A breakfast buffet was available at the hotel for a reasonable cost. The staff was friendly and helpful. A perfect place to stay for our visit to the University of Minnesota.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are so happy to see you had such a great experience with us Shar C. We hope you and your family enjoyed your visit to the U of M and come move in day, if Minneapolis is the city of choice, we hope to see you again!
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Excellent service and accommodations. It is convenient to a number of excellent restaurants in downtown Minneapolis. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean with all the necessary amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
This is a wonderful review. It is always such a pleasure to hear that everything we strive to do is noticed and appreciated. We are located in a fabulous city, with so many dining options and attractions that our staff is extremely knowledgeable on and always willing to talk about, it is a great place to visit and live.
Thank you for such a great review and we welcome you back any time!
Warm Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is a good choice with great value and a super location. We have stayed here before and with each stay we find great service, clean rooms and public areas and all at a good price. The rooms are quiet and the front desk staff is great to deal with. We will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Joelh,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our property! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your most recent stay, as well as others in the past. Our team prides itself on service and it is great to hear that you were able to experience it firsthand. We would love to accommodate you again on future trips to Minneapolis!
Kind Regards,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.