We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and easy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun with Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
380 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and easy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great hotel for the money. We had a king room with breakfast included. The room was clean and modern and well thought out. It was also quiet and walkable to the Downtown malls, dining and bars. Walking to the hotel from the LRT took around 10mins and was easy enough, but taxi wouldnt be very expensive if that's how you roll.

Breakfast was a cut above the usual with chef made omelets.

Great staff, Katrina was super efficient.

We would stay here again, well worth the extra walk to the location and cheaper than other hotels to boot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Five15,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review!
We are happy you were able to get out, walk around and enjoy the city. Keep in mind next time you stay with us our shuttle will pick you up and drop you off from the Government Center light rail stop complimentary! Our town car service will also bring you or pick you up anywhere in the downtown area for a flat rate of $7.00.
The breakfast package we offer is a great deal and our morning restaurant staff does a fantastic job to ensure a great experience to start our guests' days out right.
Thank you again for your review and please come back and stay with us anytime.

Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    202
    58
    16
    7
See reviews for
142
123
63
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
634 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is within a block of the Minneapolis Convention Center. The hotel is well maintained, clean and provides excellent service. The rooms are in great shape (comfortable bed and not worn or dated). Overall it is one of the better HGI properties (I am a Hilton Diamond member). There were a few drawbacks. The Market for snacks was a bit overpriced. I have paid $1-$1.50 for a small candy bar but $2 is ridiculous. Also, the business center is not private (anyone in the lobby can use, and it is always in use. The breakfast was ordinary - have had much better experiences at other HGI, but the service in the restaurant was excellent. Highly recommended if staying here for a convention. P.S. not connected to the Skywalk, but close by

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
drickrx,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review from your experience at our property.
We also want you to know how privileged we feel to have such a high rating from such a highly respected Trip Advisor reviewer and a loyal Hilton Honors Diamond member at that; 559 reviews with 202 hotel reviews in 203 cities is very impressive!
We hope you enjoyed the convention you attended and were able to enjoy some of what Minneapolis has to offer.
Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

In town at a conference and the host hotel was outrageously expensive. Opted to have my company book me at Hilton Garden Inn and just walk to the host hotel. I'm so glad I did. Rode the light rail in from the airport and walked to the hotel. Everything is easily within walking distance. There's a very well maintained dog park across the street. It's pleasant in the evening strolling back and seeing the dogs playing.

Very nice rooms. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. The gym is well maintained and open 24 hours. I'd gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel have a beautiful view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
258 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Located just a block away from the convention center. Walking distance to Nicolett Mall and the light rail system. I used the light rail to go from the airport - hotel - airport. Clean rooms. Limited food service but more than adequate. Great staff all around. I will return if I am back in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
NSP9454,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review!
The lightrail is such an easy and cheap way to travel in Minneapolis. We are glad you were able to take advantage of it while you were here.
We will hold you to your return and we hope to see you soon!

Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am a frequently Traveler, I travel all over the world, domestic and international. Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown I would like to rate them 10 Stars, Good services, Super Good Food (Young Chef cook super good food, unexpected, Normally Hotel's food.............never like it) It really surprise me, and beautiful area ...............

Room Tip: This is a Hotel you can really able to enjoy after all day work, food, services and environment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
mallosenga, ... Agnes? :)

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review! Especially for it being your first!
It was such a pleasure to have you as our guest and to get to know you. We all hope you are able to visit us again soon!
Our young chef would also like to send his gratitude for the birthday cake you bought him and we all want you to know how delicious it was!
Thank you again so much and please come back anytime!

Best Wishes,
Your friends at the Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn was a great place to stay for four nights during a recent trip to Minneapolis for a Convention. It was a block walk to the convention center. The rooms were comfortable and the front desk staff gave me a room on the 10th floor with a great view of the city. The beds were really firm but I like that type of bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Theresa S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us and our Trip Advisor viewers with feedback from your experience at our property.
We are thrilled to see you had such a fantastic experience at our property during your four night stay. We are definitely in a great location in relation to the Convention Center and being slightly on the edge of downtown makes for some great views from our guest rooms.
Next time you visit us keep in mind our beds are adjustable, in case it is softer than this time. We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you again for your review Theresa S!

Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in MPLS at the Hilton for our Holiday from The UK earlier this month.

Picked up from Government Plaza by shuttle bus. Note- Ring the hotel when you are at the Cedar station on the Light rail and they will be waiting for you when you get off at Government plaza.

The hotel was just off the freeway and not central to Downtown but was only a 15 minute walk away. Quiet enough for our little one who needed to get to sleep at reasonable time.

The staff were all fantastic. Alona on reception was a star. Very helpful and friendly and our little girl really took to her. Always had a smile for us and ready to help if we needed any.

The rooms were very clean and quite modern. Air con came in handy when MPLS hit 98 degrees. Fridge and Microwave were very handy. The fridge especially. very handy for a family wanting to come back to a chilled drinnk rather than paying bar prices!

We was put in a room with a shower but needed a bath for our daughter. The hotel moved us across the hall to a room with a bath without any problems.

Never made it to the pool as so much to do in MPLS. Looked nice from what we could see.

Our 3rd stay in Minneapolis and it is true what they say "Minnesota Nice" Can't wait to go back again in the future

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Savage1999uk,

Thank you so much for such a great review of our property on Trip Advisor!
We are so happy to read that our staff was accommodating in getting your room switched for you right away and that you and your little one were able to connect with Alona. She is such an amazing person to have working with us; she is constantly smiling and definitely a star!
If you ever return to the states, please visit us again! Hopefully before we have to turn the heat back on!

Thank you again for your response!
Best Wishes,

Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#9 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#14 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Radisson Blu Minneapolis
#5 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.