We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guest service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal!
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful guest service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister and I were doing a "staycation" and we had a wonderful, relaxing stay at the HGI Downtown. The front office staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Excellent stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    153
    41
    12
    3
See reviews for
104
97
53
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife was traveling on business when I had to tell her some sad news about a beloved pet. It was very difficult for me to relay this message via the phone, but it was unfortunately my only option. Unbeknownst to there were was a staff member in my wifes room who heard her reaction to the sad news. This person showed empathy for my wife and took it upon themselves to relay this information to someone else. Someone then sent a note of condolence as well as flowers to my upset/ tearful wife.

When you have a wife who travels as much is my wife does it is comforting to know that she stays at a hotel with kind good hearted people. It is a testament to the character of not only the individuals involved, but also the over all environment that supports such acts.

From our home to yours, thank you for your kind gesture and your warm comforting words. They were unexpected, very much appreciated and helped us through a very sad day.

The Wardlaws

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is an excellent hotel. I was in Minneapolis for a week with my family which included a 2 year old little girl. We were in the perfect location, close to family, Mall of America, Convention Center, parks, shopping, and libraries. We enjoyed the restaurant, the staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was great plenty of variety for a picky 2 year old eater. At night we enjoyed the bar. The bartender made us feel very welcomed and suggested a variety of new drinks to try. The pool was amazing. Overall this was the perfect place for my family and will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Brandy M,

Thank you so much for the glowing review of our hotel and the surrounding area on Trip Advisor! It is so great that you were able to spend so much time in the city and take in all that it has to offer. I am also very happy to hear that the staff did such a great job taking care of you and your 2 year old while you were here!

We hope to give you the same experience next time you come to visit,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is an excellent hotel. Every member of the staff that I encountered went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was great with plenty of variety. Exercise room had nice, clean equipment. Pool looked great but I didn't have time to enjoy that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Will G,

Welcome to Trip Advisor and thank you for making the Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis your first review! I always love to hear feedback about how friendly and accommodating the staff is here as it really helps us reinforce our culture through guest interaction and feedback. I truly appreciate you taking the time to help keep us motivated.

Hope to see you on your return trip to Minneapolis,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Dinner there was amazing best mac n cheese i have ever ate. breakfast was very fresh and delicious. i just wish they would have had a hot tub i could have relaxed in after my concert, the bartender was very inviting and friendly. staff was very nice and i loved that you had onsite town cars so that we didn't have to take a cab, it worked out very well. we will defiantly be back when we are back in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Jackii F,

Thank you for commenting on your recent visit to Minneapolis! Great to hear you enjoyed the Mac and Cheese so much. I will definitely be passing this along to the cooks. I am sorry that there was no hot tub but great to hear how accommodating the staff was for you and I am glad you were able to take advantage of the convenient town car service we have on property. Hope you will stay with us next time to come to the city for a concert.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was very pleased with my phone reservation and I was looking forward to check-in. The rep. that checked me in process was cold and grumpy.

The top dresser drawer was missing from my room and I was concerned that I would be charged - this was not mentioned to me. I attempted to call the front desk twice from my room and hung up after 2-3 minutes of ringing both times. I called from my cell phone and waited about a minute before I spoke with a front desk rep. (a different rep than check-in) who told me that it was housekeeping's duty to keep inventory of things like a missing drawer. The rep. told me that they could replace it in the morning. This was pointless as I was checking out in the morning.

Nevertheless, I heard a knock on my room door early in the morning. It was a maintenance man with another drawer. This was very inconvenient and awoke me much earlier than I had intended.

Overall, I had a bad experience with the hotel and a terrible experience with staff. To meet, let alone exceed my expectations, Garden Inn Minneapolis could have warmly invited me to their hotel, promptly answered my front desk call and listened when I said that it was not necessary to replace the missing dresser drawer in the morning.

Room Tip: No window shades. Choose a room facing East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
BL11MSFT,

I am very sorry that you had a poor experience with us during your recent stay in Minneapolis. I can assure you the issues you experienced are not reflective of our typical level of service. I want to personally apologize for not contacting you about the dresser drawer. I had sent somebody up to your room that morning to check on your dresser and to verify it was just the cubby that was what you were referring to as the missing drawer. On our dressers we have a cubby on the top shelf and then the drawers. Once we verified this I should have called to let you know this and to assure you that you wouldn't be charged for anything. I do hope that the next time you come to the area you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was attending a conference at the "next door" Minneapolis Convention Center. This HGI is fantastic in all aspects. Check in/Check out was expedient and the front desk staff were pleasant and welcoming. The room was very clean with fluffy towels and plenty of hot water. I ate dinner in the restaurant -- the soup and flatbread pizza were delicious! A 6-8" snowfall came in on my last night and hotel staff were busy shoveling the walkways and making certain paths were cleared for the guests.

If you are attending a conference at the convention center, this is a very nice hotel. Many of the downtown hotels have skyways connected, but the HGI stands alone. It's not a big deal unless its pouring rain or sleet. But I think the hotel staff would drop you off in that situation.

I enjoyed the fireplace in the lobby with its comfortable seating. It was nice to unwind with hot tea or coffee and relax. An excellent hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor! Views are great from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
QPitmaster,

Thank you for the wonderful Trip Advisor review! I am happy to hear all of the great comments you had about our hotel, restaurant and the staff. Also, the pictures you posted are great!

Hope to see you again in the near future,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.