We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal!
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Dinner there was amazing best mac n cheese i have ever ate. breakfast was very fresh and delicious. i just wish they would have had a hot tub i could have relaxed in after my concert, the bartender was very inviting and friendly. staff was very nice and i loved that you had onsite town cars so that we didn't have to take a cab, it worked out very well. we will defiantly be back when we are back in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Jackii F,

Thank you for commenting on your recent visit to Minneapolis! Great to hear you enjoyed the Mac and Cheese so much. I will definitely be passing this along to the cooks. I am sorry that there was no hot tub but great to hear how accommodating the staff was for you and I am glad you were able to take advantage of the convenient town car service we have on property. Hope you will stay with us next time to come to the city for a concert.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    160
    45
    12
    3
See reviews for
112
103
56
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was very pleased with my phone reservation and I was looking forward to check-in. The rep. that checked me in process was cold and grumpy.

The top dresser drawer was missing from my room and I was concerned that I would be charged - this was not mentioned to me. I attempted to call the front desk twice from my room and hung up after 2-3 minutes of ringing both times. I called from my cell phone and waited about a minute before I spoke with a front desk rep. (a different rep than check-in) who told me that it was housekeeping's duty to keep inventory of things like a missing drawer. The rep. told me that they could replace it in the morning. This was pointless as I was checking out in the morning.

Nevertheless, I heard a knock on my room door early in the morning. It was a maintenance man with another drawer. This was very inconvenient and awoke me much earlier than I had intended.

Overall, I had a bad experience with the hotel and a terrible experience with staff. To meet, let alone exceed my expectations, Garden Inn Minneapolis could have warmly invited me to their hotel, promptly answered my front desk call and listened when I said that it was not necessary to replace the missing dresser drawer in the morning.

Room Tip: No window shades. Choose a room facing East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
BL11MSFT,

I am very sorry that you had a poor experience with us during your recent stay in Minneapolis. I can assure you the issues you experienced are not reflective of our typical level of service. I want to personally apologize for not contacting you about the dresser drawer. I had sent somebody up to your room that morning to check on your dresser and to verify it was just the cubby that was what you were referring to as the missing drawer. On our dressers we have a cubby on the top shelf and then the drawers. Once we verified this I should have called to let you know this and to assure you that you wouldn't be charged for anything. I do hope that the next time you come to the area you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was attending a conference at the "next door" Minneapolis Convention Center. This HGI is fantastic in all aspects. Check in/Check out was expedient and the front desk staff were pleasant and welcoming. The room was very clean with fluffy towels and plenty of hot water. I ate dinner in the restaurant -- the soup and flatbread pizza were delicious! A 6-8" snowfall came in on my last night and hotel staff were busy shoveling the walkways and making certain paths were cleared for the guests.

If you are attending a conference at the convention center, this is a very nice hotel. Many of the downtown hotels have skyways connected, but the HGI stands alone. It's not a big deal unless its pouring rain or sleet. But I think the hotel staff would drop you off in that situation.

I enjoyed the fireplace in the lobby with its comfortable seating. It was nice to unwind with hot tea or coffee and relax. An excellent hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor! Views are great from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
QPitmaster,

Thank you for the wonderful Trip Advisor review! I am happy to hear all of the great comments you had about our hotel, restaurant and the staff. Also, the pictures you posted are great!

Hope to see you again in the near future,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed downtown with friends & kids for Disney on Ice show @ the Target Center. Valet was very accommodating & prompt considering we had 4 small children and A LOT of luggage with us. Ate at the restaurant our second night and it was very enjoyable. Quiet, kid friendly and very good food. Will definitely come stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Amy W,

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us at the Hilton Garden Inn! I hope the Disney on Ice show was enjoyable as well. Thank you for the feedback about the hotel, specifically the promptness of the valet staff and great restaurant experience. I hope the kids were able to play in the pool as well.

Hope to have you back again on your next trip to Minneapolis.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Daughter and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for a Gym meet event at the Minn Conv Ctr. Nice furnishings, decent food and a great location. Luckily, we didn't need to park @ $24/night. The staff was hospitable and courteous. No issues with room. Would recommend for a short stay if you need to be in the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Scott L,

Thank you for the feedback on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that our location was very convenient for you and your daughter while visiting the Convention Center! We have shared your comments with the staff at our daily huddles as they always love hearing positive feedback about their service. Hope that you and your daughter find your way back to Minneapolis in the near future.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was expecting more based on other reviews. We found it to be a very, very average hotel. well located in you're working or going out downtown, but other than that, nothing special. our room was small and our climate control was the most complicated I've ever seen in any hotel before. Which means when its not working and you have to deal with it in the dark, good luck!

the air in this hotel was so dry it was painful. we left choking for fresh air.

The staff was very friendly. THOUGh - we did book a town car for getting to a meeting the following day and the flat rate we were quoted suddenly went out the window when we got to our destination.

I would NOT stay here again. I thought I might find something better than just staying near the airport, but that was not the case.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Bonsai35,

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel but I'm very sorry you only had an average experience with us during your stay. We take our #1 Trip Advisor ranking very seriously and we don't want any guest to think of our hotel as average. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and I am glad that your feedback of our staff supported that. Thank you once again for your comments.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel was clean & staff was friendly...bar staff even opened up early for bloody marys for us since we had many families staying there:) We stayed because of the distance from the Convention Center, but they are not on the skyway system, so we had to dodge traffic to get there. There were no close restaurants that are open over the weekend either:( Pool area was very small, but clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Heidiho1970,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that the staff was friendly and they opened up the bar early for your group. I am sorry though that our location wasn't the most convenient for your needs during your stay but we hope the next time you're in the area you will consider staying with us again.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.