We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal!
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ballston Spa, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just stayed here for a weekend ... in town for the Vikings/Packers game ... and this hotel was just about perfect. Very centrally located in downtown Minneapolis ... easy walk to Metrodome/Mall of America Field and to Target Center, as well as close to major downtown shopping and restaurants. About 15 minute ride to Bloomington, St. Paul, and Mall of America. The staff here was great ... very friendly and helpful. And very fan-friendly! Many of the guests were in town for the game, and the staff had a lot of fun with the whole rivalry. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    131
    35
    10
    3
See reviews for
93
89
49
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn because someone else was paying for my stay, and this was the least expensive downtown hotel during my stay. Well, what an awesome surprise this little gem was! The lobby was gorgeous, and had a welcoming fire in the fireplace. The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas, with live Christmas trees! The staff was very professional, courteous, and competent, and provided truly some of the finest service I have had in any hotel, including some very high priced venues. My room was well furnished, and included a microwave and a refrigerator, in addition to a coffe maker. The bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed the restaurant onsight--wait staff was great, and the limited menu was quite good. There is also a small convenience store onsight, as well as a small pool. The business area was wonderful--I could print my boarding passes, or print documents sent from my own computer. This hotel was such a great find. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at this relatively new hotel, nestled between a museum, a beautiful church, and the Oracle building. It's the perfect size and features a full service restaurant. The lobby area feels a great deal like a ski lodge. Friendly people everywhere.

Close enough to downtown, yet next to the highway. I convinced the room service chef to add an item to the menu. They were very accommodating. Made to order omelette for breakfast was also excellent.

I will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
JohnnyReb007,

Thank you so much for the positive review on TripAdvisor! I am so glad to hear that the location of our hotel worked well for your visit to Minneapolis. I also am very happy to hear you speak about the friendly people at the hotel and that our chef was willing to accommodate a request you had made as well. We feel that we have a great staff here at the Hilton Garden Inn and reviews like this reaffirm that belief.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Although not centrally located it's just a few blocks off the main downtown Minneapolis area - a 10 minute walk to the Oracle office building, on 2nd street, close to the convention center and about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the Nicolet Mall area and lots of shopping and restaurants. This is a very nice hotel with a respectable and reasonably priced restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner - room service is also available. For convenience we had lunch here one day and everything was very fresh and well prepared.

The rooms were fine - very clean and had a comfortable bed. I've had better pillows and an upgrade to a higher threadcount sheet set would be welcomed as they felt a bit scratchy. The bathroom was fine, but note that there is no tub. I like the walk in shower so this was no issue for us. Wireless was complimentary for Hilton Honors - not sure what the charge was otherwise.

The only parking available is valet and they charge for this, so be aware that this is not already included in the price of the hotel. It was an extra 25 per day, not horrible for downtown hotels but would have been nice to know this at the time of booking.

The fitness center was small but the equipment looked fairly new and was in good working order. There is also a pool - although we didn't have time to use this, it looked very inviting.

When in the area again I would stay again based on price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
travel_junkie3000,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so glad when our guests take the time to really explain and describe our hotel for potential future guests! I wanted to let you know that we do have walk in showers in all of our rooms with king beds and all of our rooms with two queen beds have the tub/shower combo in case you ever needed that as an option.

I am glad that you had the time to utilize most all of our facilities during your visit with us and I look forward to seeing you again,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetek, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our family had a block of rooms for a wedding this last weekend. Not only did we get a great rate but a great value. The most notable was the breakfast; the all you can eat buffet and grill to order selections for $12.95 was incredible. Every breakfast option was covered. The workout facility had very nice elliptical machines and we were pleasantly surprised by the healthy saline pool. The only complaint: the foam beds were not that comfortable. They were supposedly adjustable but we couldn't figure out how. The housekeeping was top notch and all the amenities were there. Definitely a place I would return to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Last year 's review was not very complimentary but this year there was some improvement in the service which is worth mentioning. The interior of the rooms are still showing signs of aging but the housekeeping has definately stepped up. Everything was crisp and clean complete with the folded face cloth with chocolates. There was an outstanding bellman named Michael who was the ultimate professional both in his service and knowledge making excellent recommendations of local restaurants. He was a delight to interact with. The food ,drinks and service in the bar area was outstanding. You should not miss the happy hour special margarita. I cannot say the same for the service in the 25 th floor lounge. The woman who was working in the area for breakfast on several days had the most sour disposition and was most unwelcoming to the guests. She did not smile or have any positive interactions during any of my observations of her either in the breakfast area or at the outside desk. She should stay behind the scenes because she is probably most efficient but does not care for people,especially those who are either very tired or tend to be boisterous. I have no idea what her name is but she had every long red hair that was pulled back.
A happy smiling face is much needed at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This stay was pleasant-only drawback is that they only have one person at the front desk which means if you try calling guest services it will take a while to get through. Housekeeping did a beyond awesome job at tidying up the rooms. Best ever! Probably wouldn't stay again due to the fact it's not connected to the skyway.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.