We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Five Star Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal!
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carpinteria, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“True Five Star Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

After several weeks of stressing about making the family reservations in a city I had never been to, I just went with Trip Advisor's #1 rated hotel and WE all enjoyed our stay and the Staff in particular exceeded the reviews. I dumped two hotel reservations that I had membership points with because the price was better at this Hilton for the four nights we needed and the reviews on Trip Advisor truly convinced me. First of all it is so easy to get here from the airport. Second it was easy to get to out to Anoka and Woodbury from here. Third, this is a new hotel, the rooms are modern and clean. We choose the corner room with a king, also a wheelchair accessable room and I liked the step in shower as opposed to the tub. Great waterpressure. The only thing I did not pick up on was that it is a sleepnumber bed, might have played around with it, but the setting it was on was fine for us and the bed linens were ideal- white clean comforter. Note to management, tell your registration staff to remind the guests checking in that there is this benefit:)
Breakfast- everything you can possibly want to choose from and we are a hard group to please. They are flexible if you only eat certain things about the price- so you can order a la carte. Easy to park your car here and if you think you might be too far from all the action, you are not at all, this hotel is not on the outskirts, at least in the spring summer and fall months.
I can not imagine spending $100 more a night to stay at the Ivy or the W and expect to get more than we experienced at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Room Tip: Love the corner rooms with the step in shower and no tub. Great to watch the electrical storm at 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    147
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
102
95
52
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel was clean and the rooms were comfortable, but for the price was a bit high. The staff was very friendly and polite, especially the valet staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Clean room. Great breakfast. Price was higher than the last time I was there, but still pretty comparable.

Nice and close to everything downtown.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

My family and I are on a cross-country trip to Mt Rushmore and we had the great luck to book a few night at this hotel. Great attentive service, super clean rooms, and a killer Harvest Chicken Salad in the restaurant. Truly one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The staff is unparalleled from the last 3 hotels (and 3 states)I have stayed in! the focus is truly in far exceeding the customer's experience. We have had such a wonderful customer focused stay, this will be the hotel we choose for next year's convention. I would personally like provide BEST IN CLASS to John Kasper, Guest Services Manager, Randy Brown and Kayla Adams. The Guest Manager even helped my daughter pack our items from the convention (I have a disability). I asked for a handicapped room but Karla went further and ensured I had a disability accessible room. And, last but not least, was wildly pleasant Randy who effortlessly used the hotels wheelchair to haul me downstairs, where they had arranged for a towncar to take us to General Mills Corporation. They "made our" trip thoroughly enjoyable. See you next year.

Room Tip: The room we had was perfect. We were close to the ice machine and the room was still quiet. The Hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I had the unfortunate experience of having to fly to Minneapolis from Tulsa with only 5 hours notice. My niece had been transferred from St. Cloud Hospital to the Oncology Floor of Children's Hospital of Minneapolis at 2525 Chicago Avenue South. I must give a shout out to John.....desk manager, Alex, Freddy, and the entire Valet/Shuttle staff for their compassionate assistance in making my stay comfortable and convenient for me as well as my family whom I flew in to support and encourage as doctors where trying to diagnos our little 5 year old princess.

They helped me to arrange transportation to and from the hospital for myself and my sister (the grandma). They helped me arrange a respite for the parents of the child.....Amazing dinner at the restaurant downstairs. Alex would not accept a tip from the parents as they rode back and forth on the shuttle.....good job Alex. (He knew that I would take real good care of him at the end of his shift)

The only unfortunate situation was having to leave this property on Tuesday. They were booked solid.....no more room in the Inn for us. I had to move to the Ramada Plaza off 35W North on Industrial Blvd. The Ramada Plaza can only be described as the dark side of the hotel industry here in downtown Minneapolis. Beautiful property....nice rooms.....but the staff is absolutely HORRIBLE.....and very very inconsiderate and rude. I am thankful for the first two nights at this Hilton. I encourage anyone coming to the downtown area to stay at this Property. I will forever be grateful for their assistance in our time of need.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

As a commuter to and from work. I like the ability to stop in for a quick bite to eat and have a drink at the hotel bar/restaurant.

I live locally and one would assume the place to be is at a more "downtown" location. You'd be wrong. Wait time alone isn't worth it and trust me, Adam or Janet, will ensure you are well taken care of.

The cleanliness and overall atmosphere of the place is what you'd expect from Hilton hotel. This isn't Times Square but you are close enough to enjoy all downtown Minneapolis has to offer. You won't be disappointed.

John L.
Minneapolis, MN

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.