We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Stay Was Great...This Time A Total Lack of Caring.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Minneapolis to your Saves list
Hilton Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Marquette Ave South, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Rates - From $89!
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Forest City, Iowa
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Last Stay Was Great...This Time A Total Lack of Caring.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My two young sons and I arrived on a late Amtrak train. We got to the hotel close to midnight by cab. We got out of the cab and struggled with our luggage only to see a doorman standing inside the door not doing anything it appeared. Having a doorman or bellman to help arriving guests would be a great idea for this hotel to implement. We went to the front desk which is huge by the way and saw two guests standing there....except no desk agents to be seen anywhere. We stood for about two minutes and an agent appeared from the back. Please see photo to confirm this. Seems they could have an agent at the desk. The guests in front of us were not very happy. I have no idea how long they waited. The clerk walked up to them and asked if he could help them, so it was obvious he was not in the back helping them.

I asked for dining options for us and there were none available in the hotel since it was about midnight. The clerk at the desk suggested ordering pizza. I asked if it could be taken up to the room and he said no as it was a security issue to not allow pizza delivery drivers access to guest floors. I really wish that an upscale hotel would see that a father is with two hungry and tired small children and allow a pizza delivery person to simply come to the room. Other hotels have seen this need and been most accommodating but not The Hilton Minneapolis. I could see this policy if you needed key access for the elevators but anyone can use the elevators at this hotel without using a key. Policies like this are there to generate revenue for the hotel restaurant plain and simple. So we went to bed hungry as the kids did not want to come back down and I was not going to leave them in the room alone. So thanks Hilton for the lack of sensitivity when it comes to taking care of your guests. If security was an issue you could have offered to have a security officer escort the delivery person to our room, In the hospitality industry sometimes you have to bend a policy to ensure guest comfort and satisfaction.

The room was clean and comfortable. A small room at the end of the hallway with a view of the city. Being a Hilton Silver member I did expect more in the way of service.

I understand the policy of no pizza delivery to the rooms but in the hospitality industry the employees should be empowered to make decisions which are in the best interest of the guest. It is obvious that this Hilton does not allow it's employees to make decisions in the best interest of guest service. I simply hope the General Manager of this hotel sees this review and comes to understand that his hotels policy resulted in a guests children going to bed hungry. The actions of this Hilton has resulted in this being my last stay at any Hilton branded property. A total and complete lack of caring. A pretty hotel and awesome rooms mean nothing without great guest service. I have received a more warm welcome and better customer service at some one star properties that I received at this Hilton.....we checked out and the desk clerk simply said 'you are all set".....not even a thank you. Sadly I am a repeat customer of this hotel and my previous stays were awesome.....seems the old saying that employees truly make or break a company is very true.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    143
    42
    7
    9
See reviews for
63
75
16
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Front desk staff (Elizabeth and Sara) rocked! They were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Room was clean, beds/pillows comfortable, tv/channels were sweet, and view was really nice. Only complaint was having to share my floor with a squadron of dance teams- lots of traffic and hallway chatter early morning/late evening/early night. All in all was an enjoyable 3 nights and I will be back. Kudos again to Sara and Elizabeth for their 5 star customer service!

Room Tip: just ask which groups they have in-house and ask to be placed away from them if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a conference at the nearby convention center (conveniently connected by skyway so you don't have to go out into the subzero temperatures) and everything went great. It is in a nice central location near restaurants, a mall, the convention center, and a concert hall. It's about 5 blocks from the train, so it's a little bit of a walk if you come from the airport that way.

Had a room on the 17th floor that was very nice and had a decent view (sorry, but downtown Minneapolis isn't exactly a stunning skyline). There was a gloriously large 55-inch TV with 4 or 5 HBO channels, so I was all set for my off-hours. The beds were comfy and the room was spotless. Showerhead was a bit tough to adjust, but not a big deal. Really liked the mirror light/nightlight in the bathroom.

Check in and check out was a breeze. They graciously gave me a late checkout of one hour as well, which was nice. The lobby restaurant had some problems, but that's for a separate review. The lobby decor is a bit dated in my opinion, but also not a big deal.

All in all a good Hilton, would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is beautiful and the staff is excellent! Had a great time. We went there for a cheer competition and there were 100's of kids there but we waited for nothing. They had enough staff to accommodate. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hilton Minneapolis was in a great location, as it is close to many restaurants and shops, as well as the convention center. It is also part of the skyway system to help those staying at the hotel avoid going outside in the poor weather. The rooms were really nice and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The coffee/snack bar located in the lobby was also very convenient for hotel guests to grab something throughout the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple grove, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice and respectful staff ,clean and very nice looking hotel. Ill for sure come back!!! I Have told all of my friends and family about my Hilton stay. I also showed my kids pics of the place too. and they also would like to come with next time to go swimming lol

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel itself was very nice, the rooms were also very nice with comfy beds and a very large flatscreen TV with HBO. Bathroom cleanliness left a little to be desired, but overall I was very satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm happy to see you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, 50in Flat Screen TV and premium channels. However, I would like to apologize that your bathroom was not cleaned to your liking and did not meet the high standards we are typically praised for. Please know that your review has been brought to my Director of Housekeeping and we anticipate an immediate improvement. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Minneapolis

Address: 1001 Marquette Ave South, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience style and elegance when you arrive to the city’s largest Four Diamond Hotel. Hilton Minneapolis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown and connected to five miles of climate controlled skyway. Hilton is just steps from Nicollet Mall where you can enjoy shopping, bars, restaurants, street cafes and quaint coffee houses. Our hotel features 821 deluxe guest rooms and suites, 24 hour business center, wireless internet (nominal fee), complimentary fitness center, indoor pool, in-room dining, and SkyWater Restaurant & Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.