We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handled our group very well...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added Hilton Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Minneapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Marquette Ave South, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save $40 - Triple Play!
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Handled our group very well...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were at the Hilton attending the National Volleyball Tournament the last weekend in June. Let me start by saying I was a difficult customer at check-in. I was chaperoning 12 girls who are all 12 years old. We had four rooms among the girls and two chaperones. I had done everything in my power prior to check-in to ensure the girls' rooms and ours' were all together. Upon check-in I came to found they had moved us to different floors. This just was not going to work. I ended up standing at the counter for close to an hour as a very patient desk clerk shuffled rooms around, throwing new combinations at me that I declining a few times, and him going back to the drawing board. As much as I understand rooms close to each other can NOT be guaranteed, with pre-teen girls in rooms by themselves that is what we had to have. It did finally work out, and in the end I really appreciated the hard work of the front desk to make it happen so that we could take good care of our girls.

The hotel is beautiful, conveniently located to everything, and the staff is excellent. It had to be a difficult weekend with hundreds of teen girls running around, yet the staff was very professional and laid back. We worked hard to keep the girls' noise to an acceptable level, but I'm sure there were times they were disruptive. We were never made to feel like a nuisance. My only grievance is when there are four people on the rooming list, we need four towels, and more than one tiny bottle of shampoo per room. The tiny, narrow garbage cans also did not work for the amount of trash we had.

Overall, GREAT experience, GREAT hotel, GREAT staff, and I'd gladly go back when I have less responsibility and can make it up to the poor front desk clerk who had to face me the likes of me :).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    113
    45
    16
    14
See reviews for
36
53
51
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel. The beds were so comfortable and the staff were extremely nice and helpful. The location was perfect. We parked our car when we got there and walked to the baseball game and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were there for the volleyball nationals tournament, along with hundreds of others! We arrived at about 11 am and did not get into our room until after 5 pm because it wasn't ready yet. Everyone else from our team arrived later and got in their rooms sooner than we did.....not sure why the hotel doesn't prioritize earlier arriving guests and get them in rooms closer to the 3:00 check in time. The front desk manager got involved and expedited things a bit....also asked us to wait in the bar area and have drinks and an appetizer on them. The rooms are nice and the hotel is very conveniently located with skywalks to the convention center and linked up to many other buildings, typical of downtown Minnesota. There are numerous restaurants and stores, including the flagship Target store, within just two or three blocks of the hotel. I overheard hotel staff explaining the different wifi available and you definitely pay to get anything decent. We didn't and the standard wifi is horrible. They also charged me $10 to receive a small package I had delivered at the hotel. They did not charge for the rollaway bed that they'd said would be $20 a day, so I guess it all evened out. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed here more than once now, the hotel is nice and in a convenient location. There are two issues I would have: 1) housekeeping - the room was mostly clean, but there was hair in the shower, in the sink, and in all of the drawers in the bathroom; it was really gross. And 2) they have affordable enough rates, but you will pay much more for parking, Wi-Fi access, and everything else they can hit you up for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We pride ourselves on the quality of our hotel and take your comments very seriously; please accept my apologies for the state of your bathroom. I will personally follow-up with my Director of Housekeeping and share your comments with him. Also, as a complimentary amenity to all guests, we offer free wi-fi in our lobby area and lounge. This includes a connectivity station with complimentary access to PC's, MACs, hardwired internet and has printing capabilities. Again, thank you for bringing your stay to my attention. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you the next time you are in Minneapolis.

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was in town for a sports event at the convention center. This hotel was the host hotel. Issues began on check in when room wasn't ready (at 3pm) with no idea when it would. Was told that rooms were pre-assigned so we couldn't go into a different room. As a hotel club member I asked for a room on the Executive level and was told no, I'd just have to wait. Was told I would receive a call when the room was ready - I never got it. Asked for a quiet room and was placed in one closest to the elevator lobby. Asked for extra towels/pillows prior to check in and never received them. Asked for late checkout and wasn't given it. Never once did the hotel try to compensate for anything. The most they would offer was free internet, which I didn't need. Others in our party waited 9 hours to get into room. Very very poor service and no attempt at mollifying angry customers. Shame on Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place is incredible. The rooms are average but not terrible. But everything else is ago well put. They really take care of you here. Its truly amazing. Got ten dollars off our meal downstairs because the guy serving us downstairs said we were so nice. I give this place a full five stars. And if you don't then...must have been one bad day. Everyone and every place has them here and there so chillax lol

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am elated that you felt taken care of and had a great two day stay. We encourage our staff to go above and beyond to show hospitality, as your waiter did. I will share your comments with the team; I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfort, care and excellence! Was offered an upgrade when I arrived and it was worth every penny! Spectacular view, great room. Housekeeping staff made me smile every time I returned to the room after they cared for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Wow! Thank you for such a kind review. Comfort, care and excellence are exactly what want to provide. I look forward to passing along your comment to our housekeeping staff and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Minneapolis

Address: 1001 Marquette Ave South, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Minneapolis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience style and elegance when you arrive to the city’s largest Four Diamond Hotel. Hilton Minneapolis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown and connected to five miles of climate controlled skyway. Hilton is just steps from Nicollet Mall where you can enjoy shopping, bars, restaurants, street cafes and quaint coffee houses. Our hotel features 821 deluxe guest rooms and suites, 24 hour business center, wireless internet (nominal fee), complimentary fitness center, indoor pool, in-room dining, and SkyWater Restaurant & Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.