We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Save Saved
You added University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   925 4th Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (University / Dinkytown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Parking!
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great location and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We found the University Inn very clean and comfortable. Location is great allowing you to walk to Dinkytown. Quiet setting even with US35 nearby. Kitchen provided but we did not use it. Bed comfortable. Shower excellent and large bathroom. Price was great (under $100) as MSP is very expensive and many charge for parking. We plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
15
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spent two nights there. Good location, three blocks from Dinkytown, U, of Minn, campus area. Also good location for touring Minneapolis. Next to US35 but not noisy (with windows on highway facing room closed). Perfectly comfortable, plain, dorm type room with functional kitchenette (full sized refrigerator). Clean room and comfortable bed. Free wi-fi and helpful front desk. Looking for luxury, look elsewhere. Looking for great value and good location, look here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed there one night since it is fairly close to my brother's house in St. Paul. We found it very comfy--especially the beds--and the AC was fine. Has a reading lamp with a long movable neck. We did not use the kitchen. Instead of a breakfast they do have juice and things like honey buns and granola bars. Coffeemaker is in the room. It is a bit hard to find the first time if you don't know Mpls. streets. Very close to the university and the stadiums. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so you'll have to lug your suitcases up to your room (two floors).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,404 reviews 1,404 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 282 cities Reviews in 282 cities
734 helpful votes 734 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Cons: very basic, could be cleaner, no one was there for check out in the morning (check in only until midnight), bad value (more than $100), no breakfast.

Pros: good location.

If you don't need parking (or if you don't mind to pay for it) and you won't use a kitchen this is a bad choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Clean. Sort of. For an old building, the surroundings as well as inside building are clean. Parking is good. Getting inside the parking lot is a bit tricky---just a few feet away from entrance to a highway. Great Staff! Very helpful. Now the kitchen--Full-sized refrigerator. Stove top, no oven. Only cooking pan is a fry pan. No sauce pan. No cutting knives except for steak knife. No can opener. No serving dishes. Two huge plates and huge soup bowls. Places that I have gone to with "kitchen" are usually stocked with cooking supplies. For breakfast, they do offer pre-wrapped pastries that you can get from 7-11.

Now the bed. Looked clean. Look closer---there seems to be "boogers" on the cover. Eww! I think they just recycle the sheets if it "looks" clean.

Easy access to UofM. If you are going downtown, I would suggest getting a hotel downtown even for a higher price--convenience of bus and get one which offers breakfast. For this place, unless you are cooking and bring your own supplies for breakfast, it is better to get a higher priced hotel with breakfast and coffee available 24/7.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My son and I had stayed in St. Paul one night while he visited a college there. Since we had never been to the Twin cities before, we decided to stay another night, but to move to Minneapolis. Based on trip advisor reviews, I chose the University Inn which is in the Dinkytown area, near the University of Minnesota. We did not have a car and needed to rely on buses to get around. The Inn provided us with a comfortable,clean room and a good night’s sleep. The price for the night was fair and reasonable. The staff were helpful and friendly. We really appreciated their willingness to provide space for our luggage during the daytime while we checked out Minneapolis, before needing to go to the airport for our flight home later on that day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The University Inn is a few blocks away from the Uof M and Dinkytown. It likely began it's life as a dorm as it has the sixties cinder-block internal walls. That being said the rooms are very tidy and pretty well equipped with microwave, stove and full size fridge. Wi-fi connectivity was excellent and there is ample parking. It works a great central hub for a visit to the twin cities.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the car pack as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 925 4th Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel just 4 blocks from the University of Minnesota. All rooms feature kitchenettes and are ideal for both longer-term overnight stays. Free parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.