We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, fellow Trip advisor reviewers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn to your Saves list
University Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   925 4th Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (University / Dinkytown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thank you, fellow Trip advisor reviewers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My son and I had stayed in St. Paul one night while he visited a college there. Since we had never been to the Twin cities before, we decided to stay another night, but to move to Minneapolis. Based on trip advisor reviews, I chose the University Inn which is in the Dinkytown area, near the University of Minnesota. We did not have a car and needed to rely on buses to get around. The Inn provided us with a comfortable,clean room and a good night’s sleep. The price for the night was fair and reasonable. The staff were helpful and friendly. We really appreciated their willingness to provide space for our luggage during the daytime while we checked out Minneapolis, before needing to go to the airport for our flight home later on that day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
28
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The University Inn is a few blocks away from the Uof M and Dinkytown. It likely began it's life as a dorm as it has the sixties cinder-block internal walls. That being said the rooms are very tidy and pretty well equipped with microwave, stove and full size fridge. Wi-fi connectivity was excellent and there is ample parking. It works a great central hub for a visit to the twin cities.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the car pack as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is an extended stay hotel primarily for faculty visiting UM. There are few amenities but there is a good location 4 blocks from dinkytown (6 blocks from campus), and there is a full kitchen. Otherwise the highlights are unusually good HVAC and wifi.

Room Tip: note that 2nd floor is entirely walkup
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights and I have to say it was great. Having never been in Minneapolis, I had no idea where to stay and struggled with making a choice. I was leaning towards a downtown hotel (for no particular reason) but didn't want to pay for parking when I came across the University Inn. From their website it looked like it had character and from views on Google maps it looked to be in a nice area. After staying here, I can say that I don't think I could have made a better choice for our trip! The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and we loved the location. It is on the edge of Dinkytown, a great little area with cafes, coffee shops and restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable with a kitchenette complete with microwave, stove and full size refrigerator. It also turned out to have Wi-Fi, which we hadn't expected, based on previous reviews (and great Wi-Fi I might add). I booked the room by calling the hotel directly. They were very friendly and gave me a better rate than advertised anywhere, and I didn’t have to prepay. And yes, they have a parking lot, no charge!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Loved this hotel. great place, neat room, good service, great lactation - close to the downtown, yet in the quaint. . great small urban hotel.

will be back - found a new place to stay when we come back.

and to boot... FREE PARKING

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here with my three college buddies while visiting University of Minnesota for a football game. It was perfect for us: a good sized room with a little kitchenette. It was nothing fancy, but for four guys in their upper 20s the value could not be beat. Short walk to campus/the stadium/restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Room 106:8/29-8/30/2012
Sink drain didn't seal.Had to fill 4-5 times to shave.
Tub filled w/3" of water during shower. Took 5 minutes to drain.
Toilet handle had to be pulled up for toilet to refill.
A/C compressor,when operated at 100%, vibrated both beds during the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#24 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 925 4th Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel just 4 blocks from the University of Minnesota. All rooms feature kitchenettes and are ideal for both longer-term overnight stays. Free parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.