We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful b and b” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evelo's Bed and Breakfast

Evelo's Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minneapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Evelo's Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Evelo's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2301 Bryant Ave South, Minneapolis, MN 55405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Minneapolis B&B and Inns
chichester uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful b and b”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here because we didn't want to stay in a bland hotel. We were not disappointed and found the interior of this house everything we were hoping for. The lamps, antiques and wood floors and panelling were just wonderful. The situation is convenient and in a very interesting part of town. David and his wife were very friendly and helpful and gave us ideas of things to do. Our room was on the third floor and the bed was very comfortable indeed. The breakfasts were exceptional - every morning there was a different selection of pastries, juice, fruit and other interesting dishes - I wanted to try everything! The only downside of this b and b is the bathroom situation. We don't mind sharing but some people might. The problem is that in a house of this age and character, it would rather ruin it to have en suite facilities put into every room and probably impossible to do so. I would definitely return here because the overall experience of staying in such a wonderful house is worth experiencing the slight inconvenience of a shared bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos Tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have stayed here before & loved it, so this was a return visit! The Evelos are such wonderful hosts. This place is very well located & in a great neighborhood of older homes. Walking & biking options are numerous. This B&B is in a great old house filled w/ gorgeous antiques w/ a focus on lamps. The place is very clean & cozy...our room was on the 3rd floor. The Evelos do a fantastic job with the breakfasts they serve, home baked breads, quiches,omelettes, fresh fruit...and they always including something Scandinvian as well ! Each morning David would check & see if anyone had questions, needed suggestions for activities etc...and they had a good recommended restaurant list for Minneapolis. Our only problem was our room could have used a little better a/c...We had 2 fans, but it still got pretty warm at night (mid July). This is not a problem in the winter mos....our last stay there was in Dec. This place is a winner!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Let me preface this by saying that David Evelo is among the most gracious and accommodating hosts I've had the pleasure of encountering. I didn't have occasion really to interact with his wife, but the brief moment I did so was pleasant and cheerful. I think she might take care of the emails and reservations, and David attends to the front of the house so to speak (breakfast, check-in, check-out and so forth). They have it down to a science and the breakfast is lovingly prepared with great care and varies every morning with a different Norweigian or other Scandinavian treat mixed in with the fruit, quiche, and other breads and pastries typically on offer. As sumptuous and generous as the spread was, however, I would have appreciated some kind of self-service cereal station. The house is like a Victorian museum decorated with what must be hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of Tiffany lamps and vintage grandfather clocks (make sure to take in the 18th century French number in the far right corner of the living room as you enter from the front door). That said, like any museum, there is a tendency to feel cautious and on guard when walking through the rooms so that you don't damage anything. The hosts never made me feel that this precaution was ever necessary, mind you, but I was never able to fully relax in the common areas. This is a personal thing, I guess, and one you might not feel at all. As anachronistic as it might be to put any modern electronic devices amidst all the 18th and 19th century furnishings, a computer station for guests' usage would have been welcome. They do have Wi-Fi, but for those who don't have a laptop or a smartphone, that doesn't help, and sometimes you just need to print out your boarding pass for the flight home. A TV in the common area or in the individual guest rooms would also have been appreciated. Part of the enjoyment of travel for me is to get some local color from the regional TV stations, and I kind of missed that here. They have a lovely back yard that can be viewed from the breakfast room, but unfortunately guests don't have access to it. At least it didn't seem that way. It would have been very nice to have enjoyed a glass of ice water or juice while sitting back there with a magazine on an early evening.

It is a wonderful place to stay, equi-distant to uptown and downtown and convenient to the 17 bus on 24th Street and Bryant or the 6 bus on 24th and Hennepin. There are also Nice Ride bike kiosks located near the house. These bike share/rental centers that are located throughout downtown Minneapolis are run by the City, but are not very tourist friendly; they are designed for local commuters. But that's a subject for another review and I encourage you to research the Nice Rides system before unlocking one. I found it to be very stressful and you would probably do better going to a bike rental shop to rent a bike for the day rather than conform to the 30 minute a pop Nice Ride schedule.

The only other aspect of the house I want to point out is the shower situation. They say it is based on the English B&B tradition, but I've stayed in B&B's in England and Ireland and I have always had a shower in my room. If the house is fully occupied, you could be sharing one shower with up to 5 or 6 other people. This is an arrangement I've encountered more at hostels than at B&B's. The shower is super clean and has great water pressure, but you may have to wait for it. I say this, not because I didn't enjoy my stay, I did, it's just that this kind of set up might not be for everyone and the purpose of this online community, it seems to me, is to present all aspects of the place so that you can make up your own mind. For $75 a night I would have liked a TV in my room and a place to check my email, and a shower on my floor. I was on the second floor and the shower is on the third floor; there are three bedrooms on the third floor that have more direct access to the shower. I would recommend that you request one of those. A couple of times during my stay, in preparation for my shower, I had gotten my towel, soap and shampoo all ready, went up the stairs to the third floor, only to find that someone else was using the shower. Back down to my room I went to wait until going back up the stairs to check on the shower's availability. If I had been on the third floor, this wouldn't have been such an issue.

Thank you to David and Sheryl(?) for a memorable stay, and also kudos to Margie and Pat the first-time "inn-sitters" for doing such a wonderful job of taking care of me for the three nights that the Evelo's were away for the weekend!! Both couples are warm and compassionate people and fully committed service professionals. You will be in excellent hands in their care. I wish you a pleasant stay in Minneapolis. If you are looking for a B&B experience in town, look no further than here.

Room Tip: Request a room on the third floor with closer proximity to the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I feel lucky to have stumbled on this little gem. My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 nights visiting family during a heat wave. The cool and comfy accommodations were just what we needed after long days out and about in the heat. The room was very clean as well as the shared bathroom, our towels were changed 3 times during the visit which was a nice surprise. Breakfast was even better, a nice assortment for many tastes and not too heavy. The surroundings were right up my alley as well, decorated in an art nouveau style there were lots of things to look at and admire. Sheryl and David were also very pleasant and were at the ready to offer any information we might need. Would stay there again in a second.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Would definitely stay here again. Loved the art glass and antiques on the first level. Comfortable and very clean room. Hosts were so nice! And the breakfast was amazing!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herkop7
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

I stayed at Evelo's while in town for a conference. It was a very wonderful stay and, three years later, I still tell people about it. That was my first time in Minneapolis--it's such a great town (I'm from PA) and my stay here is one of the reasons why I had such a good time experience.

The breakfast was very tasty and very generous, enough to fill you past lunch. I was able to walk to the convention center, though the city bus comes by the street corner, just in case. Dave Evelo mapped out a walking path to the convention center for me that included a stop by a sculpture garden. And, fortunately, Minneapolis was having unseasonably warm weather that spring. :)

The room was comfortable. The neighborhood, safe and quiet. It was a very nice time and I would definitely go back and would highly recommend this B&B to others. A good price and a good value.

  • Liked — Great food; nice, quiet location, helpful and friendly owners
  • Disliked — Nothing--it was a positive experience, all around.
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Evelo's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evelo's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2301 Bryant Ave South, Minneapolis, MN 55405
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Evelo`s Hotel Minneapolis
Evelo`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evelo's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.