We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for Generation X” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Minneapolis to your Saves list
aloft Minneapolis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Minneapolis
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for Generation X”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I read alot of negative reviews for this property and in reviewing them, they seemed to come from a lot of older people, meaning what I would assume are over the age of 40. I am in the hospitality sales business and do a lot of work for the Starwood brand and this was the first Aloft I stayed at. It is a contemporary hotel, very cool, chic and progressive in their design scheme. I found the room to be functional. Work space for the desk, TV and bed. They offer a free complimentary bottle of water which other hotels charge $3.00 or more for 20 oz. To address some of the complaints by other guests.

Drunk people running around / doors slamming: My stay was quiet. While it was a Tuesday night and not a weekend I have no complaints about hearing doors close loudly.

No where to sit and watch tv: TV is mounted on the wall across from the foot of the bed. There is a desk chair to sit in if you choose but no other chair. Are you at a hotel to sit in the room and watch TV all day in a chaise lounge??? If so, this s not the hotel for you!

Window coverings don't offer total blackout: Again, contemporary hotel, they blackout window coverings are a roller shade with sheer over top. There is slight light leakage with the roller shade as there is with any window covering!

There is no valet parking but the garage is VERY close to park.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BossHog0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We had a gift certificate from our anniversary so we booked a baby sitter and a room. The hotel was very clean and modern. It reminds me of some of my favorite hotels in Stockholm. I think the price is reasonable. There is no parking but there is a parking garage across the street. We were on the 5th floor and there is A LOT of city noise. Yes, we are in downtown MPLS so that is to be expected. We also had a problem with drunk people running up and down the halls/screaming/laughing at 3am (after bars closed). That kept me up. They only provide 2 very small pillows. We had to laugh about it but we called for more and they brought up 2 great pillows in less than 5 minutes. We had a nice night out and had a few drinks at their bar. Dogs allowed as we saw a couple. I would stay at Aloft again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdrtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Just returned from a stay at Aloft Minneapolis. The hotel is not quite in the heart of downtown but is close enough to get there quickly and cheaply. Its actually across the street from the Guthrie Theatre (if you have a chance, go check out the views from the 4th, 5th and 9th floors). The hotel itself was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. This is not a hotel for someone looking for a conceirge or a spa but it is clean, comfortable and had all the ammenities for a relaxing stay. There is a pool and whirlpool plus a well equiped fitness room. The bar in the lobby is relaxed and inviting and has 2 happy hours from 5-7pm and 10-midnight. Breakfast is complimentary before 10am but we never tried it out to comment on it.
The rooms are very modern but comfortable - think IKEA openness and utilitarianism. The beds and pillows were nice as well. Each room has a fridge too.
Since the hotel is not in the heart of the downtown area (its actually in the Mill District which is historic and a bit trendy), the Aloft has a free shuttle available. We requested a shuttle to take us to the Nicolette Mall area and he was out front in less than 5 minutes. When we called for a pickup, he was back in 15.
All in all, I would stay here again - no question.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kraduenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Rooms felt very mod/European, comfortable beds. A bit far from downtown hubbub for walking but taxis are cheap and frequent. Clean, a bar area in central atrium. Geared toward a younger but classy clientele. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Decent hotel, small rooms. There was cracks on the ceiling and as much as I love "funky" modern hotels, there needs to be some functionality. Closet is non-existent, just a curtain over a cubby hole. Ya, there's a big TV, but nowhere to sit and watch because it's in a poor location.

$3 for a 20oz bottle of pepsi? Maybe at the W, but not here. Oh ya, throw pillows on the bed, no real pillows, just hard throw pillows instead...kinda like what you'd put on your couch for decoration.

Furthermore, they kept a $400+ hold on my credit card for 6 days after checkout! I stay at ALOT of hotels (even other Aloft hotels) and have never even noticed a hold. The room was $185 for my one night stay and I had $400 hold?! I spoke to the manager and got the run-around on top of him being rude.

Aloft hotels are great, but not this one!!

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank harri7049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because we had tickets to the Guthrie and wanted to stay in town. The hotel is beautiful and decorated nicely. We had a room facing the Guthrie and Gold Medal Park. It all sounds like it would be a lovely stay right? WRONG! When we checked in, we passed a group young kids who were having a spitting contest into the bushes and using super foul language. The hotel check in clerk told us that a bus of sports fans had just pulled up and rented a lot of rooms that night. My husband and I went to the Guthrie for our show and had a marvelous time, we went to bed at 11pm only to be awakened by someone pounding on our door. It was a super drunk young lady who couldn't find her room. The rest of the evening and morning was spent being awakened by the sound of fire doors being slammed and drunk idiots not able to find their rooms or not being able to get into their rooms. This hotel is loud and not for anyone who wants to sleep through the night. If you are young and want to get absolutely so trashed that you can't find your own room... this is the place for you. We will not be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grhofmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homermn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Not reallyes sure management gets that aklowing large buses to idle in front of your hotel all the time is really not a great way to bring comfort ando scilence for your guests they seem to be clueless to this problem

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homermn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#19 of 43 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn at The Depot
Residence Inn at The Depot
#24 of 43 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#10 of 43 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Starwood so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing