We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Minneapolis to your Saves list
aloft Minneapolis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
eschuber
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Stellar and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Excellent and hip hotel. Minimal and open concept all over. Lobby is open with check-in and mini-market for food on one end and a bar on the other. Games are all around, as well, as comfy sofas. If it's a weekend there's bound to be a lot of people hanging around and getting drinks, pretty cool. Also seating outside for summer. Rooms have flat screens and super comfy beds. Very friendly staff. Walking distance of metrodome. Just really relaxing and classy all around.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    126
    36
    18
    15
See reviews for
39
72
31
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

This is the first (and only) SPG aLoft property I have stayed at. This is definitely a different concept in hotels -- a little bit like a lower-end W focused on trendy twenty-thirtysomethings. But those of us a bit older who are still young at heart can enjoy it as well. The WXYZ (?) bar is cool in a hipster sort of way, as is the entire lobby area.

The previous review "Hip but not Upscale" definitely applies here. Rooms are comfortable, some with nice views of Gold Medal Park (avoid the rooms facing the street, which can be noisy), but not particularly luxurious.

I was a business traveler but generally would not recommend this hotel for business, unless you want to be close to the river to go for runs across the Stone Arch bridge, etc. Otherwise, it's a bit far from downtown where all the restaurants, shops and big corporate HQs are. For this reason, I think the hotel is a lot better for warm-weather stays than winter stays. Hotel is not connected to the skyway system and it can take a while for a taxi to get to you as they don't normally hang out outside or near the property.

I would consider this hotel again if I were coming back to stay for pleasure vs. business - the location down by the river, the Old Mill Ruins and the Stone Arch Bridge is great, again in warm weather when you can enjoy the surroundings. Also, it is close to some good evening entertainment like the Guthrie Theater.

A final point: This hotel is a GREAT value. Rooms are regularly listed at around $119-139/night, often with special extras like free snacks or drinks in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Just passing through Minneapolis, so only stayed one night, which is too bad, because we didn't get to take advantage of the game room, pool and courtyard.

Staff was super-friendly and knowledgeable, with fast service at all hours and good local advice. The lobby is welcoming, stylish and fun. Pool table, bar, Wii, board games, Internet access, even a rather awesome 3 foot tall game of Connect Four. Bar drew a young, laid-back crowd in the evenings. There were a few families staying also. The kids seemed to love all the games on offer.

Rooms were cozy and well designed. Small by American hotel standards, but not cramped by any means. Whole place seemed pretty spotless.

We came without a car and had no problems getting around. The hotel is a short walk to the light rail, which gets you to the airport in about 15 minutes, far quicker/cheaper/easier than a cab. We walked, took the bus, or cabbed it to core downtown, Nicollet Mall area. There was usually a taxi standing by outside, or the front desk would call one for you. Guthrie and Metrodome are a super-short walk. The Guthrie is open whether you have show tickets or not, so it's well worth a free visit to admire the architecture and take in the commanding view.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

A friend and I got a amazingly cheap rate ($65 a night0 on hotels.com, making our stay at Aloft great. I probably wouldn't have felt that it was worth much more (although I'm sure they take a loss on that rate, so some more is probably fair). The beds are comfy, and two queen beds was great for us. The staff was extremely helpful, changing our rooms to the quieter side of the building (ask for the Mill Park side if street noise bothers you). The location is great -- the new Guthrie is gorgeous and the Mill Park is too... lots of restaurants and not too far for walking downtown.

Still, the hotel has the feel of being a hip dorm room, and isn't very cozy. It was great as a base for being in the city, but I wouldn't have wanted to spend a lot of time in the room. The hallway floors were dirty, but the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We recently stayed 7 days and 6 nights at the aloft minneapolis. Our flight got into MSP super early and we headed straight for the hotel. The woman at the front desk didn't even blink an eye when we came to check in at 7am without any warning! She got us into a room right away and also an underground parking spot. She offered us free coffee and we sat in the ultra hip lobby as she got our reservation squared away. She came to me to sign everything and was so helpful.

We rented a car because we were going to be driving all around town. The hotel has a few spots in their underground parking their share with the neighboring condos. The spot was designated and only $15 a day vs. the municipal parking lot that charges $8 every time you come in... no ins and outs. The underground parking allowed us to come and go as we pleased and we were even given a garage opener. To gain access back to the hotel, you need to use your room key. This garage is very small and safe!

There isn't a restaurant in the hotel. They do have a convenient store setup. Great sandwiches, AMAZING dulce de leche cheesecake, drinks by the bottle, etc. It is a little high, but you're paying for convenience. Also located in the lobby, is their w xyz bar, pool tables, lounge area, and fireplace. This area is very trendy and hip and fills with posh-types in the evening.

The rooms weren't as small as everyone on here alluded to. They had just enough room to serve their purpose- Sleep! We found the room to be very comfortable. We had a view of the Guthrie theater and downtown. This hotel is only .3 miles from the Metrodome, which made our Twins game easy to walk to! The farmers market is only 2 small blocks from the hotel on Saturdays (and another weekday). Grumpy's is a great local bar that is just a block and a half south on Washington (the street the hotel is on).

All and all, we loved this hotel. We especially appreciated that it wasn't situated downtown and this made it quiet and easy to get to and from with a car. The light rail is close by and takes you directly to the airport or mall of america! We will always stay at the aloft when we come to minneapolis! The price, service, and location were unbeatable!

Check out Corazon, a store half a black down on washington that sells locally made art, crafts, and goods!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

We were in Minneapolis for two baseball games and chose this hotel for its proximity to the Metrodome and because it was offering the lowest weekday rate of any of the hotels in that area. If you like minimalist, loft design you will love this place. I am not personally a fan of this type of decor, but the hotel was satisfactory for a short stay. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable, the shower was huge and well-equipped with body wash and shampoo/conditioner, the flat-screen TV had a great picture (though it was mounted too high on the wall for comfortable viewing) and the desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There is convenient parking next door in a city-owned garage.
On the minus side, there were no drinking glasses (either glass or plastic) provided. There was bottled water, but a hotel that purports to be green perhaps should encourage guests to drink tap water. Using your cardboard coffee cup to brush your teeth is less than optimal. The in-room coffee was weak, the room was a little small (ok for two nights, wouldn't want to stay a week) and traffic noise from the street outside our second-floor room made sleeping difficult. There are no drawers, just open shelves, and minimal space for hanging clothes. We paid $109 per night, the card on the back of the door said the rate for the night was $799! Doubt they would ever be able to get anywhere near that.
To sum up, this room will really appeal to people who would enjoy living in a loft. It's location can't be beat for visits to the Metrodome or the Guthrie, and it's rate is terrific, for as long as it lasts. No doubt it will go up as the hotel becomes more established.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We were in Minneapolis for plays at the Guthrie and baseball at the Metrodome. and this hotel is perfectly situated for those events. Literally across the street from the Guthrie and 2 blocks from the Metrodome. Staff was superb...friendly, efficient, professional. The room was very modern looking (I liked the overall look of the place) and the room was on the small side. Plusses: Great shower and the wireless Internet connection worked very well. Negatives: No fitted sheet on the bed; leaky shampoo container in shower; no comfortable place to sit in room; no drawers for storing clothes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#26 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.