We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipster minimalism” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Minneapolis to your Saves list
aloft Minneapolis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
milwaukee, wi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hipster minimalism”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed one night for business. The double-queen room was a good size for my business partner and I, but definitely minimal. Contemporary design abounds from floor to ceiling to open-concept bathroom (i know, i was confused at first too). Small indoor pool & basic work-out facility offer just enough "extra" to make this a good value. Definitely one of the least expensive downtown hotels within walking distance to many points of interest. We skipped the 24/7 pre-packaged food pantry; there are plenty of restaurants around. Big bonus: city-owned parking ramp right next door $7 overnight. Staff was very polite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    123
    35
    18
    15
See reviews for
38
71
31
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marquette
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Updated and Funky decor, clean room and sandwiches good in Morning that the chef had made. Pool always available and pool table. King bed nice and yet hard for Senior's back. Location is central to most conventions and Target Center. Free shuttle to Conventions.. great Chef and Polite staff all throughout our stay. Plenty to walk to and see and shopping near.

Room Tip: Ask if the room faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast sandwiches and both the pool and pool table. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend and didn't really have any preconception of what to expect. If you are looking for a hotel with oversized rooms or cabinetry you won't use anyway then this place is not for you. Having said that, we really enjoyed this hotel and would not hesitate to return in the future.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby and bar area were comfortable and included a fireplace, pool table and life-sized Connect Four game. There was an outdoor seating area just off the bar that reminded me of the W Hotel near Time Square. The rooms themselves were quite nice. They were not huge but they were very comfortable and included all the amenities we needed. The styling was very Metro/European inspired and quite functional. There was a big HD TV mounted to the wall and included a charging/connectivity station by the desk. It's obvious that there was a lot of thought and design work that went into the layout of the rooms in order to make them efficient. We had a comfortable king bed with a soft comforter. The only complaint we had about our stay was that it took too long to check in however there was a wedding party checking in ahead of us as well as prom events going on in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river to get an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was a huge disappointment. I've seen college dorms that were nicer than this. Concrete floors. No drawers or real furniture in rooms. They claim to be environmentally friendly but all the food, coffee, etc is plastic or paper. Why no coffee mugs in room? And the five dollar credit that can go towards a bad four-dollar cappuccino in the lobby if I agree to no maid service is an insult. I would definitely avoid this place- not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We understand not everyone appreciates our simplistic, modern design. We are very sorry that your stay did not met your expectations. We do take pride in our Make a Green choice program. When our guests choose to forgo maid service we save a significant amount of energy and water consumption. Also, we don’t use mugs in the guest room because the coffee cups we provide are recyclable. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our daughter goes to the University of Minnesota and every time we visit her, we stay at Aloft. It is a 5 minute drive to the U. We always enjoy our stay. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The rooms are comfy and we always sleep well....fluffy pillows, comfy beds and wonderful comforters. Through in the in-room movies, bar, refuel station and workout area and you have a great stay. We also enjoy taking a walk in the Gold Medal Park.

Room Tip: Ask for the underground parking in the condo's next door vs. the parking garage across the stree...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback - we really appreciate it. We're happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us while visiting your daughter at the University. Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

One thing to know about this hotel that the rooms are small, the bathroom doors do not close all the way and if you actually plan to have a restful night of sleep, might want to look for another place. I personally love sleeping in hotels because they usually are quiet and have good service, not the case for Aloft. I could hear the traffic out front with the windows closed, I could also hear all the neighbors and every movement in the hallway. Clearly whomever built this modern ikea hotel did not think of noise control. We called down at 2AM about the noise issue to find that the phone only works on loud speaker phone; nothing was done about the noise issue. Also the lighting of the bathroom lights up the entire bedroom. If you are a person who values privacy and a good nights rest, don't stay in the small roomed wanna be trendy but big fail ikea box hotel. Ow and the bathroom door doesn't close, seems to be a trend from other reviews on here. I loved how I had zero privacy while staying with someone else in the room, made me feel really uncomfortable to conduct business in the bathroom when there is a 4 inch gap because the door does not close all the way. Stay at another hotel is the moral of the story, don't waste your money or time on a hotel that does not value it's customers and provides wanna be trendy rooms. If you are looking for trendy in that style, stay at the W.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We understand that our loft inspired design does not suit everyone’s taste. We do appreciate you telling us about the bathroom door not closing and the issue with the phone. We’ll look into fixing these issues immediately. We’re sorry to hear that you were not able to get a restful sleep due to noise. Again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our niece was getting married and our family needed a central place to stay. I don't know who chose the Aloft (think it was the bride!) but it was a good choice. Pool, breakfast, very nice beds with comforters. A European-feel. Also, relaxing in the evenings at the bar area. Wish we would have had more time to spend with each other as the Aloft was great in providing a wonderful place to gather. Will be on our list to stay at when we go back to Minneapolis in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far-end of the corridor do not allow for one to come out the stairs without setting an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#26 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.