We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added aloft Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
aloft Minneapolis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our daughter goes to the University of Minnesota and every time we visit her, we stay at Aloft. It is a 5 minute drive to the U. We always enjoy our stay. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The rooms are comfy and we always sleep well....fluffy pillows, comfy beds and wonderful comforters. Through in the in-room movies, bar, refuel station and workout area and you have a great stay. We also enjoy taking a walk in the Gold Medal Park.

Room Tip: Ask for the underground parking in the condo's next door vs. the parking garage across the stree...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback - we really appreciate it. We're happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us while visiting your daughter at the University. Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    113
    35
    17
    14
See reviews for
31
67
31
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

One thing to know about this hotel that the rooms are small, the bathroom doors do not close all the way and if you actually plan to have a restful night of sleep, might want to look for another place. I personally love sleeping in hotels because they usually are quiet and have good service, not the case for Aloft. I could hear the traffic out front with the windows closed, I could also hear all the neighbors and every movement in the hallway. Clearly whomever built this modern ikea hotel did not think of noise control. We called down at 2AM about the noise issue to find that the phone only works on loud speaker phone; nothing was done about the noise issue. Also the lighting of the bathroom lights up the entire bedroom. If you are a person who values privacy and a good nights rest, don't stay in the small roomed wanna be trendy but big fail ikea box hotel. Ow and the bathroom door doesn't close, seems to be a trend from other reviews on here. I loved how I had zero privacy while staying with someone else in the room, made me feel really uncomfortable to conduct business in the bathroom when there is a 4 inch gap because the door does not close all the way. Stay at another hotel is the moral of the story, don't waste your money or time on a hotel that does not value it's customers and provides wanna be trendy rooms. If you are looking for trendy in that style, stay at the W.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We understand that our loft inspired design does not suit everyone’s taste. We do appreciate you telling us about the bathroom door not closing and the issue with the phone. We’ll look into fixing these issues immediately. We’re sorry to hear that you were not able to get a restful sleep due to noise. Again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our niece was getting married and our family needed a central place to stay. I don't know who chose the Aloft (think it was the bride!) but it was a good choice. Pool, breakfast, very nice beds with comforters. A European-feel. Also, relaxing in the evenings at the bar area. Wish we would have had more time to spend with each other as the Aloft was great in providing a wonderful place to gather. Will be on our list to stay at when we go back to Minneapolis in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far-end of the corridor do not allow for one to come out the stairs without setting an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The stay in this hotel was very pleasant. The staff is yiung and very friendly and make you feel welcome. The decor tries very hard (maybe too hard) to impress that this is a European style boutique hotel, but after a while it seems to be right. The rooms are spacious, bathroom clean, free WIFi. I liked the idea of breakfast in the lobby where you can take a complimentary coffee and put togehter a smallish breakfast of all kinds of things. There is a small exercise room at the entrance leve.
The hotel bar is friendly, the hotel has a shuttle to the university, it's close to the light-train.
All together a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We traveled for a conference at the college. We had been booked closer to the school and that hotel was scary. So when the aloft had a room available we gladly booked. The room overlooked the park which is a nice place to walk. We loved the room and how clean it was. The "party" vibe that was down in the bar was loud but we ended up being there to closing. It was an interesting group of people to meet and talk to. Next conference this is where you will find me. The neighborhood had some cute restaurants and bars!! Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very happy we chose aloft on our recent visit to Minneapolis/St. Paul. Super clean, very friendly staff, free shuttle service within 5 miles of the hotel is a big plus. Cool that you can plug your iPod, iPad, etc. into the TV/speakers in the room but they were out of the AV cable we needed for our iPad — please get more 'cause we will be back next visit to MN!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very trendy with a European hostel type flair. While the king-size bed rooms are smaller than usual they are very efficient with high-end amenities. We had a room with a great view of Gold Medal Park.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks you for sharing your feedback. Our loft-inspired design stems from our sister hotel brand - W Hotel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our guest room amenities. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#32 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.