We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale In and Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Minneapolis to your Saves list
aloft Minneapolis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Upscale In and Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was very trendy. It is defintiely made for your business type vistor. It is a smaller type room with trendly placement of bed and shower and bathroom. this is not the type of hotel to spend all day relaxing and walking around. It is geared towards your professional crowd and younger client base. the bar was great looking and the decor was more bar like.

We were here for a wedding which we did not spend much time in the room and we were happy not to pay as much becasue we only realy used it to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    138
    38
    20
    17
See reviews for
49
84
32
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Guthrie is an architectural and theatrical marvel. I went to Minneapolis specifically to visit it and booked the aloft because it looked like it was the closest place to stay. What a nice surprise! Youthful, sassy, clean and hip, the aloft is the nephew of a W Hotel. Limited service but big on atmosphere. The beds are very comfortable and the bath is large and well lit. My only complaint would be the individual ac/heat units that are louder than central air and woke me up a few times. Loved their wxyz bar!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is not your usual business Hyatt or Hilton. This hotel, however, is upscale, current, modern decour that represents the up and coming business professionals. It has a full exercise facility, upscale bar, smaller rooms that are clean and efficient.

For the no frills business traveler, this is comparably priced in the low $100 range.

Although there is no breakfast or dining on premesis, it is located in the mill district, near the warehouse district.. all urban renewal, new condos etc, It's right in the middle of the downtown business and night life. Good restaurants are close. Shuttle is free within 5 mile radius.

Large LCD TV, free wifi and input jacks for HDMI and audio ipods, ipads, iphones and kindles the hi tech additions are convenient for the connected business travelers.

Travel, sleep, work and play.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here on a last minute trip to Minneapolis. Hotel was close to the venue we went to and even provided a shuttle service to the show. We caught the light rail back, it was only three block away from the hotel. The hotel was clean, had an European feel. Only draw back was parking. We didn't notice until after we booked our room that you need to park in a parking ramp across the street. Overnight parking is another $15, so the room deal wasn't as sweet as first thought.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there got a week with my dog, and it was a great experience. It's on the edge if downtown and was not connect by skyway so this would not be a winter spot if your business is downtown. But it was great for summer. Walking distance to everything downtown and the river/stone arch bridge. The service was great! They set my dog up with food bowls and a bed and the bed was comfy. The lobby bar was decent for a hotel bar. Overall, it was a good experience and a great value!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently visited Minneapolis for just one night to visit some friends. The Aloft was a perfect location because it was a few blocks from the light rail which we took directly from the airport. Downtown was within walking distance from the hotel as well.

This was our first experience at an Aloft though we are SPG Gold members. We loved it! The layout of the hotel was very modern and functional. The lobby consisted of an island check in desk, comfy couches and tables, kiosks to check-in for flights, a grab-and-go snack bar open all day, and a bar which opens later in the afternoon. Adjacent to the lobby was a well-equipped workout room and a small indoor pool. The multi-function staff in the lobby were friendly and helpful with all needs.

The room was not large, but very well-thought-out and comfortable. The shower and toilet are separated from the vanity. The bed was firm but comfortable. There was a hairdryer, coffee and tea, a fridge and a safe. Lots of well-placed storage in the room. Our only criticism was the cheap shades on the windows that did a poor job darkening the room for a light-sensitive sleeper like me.

We will not hesitate to stay at Aloft when we visit Minneapolis in the future or any other city that has an Aloft.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Ok, I am not an designer so I liked the bulding but so what! the bedroom was ok, the cleanning bad and no internet nowhere. Sorry this was not a metrodome trip. Staff ok, they helped with their own internet connection to print boarding pass but ask you to leave soon afterwards

Room Tip: Close to te ligtht train station, sataff helpfull but what can they do with web connection?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#24 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#14 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.