We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
audiojay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed here for an extended weekend trip and found the hotel to be very nice.
It's obvious that they hired a real interior designer to outfit this place because there are a lot of nice touches everywhere you look.
The location is excellent if you're taking the light rail system from the airport. There are two train stops you can choose to get off at: Government Plaza or Nicolett Mall. They're both about 1 1/2 blocks from the hotel entrance.
The staff was very helpful and nice, no matter the request.
There is a business center on the lower level with access to a computer and printer so you can check in for your flight and print your boarding pass.
This hotel has access to the downtown skyway from the second floor but you can get to plenty of restaurants and Nicolett Mall quickly by heading out the front door. We also discovered that almost all of the shops in the skyway are closed on the weekend. You can pickup a skyway map at the front desk if you do choose to use them.
Rooms were clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Between the comfy bed and the fact it was a very quiet place, we slept very well all weekend. It was a peaceful stay. We didn't try the bar area, but there were plenty of people who did.
The hotel has wifi, but they charge extra for it. Irritating, but that's still the case with hotels that are part of the larger fancy chains.
The only thing that really put us off was the restaurant (Restaurant Max). We arrived just as they opened for the evening and did not have a reservation. The place was completely empty except for one other couple waiting. They made a pretty big deal about trying to find us a table and weren't sure they'd be able to seat us (all two of us). Did I mention the place was completely empty? We were only there because we didn't want to leave the hotel that night. We ended up leaving and going to Ike's where we were immediately seated in a very crowded restaurant and had a fantastic meal (possibly the best chili in the world).
Anyway, despite the restaurant, we would certainly stay at the Hotel Minneapolis again without hesitation. We just won't plan on eating there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    190
    67
    23
    10
See reviews for
46
176
40
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, SK.,Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. Booked it online directly from their website for only 71$ a night ! It was the "sizzle in the city" package. Very classy hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The hotel restaurant/bar is a bit pricey, but the lamb is worth every penny. There is also an Irish pub right across the street and numerous bars/pubs/night clubs only a few blocks away. We went to Minni for the Vikings playoff game, and from the hotel we were tailgating within a short 5 minute walk. We also went to a T'wolves game, and that walk was only about 5 minutes also, in the opposite direction. Valet parking is $27/24 hour period, or there are parkades all around the hotel. We found a free spot the second night right across from the hotel on the street. The train is a block away, and it takes about 15 minutes and $1 and change to get to the mall of america. Overall, best hotel I have ever stayed in for the price. Highly recommended, You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Hotel Minneapolis is ULTRA conveniently located across the street from the Light Rail and connected to the skyways. Perfect destination for business travelers as well as weekend adventerousos.

Staff is empowered to make choices and the overall service fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

A good reasonably-priced hotel that's skyway connected to everything, close to the light rail station to/from the airport. Although there aren't many restaurants immediately adjacent to the hotel, it's just a few minutes walk. Limited breakfast options can get a bit repetitive, but cool former bank location. Rooms are decently sized and the beds and showers are great (like the waterfall-style shower).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.