We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, bad restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Williston, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice room, bad restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great renovation made this a beautiful hotel. Although a few blocks from the beaten path, very convenient to everything downtown. Great desk staff, great valet staff.
Enjoyable appetizers on Friday happy hour, but avoid the restaurant for Sunday dinner. Worst steak I've had in awhile, requesting a plain potato instead of loaded is ignored, requesting no onions on the steak gives you a pile of fried onions mixed with the vegetables. That combined with a feeling you're inconveniencing the night bar staff talking with their regulars and co-workers. I'm pretty sure I won't stay there again, I'm sure there are more convenient hotels that serve bad steaks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison S, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We value our guest feedback as we are continually striving to make improvements throughout our hotel. I apologize that you had an unpleasant experience in our restaurant and didn't receive the food prepared the way you had specified. I have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage team and are talking with our associates on how to keep the same kind of experience from happening again. I also appreciate the good feedback about some of our other associates and the rooms. We will celebrate those remarks with the team as well.
Again, I apologize for the trouble and inconvenience and hope that you will give us a chance to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    191
    67
    24
    11
See reviews for
46
176
40
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary,Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went up to Mpls for the University of Minnesota homecoming weekend. We looked on Expedia could not find many deals so called The Hotel Minneapolis directly. Rate was $210 which was on par with other hotels in the city. It far exceeded our expectations. It is located in an old bank building-was well laid out, beautiful rooms, super comfy beds and staff was outstanding. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Location:
- Near the light rail station, it only cost $1.75 a ride from the airport
- Near shops by restaurant by skyway, don’t need to be outside, if it’s rain or snow
Room:
- Asked for a higher floor, it’s more quiet
- Room is modern with high ceiling, bed is clean and comfortable
- Bathroom is nice with rain shower and good water pressure
Services
- Staff are nice, and helpful on getting my room and showing me where the restaurant location

Room Tip: higher floor to be more quite, call before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location, very clean, fun atmosphere, and I found a great deal on Hotwire. I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in the downtown area. I would suggest not renting a car; the light rail system is less than $2 and brings you within a couple blocks of the hotel.



Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed two nights recently during a business trip. Check-in was efficient and friendly. The room was spacious and clean, with nice decor and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large and contained all the necessary items (hair dryer, etc.). The hotel is located downtown, and is convenient to businesses and venues. I would have given the hotel a better rating, but my experience at the restaurant was disappointing.

My stay included breakfast at the restaurant, which was short-staffed each day. There was a long wait for food and poor service (due to the staffing issue). I recommend finding another restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is in the setting of an old bank,building, including the original vaults. Old class design with a modern touch. Very clean & comfortable. Friendly & helpful staff. Close to all the events at Target field, stadium & center. The transit line is one block from the hotel for moving both in & out of the city. NIce bar, good food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was a great surprise hidden for us in downtown Minneapolis. The staff was exceptionally helpful, the rooms were new, clean, and very generously sized, which was especially surprising for a downtown city hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect that all rooms are good. All paking is valet, space might be limited for trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.