We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“labor day weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“labor day weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel that used to be a bank. Management works very hard to please the guest with there small rooms and limited food service. Great location away from downtown traffic. Parking is overpriced at 32 as night

Room Tip: 10th floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    206
    74
    29
    10
See reviews for
49
190
44
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twinsburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a unique hotel, certainly not a cookie cutter product. It is part of the Marriott Autograph Hotels and these are always a treat. The building lobby was an old bank and is a very inviting place to hang out. The lobby is attached to a restaurant (called Max), which I am not clear is part of the hotel or not. The drinks and bar experience both in the hotel lobby and The Max were perfect. The decor is difficult to describe but is sort of a modern Art Deco. The rooms were very nice, with attractive appointments and a great bed. I have stayed there twice and the rooms were identical -- longer and narrower than most rooms, but fine for a couple. It is about a long block away from the light rail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the price and we were intrigued by the history of the building. The first floor is a bit overwhelming because it is so modern and interesting and so unique but the front desk staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The room was small and compact but the furniture fit the room well. The bathroom, however, was HUGE. The decor was trendy so don't expect a cookie cutter hotel. I like the way they have used the space. Great location on the quieter side of town yet within walking distance to so much. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were almost worried, staying downtown and getting this hotel for the price we were. In comparison to other hotels near by we were paying half if not more of what their rates were.

When we arrived we valeted our vehicle (pretty much mandatory for parking around here). The lobby is very swanky. They still have the old safe (the building used to be a bank) in the lobby. Check in staff was very helpful. They gave us area maps with restaurants and other points of interest.

The rooms were nice, clean, modern. Very oddly shaped though. No tub only a shower which wasn't an issue for us.

There is a restaurant and bar on site but we never went to it. It's walking distance to all sporting events and tons of bars, pubs and restaurants in the area.

CONS: wifi isn't free unless you are in the lobby, no complimentary breakfast, expensive room service charges

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I always recommend this hotel for out of town guests and have stayed here twice. While it's downtown, it's very close to the lightrail and also all the nightlife, without being on top of it. I was disappointed in the bar/restaurant only because it closes early. But the rooms are always nice and quiet and we have never had a single problem. They do have valet, as parking dt is kind of difficult. But for the rates, I believe this is a great option.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the middle of skyscrapers, so ask if they have a room with a better view, and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had business at the courthouse and had our two dogs with us. This lovely hotel takes pets and is a wonderful place to stay. We had asked for the first floor and because that wasn't available, we were put on the third and our rate was considerably discounted! The hotel is immaculately clean, has very interesting decor, the beds are comfortable, and the hotel staff is very helpful in giving advice, providing office supplies, etc. There is a paid breakfast in the dining room. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were in Minneapolis for 5 days and was first booked at The Depot. After a very disappointing room (Platinum members) we changed to this hotel. I asked for an upgrade at check-in and we were placed in a King room/suite but our preference was for double beds. It was okay but only came with a shower. Since they don't have a pool/hot tub I wanted something to relax in. We also wanted double beds to sleep comfortably. When I called the front desk the next morning, they said they didn't have anything but when I said I was going to check out, they called back and moved us to the Executive level, 2 double beds in a very large room with a large bathroom/ and a tub/shower combination. It was very nice and I wished that they would have placed us in that room originally. Especially as Platinum members and we were paying premium prices. The Executive Lounge though is really pathetic for pre-dinner snacks, etc. The front desk staff was very nice.

Green Features: The shower pressure was really poor! Expect to stay in longer...
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#24 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Groupon, BookIt.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.