We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Value and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this hotel through my AAA and got a great deal. This hotel is so conveniently located downtown and close to the light rail. I highly recommend the valet parking. Best stay I've had in Minneapolis. My only regret is I didn't get to see enough of the hotel because I didn't have time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    201
    73
    29
    10
See reviews for
49
187
42
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good. Solid. Nothing terribly special on the rooms but nothing to complain about either. Good wifi. Clean. Seems like a pretty good location.
Expensive for valet - though the valet did notice I left my iPhone and must have carried it back with him after parking the car and had them call me to give it me, so I guess they earned the fee.
Breakfast buffet was better than most.
But this place was a GHOST TOWN on Saturday night in what seemed like a pretty packed area of town. Weird. I wasn't even sure the bar or restaurant were open.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel itself was modern and chic. Very comfortable rooms. My issue with this hotel is that the entire lobby, restaurant and first floor are filled with an intense perfume/room spray odour that is intolerable for those with allergies. The smell is overwhelming as soon as you enter. Also, we ordered appetizers at hotel that were very sub par.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. While it was very handy for my particular trip, the rooms are a little odd in character and layout. It was cold in the room (in weather not that unusually cold for Minnesota in the Spring.) The service was decent and the room was clean and functional. Valet parking was expensive. The hotel is connected directly to the skywalk system on the 2nd floor, which is handy. I'm not sure I'd stay there again, but it was not a bad experience by any means, just kind of a wash. The concierge lounge breakfast was a good one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed here a few times, never disappointed. The rooms that I have stayed in are a little on the small side, but have always been very clean and comfortable. I will stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, minnesota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Hotel Minneapolis certainly has many good points. A convenient location near the entertainment areas of downtown Minneapolis and within walking distance of most downtown attractions for people who don't mind walking a bit. One block off of Nicollet Mall and connected by Skyway to most of downtown Minneapolis. The goods - the predictably comfortable, stylish and well kept Marriott upscale environment. The rooms were comfortable - great beds, tv was large flat screen and bathroom was well equipped with upscale toiletries. Common areas well kept. Free on street parking across from hotel on weekends. The not so goods - even though the hotel was full, nothing seemed open and common areas were pretty much deserted. restaurant was dead by 9:30 and the only bar I could find open was the self service wine bar which had no people in it. Also felt nickled and dimed since everything cost extra - $4 20oz bottled waters in room, cost for internet, even in lobby, etc. Also, don't stay here if you like a view - most rooms dont have much of a view. Check in staff was kind of gruff and not real welcoming not service minded.
Not a bad choice for a downtown hotel, but i prefer the Renaissance in the Depot or one of the the other downtown upscale properties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for one night. Oredered in room dining. Mandarin oranges in the salad were extremely spoilt. I am not sure how they chef could be so complacent as to not notice them being spoilt and place them in the salad since they were very obviously spoilt. Corn chowder soup was ice cold. I had diarrhea for 2 days after I returned from my trip although I removed all the oranges after eating one piece. Management was nice enough to take the meal charges off my bill but the damage had already been done. Pillows were super soft and it was difficult to get a good night sleep. Shower head was not functioning properly and it was like a faucet instead of a rain shower. All in all a substandard hotel for a city like Minneapolis

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison S, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We appreciate to hear our guests' point of view regarding their stay so we can share it with our staff and make the necessary corrections. Please accept our apologies for your unsatisfactory meal and discomfort with our pillows and shower. All of those items are key to an enjoyable stay which we obviously were not able to deliver to you. With your feedback we will be sure to continue making improvements to better serve our guests. It is our hope that you will give us another chance should your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#24 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.