We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is located in downtown Minneapolis and is connected to the SkyWay which makes it very convenient in the winter. It is a short walk from the light rail which goes to the airport,
The lobby is very nice and conducive to meeting friends or colleagues, which I did most evenings. I stayed for 2 separate weeks in January and both rooms were comfortable and clean. One room had a nice view and the other wasn't great - facing another wall of rooms - but it didn't really detract from my stay. The wi-fi works well and the gym is small but had everything I needed.

I will definitely stay here again and since our company does business in MSP, I've recommended the hotel to my colleagues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    183
    62
    23
    9
See reviews for
44
164
39
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great rate off hotwire for room downtown - valet service is about $30 per day, but OK given rate at hotel.
Close to Nicolett Mall, great restaurants and LRT for trips to Mall of America.
Great lobby area and biz area, well appointed with Mac products.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed one evening at The Hotel Minneapolis. We had never heard of it before and did not even know it existed. The property is beautiful. The lounge area is large and we were able to have guests there and relax and enjoy each others company. The hotel room is very spacious and the bathroom too. We were not in an accessible room, but the bathroom would have been easily used by someone with a disability.

The front desk person, Nick, was especially kind and helpful. He checked on us if we'd gotten a rollaway. He offered directions and he even offered to explain the bus system. He was so pleasant and fun.

We had appetizers and drinks at Max's. Very nice.

Only complaint was the front desk person on Sunday, March 10. Not sincere, nor overly helpful when we were looking for breakfast options.

This property is a little out of the way of the main downtown. Easily walkable though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, North Dakota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have had better service and amenities at a La Quinta, honestly. The hotel LOOKED nice, but service was very POOR. The lobby was beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfy, but the staff was awful. They were rude and condescending. They made us feel like trailer trash who were unfit for their hotel. We got no sleep because the walls were paper thin and we could literally hear everything our neighbor was doing and saying until 4 in the morning. The wi-fi was not free and there was no continental breakfast. These are important factors for the family on a budget and was not mentioned on the hotel website. There was no shuttle to and from the airport. They only had a very expensive car service on call. It was a very expensive ride to the Mall of America. At least at a La Quinta there is a free shuttle that will pick you up at the airport and take you wherever you want to go. They have free wi-fi and free breakfast, and most importantly the staff is friendly and accomodating. Something is seriously wrong with this hotel when they compare unfavorably with a La Quinta. This was supposed to be a nice hotel. Besides the beautiful decor, our stay here was AWEFUL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Oh my - this place is nuts! The lobby is amazing - marble from the old bank.

Inspired: multiple Wine Stations are worth staying here for!

Pro: location, free internet - first floor, architecture, front desk staff, valets, food was good

Con: nothing

Return: you bet!

Found: via Priceline

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night (wish it could have been more!) for an annual get-together with friends. The hotel is beautiful, staff were helpful and friendly, and the rooms were amazing! The layout is kind of weird with odd angles, but the best part is the bathrooms! Beautifully designed and huge. The bed was comfy and the hallways were quiet. I highly recommend this place, and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved this hotel. Starting with the lobby, it was really nice: The lighting, the decor, the ambiance... The room was very comfy and the floor was quiet. Both were super clean. If you want to spend some time around downtown Minneapolis this is a great location. It's close to the light rail stations and within walking distance from some good restaurants.

The service was superb. The receptionist was very nice and gave me a detailed map when I asked about a restaurant ion downtown.

I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.