We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Super Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We dropped in the last minute due to a plumbing emergency in our house. The check in process and accommodations were amazing! I find that in today's age a lot of people have lost the customer service, but certainly not here.

Due to having a dog with us, we could not leave the room as he would whine (no fault of the hotel). This made us order room service. Room Service was par for the price. I probably would avoid the room service next time simply due to the cost of the food as compared to what we got. On the plus side, room service made a follow-up call to ensure that the food was sufficient. Again, this supports the EXCELLENT customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    191
    67
    24
    11
See reviews for
46
176
40
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We came for a quick weekend trip and were thrilled to book The Hotel Minneapolis through Hotwire. we have stayed here before and it's our favorite downtown hotel.The rooms are lovely. The lobby has a great vibe. It is a restored hotel. The location is convenient and parking is a snap. The price is right...what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Hotel Minneapolis is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at! The hotel is unbelievably beautiful! Huge marble columns, an old vault, and ornate elevators have all been preserved and incorporated into the hotel's decor, celebrating it's previous banking past. The lobby is quite grand with plenty of seating, a huge fireplace, and many computers for complimentary use. There's also a trendy restaurant in the lobby. My room was so comfortable! The bed was one of the most comfiest beds I've ever slept in, the bathroom was large, and the decor was inviting! I loved that the hotel was central to all the things I wanted to see while in Minneapolis for my Christmas Eve 8 hour layover. Best of all, the light rail station is just around the corner so you can easily jump on, make your way to throughout the city, to the airport, or Mall of America. Next time I'm in Minneapolis, I'm definitely staying at Hotel Minneapolis!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a Sunday night for a wedding at Nicollet Island Inn a few days before Christmas. Great location and the vaults in the hotel add a unique characteristic. The hotel has a modern feel with contemporary design, yet we received a very affordable room at $70/night. People complain about expensive valet, but we parked in a ramp 2blocks away for only $13. And charging for wifi is pretty standard in
upscale urban hotels. Overall, great location and price for downtown Minneapolis!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at this "Marriott" hotel because we were going to the Christmas Holidazzle Parade(4 blocks away), going to Macy's 8th floor free elf exhibit(4 blocks away) and a play(6 blocks away). As you notice, everything is close and within safe walking distance. This hotel has a nice restuarant/bar and nice breakfast buffet. All staff were very helpful and courteous. For travelers looking for a nice city to visit any time of year, Minneapolis has alot of amenities. Stays on weekends are very reasonable. There is decent shopping downtown and very good theatre. There are 4 theaters within about 6 blocks of most hotels. They are the Orpheum, Pentage, State and New Century. They offer a wide range of shows/entertainment and wide range of prices. If you want to go to the Mall Of America, the lite rail is very accessible and cheap. You can also take it to the airport. During the warm months there are some fun things by the river(Mississippi. But....my best suggestion is to do a 2-night between Thursday and Sunday between Thanksgiving and Christmas and enjoy the great parade, see a show or two and do some fun shopping.

Room Tip: This hotel was originally a bank so don't know as any room is special. We were on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

As a Marriott card holder I have stayed at many locations across the country. I generally enjoy the chain and have had many excellent experiences. When traveling to Minneapolis on business I would typically stay at City Center. On my recent trip I decided to try the Minneapolis hotel. My room (702) was a little shabby, walls need paint, something had run down the wall in the bathroom. Not the best impression. Although the self serve wine area just outside of Max is pretty cool its also a little pricey. Overall a good stay that could have been better.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUTOMinneapolisGM, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Chaz B,

I want to thank you for being a loyal Marriott customer and for choosing to stay with The Hotel Minneapolis on your last trip to the downtown area.

I want to apologize that your room did not meet your expectations and please be assured that I have walked the room with our Rooms Manager and Chief Engineer to address the concerns that you noted.

We continually change out the selections in the wine machines in the Library area and i have asked our Food and Beverage Director to see if he can work with our local vendors to try to achieve a more balanced selection of wine prices by the glass.

I would hope that on your next trip to the downtown Minneapolis area your will choose The Hotel Minneapolis for your overnight accommodations and experience our ongoing mission of enhancing our guests experience.

Sincerely,
Don Cook
General Manager
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.