We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quiet, Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

PROS: Our two queen room was HUGE and quiet. We were in room 211. Beds were super comfy. Bathroom was very large with a big shower. Downtown location was great - only a block away from Government Plaza Hiawatha Light Rail Stop, which I highly recommend using! Amenities: Great TV & channels, REAL Kleenex tissue, organic and animal-safe toiletries, FULL SIZE blow dryer. Great Happy Hour drink specials at Restaurant Max in the hotel!

CONS: $30 for parking, c'mon! Park a block away on the 400 block of Marquette at the Downtown Auto Park for HALF that or less, depending on the day. The water pressure in the shower is pretty wimpy. Still a bit pricey, I think, but I'd stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    168
    59
    20
    8
See reviews for
43
150
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am a Platinum status Marriott guest and spend at least a third of my year in hotels. I have a solid criteria for judging hotels and think/hope that I'm fair. Your experience may be different, but for me this hotel was a disappointment. Reason one: I wound up with a room the size of a postage stamp and would have expected something a little better having given Marriott so much loyalty. Reason teo: The bed was not a Marriott bed, but rather a shaky rough experience with subpar quality linens. Reason three: The shower design was very poor without a handle on the inside making closing the door and preventing a flood difficult. The shower head was poorly designed with minimal water flow. More reasons: The hotel is a very old refurbished building so the windows are tiny old Midwest style that look out onto pretty much nothing. There is no intimacy, no charm. The place looks and feels like a rehab'd bank - which is what it is. My room had 4 hangers one of which was occupied by a robe. I love in New York so I'm not afraid of high parking prices, but $30 in Minneapolis? Really? I thought I'd try this hotel of some charm and style and mostly to be away from the hordes of screaming partners and the rif-raf that descends on downtown Minneapolis late at night closer to Hennepin Avenue core, but the one pro did not outweigh all the cons. I certainly won't be recommending Hotel Minneapolis to anyone nor staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUTOMinneapolisGM, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear amostovoy,

Hello,
Thank you for your recent posting and more importantly, thanks for being a Platinum Member in the Marriott Rewards program. It is because of feedback from great guests such as yourself that we can continually make improvements moving forward.

We truly are a unique Autograph Collection Hotel that was created from a historic bank building built back in 1906. This does lead to varied size and shaped rooms due to maintaining the Historic element of the building. I am sorry to hear that the room we reserved for you did not meet your usual standards.

I am glad to hear that our location had a benefit of being close to what is happening in downtown Minneapolis but not being caught up in all the late night noise.

I have reviewed your comments with our Engineering and Housekeeping manager so that they can be aware of the challenges that you addressed and make sure that we eliminate them.

I am sorry to hear that if and when your travel plans bring you back to the Downtown Minneapolis area we would not be your hotel of choice but I ask that perhaps you might reconsider so that perhaps we can have you experience some of the other rooms we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Don Cook
General Manager
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is very nice. Great room, huge bathroom..........and very good air conditioning ( it was extremely hot in the city and our very cool room was a welcome reprieve). Really comfortable bed and pillows, lovely bedding.
Max, the restaurant, was just ok. Service is quite slow and quality not all that good especially for the prices. Go elsewhere for meals........there's plenty of restaurants on Nicolette St which is close by.
There is no concierge, which was disappointing as we were there for the sites. The young woman at the front desk, although quite nice, knew absolutely nothing about the city or what it had to offer. We were looking for the typical brochures for tourists, which we couldn't find because they are kept behind the front desk....weird.
Bell service was excellent.
The light rail station at Nicolette Mall is a very short walk, which was wonderful for the trip back to the airport. $1.75 per person for a 25 minute ride straight to Terminal 1 on a clean, cool and comfortable train, as opposed to $45.00 for a cab! No brainer.
I'd recommend this hotel.........just plan to eat elsewhere and do your reasearch in advance if you're a tourist.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The design of the hotel is hip with comfortable beds but for the most part the staff is snooty and lacks attention to service and detail. The room had smudges on the walls all around which for a hotel of this level is unacceptable. Also a bulb was burned out in the bedside lamp. Again for this level of hotel, this should not be the case. Also my car was left overnight in the valet area right off the street because they said my car had a dead battery. Well it has a security system that requires the key to be turned half way then a double chirp sounds allowing the car to be started at that point. Instead of calling my room, they left it there and valet left for the night. I work producing travel shows for television and as a result I have very expensive equipment with me in the car and was not thrilled to see it out by the street where anyone could come and just break in if they chose. That to me is also unacceptable. Since this is a Marriott property, you would think they would do a better job but not so. Seems like management here is lacking for sure. The only reason I give this an average rating is because of the design of the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUTOMinneapolisGM, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear TheOfficialBest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the overall Hip design of the hotel and comfort of the beds during your stay.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at The Hotel Minneapolis. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Be assured that from the follow up from our conversation and your notes in your review I have used your feedback as valuable training for our Valet and Engineering departments so that our guests do not encounter these challenges moving forward.

Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to continually improve upon our customer service.

Sincerely,
Don Cook
General Manager
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Gorgeous renovation of a historic downtown Minneapolis building. Modern lobby with old bank vaults, marble floors, classic elevators preserved & nicely presented. B&W photos of old building & Minneapolis everywhere are delightful.
iMac's abound in business center. Wireless Internet was consistent & speedy (even for streaming video).
Every staff person encountered was friendly & helpful. Great location.
Our double-queen room was large, with large bathroom & high ceilings. Comfortable beds, pillows & linens. Fridge & room safe were much appreciated extras. Clean, new exercise room. Outstanding concierge lounge.
Eager to stay here again.

Room Tip: Marriott Rewards program definitely worthwhile to gain amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I like this place! The lobby is beautiful and the staff was nice and helpful. Very convenient location. The room was very modern and clean. I didn't really use any of the amenities, so I can't comment on that. I docked a star because (1) parking wasn't included, (2) while the bathroom was very nice, the shower was poorly designed so you get blasted with cold water whenever you turn it on, and (3) there was no fridge in the room. Other than those little things, it was great. I would recommend it and would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were well satisfied with this hotel. We obtained a competitive rate via Hotwire and were assigned a comfortable, clean room. We had minimal contact with the staff but our interactions were pleasant. Thanks to previous reviewers we parked at a Downtown Auto Park facility a block away for only $4/day vs. the valet charge of $30. We left early each morning so it was not a problem for us, but even the full day fee was considerably less than $30. The hotel is in a great location in the downtown area. We would stay again if the rates were competitive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.