We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Attention to detail lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The design of the hotel is hip with comfortable beds but for the most part the staff is snooty and lacks attention to service and detail. The room had smudges on the walls all around which for a hotel of this level is unacceptable. Also a bulb was burned out in the bedside lamp. Again for this level of hotel, this should not be the case. Also my car was left overnight in the valet area right off the street because they said my car had a dead battery. Well it has a security system that requires the key to be turned half way then a double chirp sounds allowing the car to be started at that point. Instead of calling my room, they left it there and valet left for the night. I work producing travel shows for television and as a result I have very expensive equipment with me in the car and was not thrilled to see it out by the street where anyone could come and just break in if they chose. That to me is also unacceptable. Since this is a Marriott property, you would think they would do a better job but not so. Seems like management here is lacking for sure. The only reason I give this an average rating is because of the design of the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUTOMinneapolisGM, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear TheOfficialBest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the overall Hip design of the hotel and comfort of the beds during your stay.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at The Hotel Minneapolis. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Be assured that from the follow up from our conversation and your notes in your review I have used your feedback as valuable training for our Valet and Engineering departments so that our guests do not encounter these challenges moving forward.

Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to continually improve upon our customer service.

Sincerely,
Don Cook
General Manager
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    191
    67
    24
    11
See reviews for
46
176
40
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Gorgeous renovation of a historic downtown Minneapolis building. Modern lobby with old bank vaults, marble floors, classic elevators preserved & nicely presented. B&W photos of old building & Minneapolis everywhere are delightful.
iMac's abound in business center. Wireless Internet was consistent & speedy (even for streaming video).
Every staff person encountered was friendly & helpful. Great location.
Our double-queen room was large, with large bathroom & high ceilings. Comfortable beds, pillows & linens. Fridge & room safe were much appreciated extras. Clean, new exercise room. Outstanding concierge lounge.
Eager to stay here again.

Room Tip: Marriott Rewards program definitely worthwhile to gain amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I like this place! The lobby is beautiful and the staff was nice and helpful. Very convenient location. The room was very modern and clean. I didn't really use any of the amenities, so I can't comment on that. I docked a star because (1) parking wasn't included, (2) while the bathroom was very nice, the shower was poorly designed so you get blasted with cold water whenever you turn it on, and (3) there was no fridge in the room. Other than those little things, it was great. I would recommend it and would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were well satisfied with this hotel. We obtained a competitive rate via Hotwire and were assigned a comfortable, clean room. We had minimal contact with the staff but our interactions were pleasant. Thanks to previous reviewers we parked at a Downtown Auto Park facility a block away for only $4/day vs. the valet charge of $30. We left early each morning so it was not a problem for us, but even the full day fee was considerably less than $30. The hotel is in a great location in the downtown area. We would stay again if the rates were competitive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was my second stay at Hotel Minneapolis. This time for personal travel, while last time was for business. The hotel suited both needs well. The lobby is well appointed and comfortable. There are also several Macs available for guest use. The vault and other artifacts from the hotels former life as a bank are incorporated into the decor.
The room was very nice - our 5th floor room was clean and had a spacious shower and bath. Everything was in working order and comfortable. The hotel has access to the skyways so transit anytime of year is comfortable. The staff was very helpful and responded to my request for restaurant ideas very quickly. It is easily reached by the light rail from the airport. Once downtown, a car isn't necessary so don't bother with a rental and you will save cash on parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked this with a Hotwire Hot Rate and thought I was getting a fantastic deal. I wanted something within walking distance of Target Center and some of the clubs since we were planning to drink that night. I did a little research before I went and found a parking ramp about two blocks away that was MUCH cheaper, we parked after we unpacked. When we got back to our room we found a used condom under the edge of the bed. Went to the front desk and they moved us. The new room had spots on the wall and a picture that I HOPE was food. There were also some hairs on the bathroom floor. At this time it was quite late/early depending on your point of view and we gave up on moving all of our stuff again. I will say that the bed and shower was fantastic, just make sure you do a walk-through before you unpack.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

What a rip off this place is!! Like the other person who posted recently, we also got sucked in by the low $72 Hotwire.com price. That price is totally deceiving though and they nickel and dime you to death if you actually want anything more than a basic bed! We were much happier at the 2 different Days Inn locations we had stayed in the 2 nights before. The issues here were many. Like the other person said, they DON'T have parking here or a deal with any of the parking lots or towers nearby for guests so you're out on your own unless you want to pay a ridiculous $30 valet fee! We ended up parking 3 blocks away for 8 bucks unless we had wanted to leave before 8 AM! Was lots of fun carrying our bags all the way in the evening and again in the morning haha! Next they charge $10.95 to use Wireless internet in your room which was very inconvenient for us because we didn't want to come down and use the public computers in the lobby which are the only option. We wanted to relax in our pj's after a long day of sightseeing and check a few things for the next day. Next, they don't offer ANY breakfast at all with the room, not even a slice of toast and a cup of coffee in the morning! Also, we checked the menu to order food and sorry but a burger and fries for 15 bucks plus a mandatory $3 service fee and a mandatory 20% gratuity fee just seems ridiculous. More examples of how bad this place is, local phone calls are a minimum of $1.50, bottled water in the room is 4 bucks and they don't even offer a little fridge in the room for travelers to put food or drink to keep them cold. On the plus side, the room was clean, the bathroom large and clean and the bed was comfy but we had all those things at the Days Inn as well, along with a little fridge, free parking we could come and go from, free wireless internet in our room, free continental breakfast and coffee and better service even since they asked us how our stay was and the Marriott didn't even bother to ask!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.