We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beds, clean modern rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent beds, clean modern rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Very pleased with staff and accommodations. One of the best beds I have every slept on. Many time better than the one I have on my house! Clean, modern rooms. Rooms had nice views of downtown. Good location to area attractions. Cheap parking one block away at public ramp. $4 a day! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    222
    83
    34
    12
See reviews for
57
207
49
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Hard to believe this hotel is a Marriott. Really attractive, inviting, unique place to stay while in downtown Minneapolis. Was an old elaborate bank, there are several converted vault rooms for dining, wine with original vaults still intact. Spent 5 nights, enjoyed the comfortable beds, total quiet and peaceful sleep. Exercise facility, newspaper, concierge floor breakfasts, all excellent. The restaurant offers delicious gourmet food and great vintages for dinner, however, the wait time is very, very long. The location, although downtown, is not exactly in the center of all the activity. Fine for me, since I enjoyed the quietude. Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel, and would definitely recommend to friends and will return next time I am in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Minneapolis is cool. Literally. (Hey it's not where I would have chosen to be in February...!)

The Hotel Minneapolis is a very comfortable and quiet hotel in a renovated bank. The location was convenient to downtown and the hotel has a nice bar and restaurant. The bathroom is spacious and the room was immaculate overall. Great job, Marriott!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A nice surprise for a weekend of "wining and dining" in downtown Minneapolis. We felt very pampered for an awesome price through Priceline, even with the $30 per day add-on for the valet. Everything, from the most comfortable bed ever, to the wine-tasting in the lobby, to the friendly and helpful valets, to the convenient location, was perfect. Even though the room service breakfast was pricey, only due to the 20% gratutity and $3 delivery charge, we enjoyed the food and the convenience. The only drawback was the restaurant - Max, which was totally closed for a private party on the Saturday. Strange...we may have eaten there if it was available. My husband and I definitely look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Booked a room with Priceline & scored a good deal. Friday was my first time here & I really liked it. Great new Concierge Lounge. Friendly staff. Great location & new modern decor. I loved the bathroom in our room & the products too! Another bonus was the ramp for $4 a night/day that is super close. We got downtown right around 5pm, parked, & didn't get our car until almost noon the next day & it was $8. Super cheap for downtown overnight parking! Our room was a bit small (king suite) but it was just what we needed. It's just not big enough to have guests really. Also, we liked the ambiance at Restaurant Max- we didn't eat there but enjoyed a couple drinks late night. I'd stay here again for sure. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a guys night on a Saturday night. I was very excited to stay here as I got a great deal on Hotwire ($70). The hotel lived up to it's billing that it is a beautiful hotel. The location is great for a guys weekend. We didn't bother using the valet at $30 for the night but instead parked in a garage right across the street for only $8 for the night. The bathroom was huge. The beds were beyond comfortable and the TV was nice. However, no ability to check out on the TV was a bit odd and an inconvenience.

The part that really irked me was the fact that when I called to make sure that we had 2 beds they told me that all of their reservations that are done on 3rd party websites are booked with a King bed! Not a big deal if you are going with your significant other but when it's a guys night it really doesn't work. So when I called and talked to the front desk they told me that it would be an additional $50 to upgrade to two beds. FIFTY BUCKS! That is absurd! They finally gave it to me for $30... which was still ridiculous. Apparently they only have 18 rooms in the entire building that have 2 beds. It turned a great deal into a normal night and I was thoroughly disappointed in this. I got the impression that they look down upon people that have booked on a 3rd party website.

Room Tip: Rooms booked on a 3rd party site are booked with King beds. There are only 18 rooms in the entire bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I thought that the room was nice although it was small. Our bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom was very nice. The hotel is beautifully decorated. I would give this a 4 star rating if not for the restaurant.
We bought the breakfast package and that was a major mistake. That goes down in history as the worst service ever in a restaurant and the food was not any better than a Super 8. The food had been sitting there for a long time. They could have had someone making omelets to order or even a waffle machine? When the server took our drink orders, she never came back and gave them to us. The waiter never appeared so we just helped ourselves to the buffet after sitting there awhile. After returning to our table we realized we would like something to drink so I went up to our server-- the one who took our order-- and asked for water for our table. She literally brought out one cup with two straws. I said, pointing to my husband, "Can he have some too?" She never realized that she didn't bring us our original drink orders. Again they never came to our table with the bill so we just left our breakfast voucher on the table and left. This was our Valentine weekend celebration and it could have been a little more special with a good breakfast. My recommendation is to stay in the hotel but to go elsewhere for breakfast.
Also-- it is $30 to have your car parked there. My husband decided to park across the street for about $5 and had a very difficult time getting back into that garage to retrieve his car on a freezing cold day. Maybe a few tips from the valet guy? I don't know.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#16 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#9 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Ivy
Hotel Ivy
#20 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.